My Dreadful Experience with Bally Photo

I believe kevjfc ! I have a bad experience at Bally and tested them many times. Without fail, they have proven themselves to be dishonest!

probably a bunch of reasons.

it's easier to type text than post a picture.

visual account of their embarassment is harder (for the victim) to stomach than a narrative account.

they assume people won't be skeptical and demand proof.

etc.

at any rate, two things can be said. one, it is not impossible to make Bally disgorge whatever amount they scammed you. i did it. you just need to whack them back, very hard. two, threads like this aren't pointless. Bally is "featured" on this site so often, slowly but surely people (including newbies) are going to learn of their esteemed reputation.

I noticed that a lot of bashers are newly registered with less than 20 posts. It just amazed me that alot of them do not know of the existence of Clubsnap until they are scammed by Bally. And once scammed, they all know there is a Clubsnap where they can vent their fustration. Maybe the guys at Bally told them to post in Clubsnap if they are not happy.

Words are cheap. If we are all going to judge and be judged based on words alone, then a lot of people would have been hung. Anyway, as mentioned I am not standing up for Bally. I just find this whole situation of people starting threads to bash shops up using merely words to be unhealthy.

I have no intention to start a debate and will not respond any further on this.

Everyone has the right to share the truth so that others can learn. Even if sometimes we learn our lessons a little late... its better to be late than never. The main thing is that we need to be sincere and honest and are speaking the truth.

Thank you for your post. The number of victims posted on the forums could be more than what were already posted here.

I believe there are several avenues to check the prices before posting.

1. Refer to prices on www.ddelelectronics.com.sg and www.tincheungcamera.com.hk
2. Refer to Nikon and Canon (Equipment for Sale). Members post both prices of new and used equipments.
3. Check with your friends who have bought the equipments. They would be able to give you an estimated price to the best of their knowledge.
4. Cherry-picking

Last but not least, do not write-off used lens. Most photographers upgrade their lens from time to time. You may be able to get a good copy at a discounted price. Refer to forum.

In case you did not notice, we have an entire section in this forum dedicated to PRICE GUIDES. :dunno:

I am just curious why someone who is so helpful to the extend of wanting to warn/inform others of their plight would refuse to post up a simple receipt to substantiate their claims. It has always taken the same pattern and approach - "I don't have anything against them, just want to share....", "I admitted my stipidity....and only myself to blame", "you don't have to believe...I am just sharing". I am not standing on the side of Bally. I just found it suspicious that none of those who are so willing to share their experiences are willing to take it one step further - substantiate their claim by posting a picture of their receipt with the store's name, item description and amount charged. There are no names or confidential information on the receipt. It would have been a simple thing to do to be credible.

A receipt from Bally has already been posted in another thread started from yet another victim of Bally Photo. The receipt is at this link:

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showpost.php?p=6607692&postcount=165

I think the 'friend' who recommended you doesn't really like you very much.

I also heard through the grapevine that SLR Rev is related to Bally Photo... can anyone verify? I heard that Bally set up SLR Rev which maintains good reputation to compete for real with the likes of MS Color and Cathay... while the shop operating under the name of 'Bally Photo' is actually a chop shop to fleece unsuspecting tourists (and people with bad friends) on the lower floor with higher rent.

Hey guys,

To all who has made comments about my friend who introduced the shop to me, to be fair, he checked out some of the pricing of the lens that he wanted and he got the lens at a decent price for Bally Photos. So his experience was a relatively decent one unlike me. So there was nothing wrong in him recommending the shop to me. And guys, let's be fair, I would consider him a good friend so i would appreciate for all of u who has been passing unfair comments about him to stop it. You guys dun even know him.

And for the benefit of those who are skeptical, this is my receipt.

Picture3-13.png

Pls note, all items on the left are what i was originally sold:

1. 60D for $1440
2. Tamron 28-75 for $1500
3. Hoya HD 67mm Filter for $110 ( I think I overpaid for this too)

Total $3050. The rest of the items were free gifts.

On the right, it shows what i exchanged for the next day.

I had to top up $300 for the 17-55mm and also $40 to change the filter to 77mm. and paid $10 for the 3% Visa charge. I think i overpaid for the filter as well.

Anyway, this is my experience and my intention is to share it, for some of you, maybe it will be useless cos u've already lost money like me, for some lucky ones, maybe u'll take note and avoid losing money.

At the end of the day, i already said, it's my fault and i "paid" to attend this lesson, just hope others dun follow my path. Cheers guys.. and for those skeptics out there who think how come so many people with less than 20 posts come to clubsnap to post their negative experiences, well, of cos la, if i've got so many post like YOU, u think i will still go Bally and buy stuff meh? :P

I noticed that a lot of bashers are newly registered with less than 20 posts. It just amazed me that alot of them do not know of the existence of Clubsnap until they are scammed by Bally. And once scammed, they all know there is a Clubsnap where they can vent their fustration. Maybe the guys at Bally told them to post in Clubsnap if they are not happy.

Words are cheap. If we are all going to judge and be judged based on words alone, then a lot of people would have been hung. Anyway, as mentioned I am not standing up for Bally. I just find this whole situation of people starting threads to bash shops up using merely words to be unhealthy.

I have no intention to start a debate and will not respond any further on this.

I posted my receipt already. Is this extra step satisfactory to you sir? :)

And btw, i knew of the existence of clubsnap before i bought my camera. Just that I dun exactly visit this forum that often. From now on i will though. :)

Anyway, whatever people want to post, they can, at the end of the day, we are responsible for what we write. but it better be the truth and something they can substantiate la.

