My D70 Died Last Nite and Nikon's QC

"Took them 4 weeks when they said 7-10 days. Said they will call when the camera's ready but of course they never did"

That's normal. I get that every time I send something there. Hope this company can feel our pulse and do something too.

That's the opposite of what I've experienced. Sent my D70 in a few weeks back for the same problem, but got it back in just 2 days. And from the 2 times I've sent my camera in, both times Nikon had called me up for collection :thumbsup:

Gymrat76 said:
That's the opposite of what I've experienced. Sent my D70 in a few weeks back for the same problem, but got it back in just 2 days. And from the 2 times I've sent my camera in, both times Nikon had called me up for collection :thumbsup:
Sounds like you know them personally and get preferential treatment. I have to ring them 5 times. Each time being told it should be ready later in the week or the following week. I get the feeling the person answering the phone has no idea when it will be ready and just tells everyone the same thing. I suspect they are swamped with broken D70s with the same FCB problem.

Gymrat76 said:
A point for correction: Nikon Sg rep has contacted me and asked me to amend my previous post above to say that (free) repairs for out-of-warranty sets will be on a case to case basis. Rest assured that Nikon DOES monitor ClubSnap ;)

oohh they do?? :bigeyes:

To Nikon's rep: Can u guys ask ur collegue in Nikon Msia's Service Center to brush up their service? I had to call a few times for my D70. Like usual, they never did call me back when the unit is ready ;(

linse said:
Sounds like you know them personally and get preferential treatment. I have to ring them 5 times. Each time being told it should be ready later in the week or the following week. I get the feeling the person answering the phone has no idea when it will be ready and just tells everyone the same thing. I suspect they are swamped with broken D70s with the same FCB problem.

. . .

Preferential... I wish too... GYR, hehe, welcome to the ship. :)

Well, for me, I got my D70 last year in august and since then, I have walloped more than 5 rounds of 9999 shots with it. The camera is still surviving well now despite the harsh treatment it went through during the usage period.

Agree that DSLRS users generally do not have the mentality that the camera will be handed over to their grandchildren next time. If so, probably as an antique or collector item. It is like the handphone market, which we change and upgrade every 2 to 3 years, well, that is how "frequent" I change my handphone.

Every camera manufacturers are bound to have bad batches, which is part and parcel of the production process. This is especially so for products that have high tech features. Luxury cars also have this prob. My Dad's Merced... got recalled some time ago to do some "remedy".

Nonetheless, in a nutshell, I am sure most of you enjoy the usage of the D70 given all its high tech features and conveniency, and for me, I have no qualms even if it "died" now because it has served me well and has saved me savings which is worth more than twice the value of its body.

Don't forget, the lenses can be used when you upgrade the body to a newer model. Those are expensive lenses, especially that 18-70mm lense.

Just a quick hint: for a serious amateur, we do not just survive on one DSLR body. It is good to have a Coolpix on standby in the pocket, just in case you run out of batteries for the DSLR or if anything happens to it when you travel. Good to have a backup. Anyway, even if you do not use the Coolpix, you can let your papa, mama, boyfriend or girlfriend use it and share the joy and moments of photography together.

For some of us, we usually bring 2 DSLR bodies for oversea tours. Not "kiasu", but probably it is called "kiasi". But it is still better than "si". Can someone help translate for the non-hokkien speaking people?

Steven Yee said:
For some of us, we usually bring 2 DSLR bodies for oversea tours. Not "kiasu", but probably it is called "kiasi". But it is still better than "si". Can someone help translate for the non-hokkien speaking people?

kiasu ... Fear loose or cannot fails/loose !

kiasi .....Fear dies .... :sweat:

Steven Yee said:
Nonetheless