Cheers bro, we're all here to learn and share. That's the purpose of the forum, no? :)

Just another thing to note for all those who read... do get an itemized + individual amount stated with each item on your receipt. When it is not itemized and each item priced, the shop can say that it is a "package deal". So, insist that they put the price of each item next to it on the receipt. If they are unwilling... get out and move to a more reputable shop.

Good point.

I don't think you should buy from them in the first place... let alone try to isolate the price of each item? Just head out and buy from a reputable shop. You will save yourselves money and pain by buying from the likes of Cathay or MS Color. Bally Photo is not cheaper. They are a chop shop. It is foolish to think that you can outsmart a snake.

Just take a look the Clubsnap price list. How often do you see Bally Photo listed there?

This is a willing buyer, willing seller market. I think as long as you did your research on market prices before buying from ANY shops should be ok.

Sometimes such "ah beng" shops can give really good price..I have gotten good prices from Song Bros and even Worldwide cameras...

It's not that people never learn. If you have been following these threads for a while. You will see a pattern. Now I am suspecting if all these people are telling the truth. Why don't they scan a receipt or post up a police report as evidence. It just seems so coincidental that there is someone that will misled all these new posters to that shop.

no need to show receipt proof or whatever.....

i also got personal encounter with this shop.

on Tues, 2nd Nov, decided to go fudan to check tripods. i know certains models that i wanted to shortlist... went to all the other shops and ask for prices, all that. and lastly backside itchy, decided to try Bally. i already know that its a con shop and heck, i got time to burn anyway

they got a model that i wanted and i just asked for price. that model costs $170 from AP (even before bargaining). and that Bally salesman dares to open mouth, quote me $300.

Inside my heart, i feel like punching his face. He thinks i wear long sleeve office wear attire, can carrot head ar? There were a few ang moh tourists looking ard and i almost wanted to tell them to walk off.

there was a young couple buying cam stuff and tripod. i saw they were paying for the items. i felt so sorry for this young couple, i dun know how much they kena conned....

lesson to learn, always do yr own homework before buying anything.

even for a simple item, take your time to ask ard first....

no need to show receipt proof or whatever.....

i also got personal encounter with this shop.

on Tues, 2nd Nov, decided to go fudan to check tripods. i know certains models that i wanted to shortlist... went to all the other shops and ask for prices, all that. and lastly backside itchy, decided to try Bally. i already know that its a con shop and heck, i got time to burn anyway

they got a model that i wanted and i just asked for price. that model costs $170 from AP (even before bargaining). and that Bally salesman dares to open mouth, quote me $300.

Inside my heart, i feel like punching his face. He thinks i wear long sleeve office wear attire, can carrot head ar? There were a few ang moh tourists looking ard and i almost wanted to tell them to walk off.

there was a young couple buying cam stuff and tripod. i saw they were paying for the items. i felt so sorry for this young couple, i dun know how much they kena conned....

Everytime when i walk into harvey norman or courts, there are bound to be some couple (middle aged usually) who know nuts about DSLR but only hear from their friends, will approach the salesman for assistance. First of all, the salesmen only knows how to quote the brochure. I bet if i asked him about mirror lock up they sure give me :think: face. Most dont even know what is crop factor. I really don't know how they become camera salesmen then. Maybe they are there to con those who know nth, only know how to see megapixels and focal length.

Like you, i always have the urge to tell them to approach reputable shops to get street prices. Not to say that HN or Courts cheat people, but the fact they sell at RRP is considered cheating a bit?

But thinking again, they have only themselves to blame if they decide to part with 1-2k after walking around a few shops, not bothering to make more effort before their purchase. :sweatsm::sweatsm:

Hi Guys,

Not defending Bally or anything. I was also looking for a DSLR (500D at that time), I also knew about the prices through this website and through the canon Singapore site.

Point is, I was actually pleasantly surprised that bally at first glance offered me the camera at a price which turned out to be the lowest from all my enquiries ($1,245 or something) just 1 month after it was released about June 09.

Comparatively, the same 500D + kit 17-55 lens was quoted to me @ above $1,3k elsewhere at Funan. If I dun rem wrongly, John 13:11 (cant rem the exact shop but its the one at lvl 5) was the most expensive at close to $1.35k.

Well, bought it from Bally... No issues. Not even when I went back for them to stamp my warranty card which was empty the first time. Online warranty registration was also done with no problem whatsoever.

But I must say that I read through this forum and did know about bally's bad rep. But somehow it worked out for me... i guess the lesson is... make sure u do some research on the price before gg down to the shops.....

Will be heading to HK this weekend to buy a Tamron 17-50 non VC.... Apparently significantly cheaper there (S$470) than here ($>585). Wish me luck!~

Courts and HN will mostly set the DSLR price at RRP.

I would think of it is better for those who do not do homework on DSLR pricing to buy from them. At least they are unlikely to dish out whatever sort of tricks on the product i.e. high price for accessories for bundle, package, purchase-with-purchase .. etc.

Courts and HN will mostly set the DSLR price at RRP.

I would think of it is better for those who do not do homework on DSLR pricing to buy from them. At least they are unlikely to dish out whatever sort of tricks on the product i.e. high price for accessories for bundle, package, purchase-with-purchase .. etc.

at least courts or hn won't chop u like a chopper on the board..

Like you, i always have the urge to tell them to approach reputable shops to get street prices. Not to say that HN or Courts cheat people, but the fact they sell at RRP is considered cheating a bit?

Not really lah, cold storage stuffs are more expensive than in NTUC, would you say cold storage is cheating you?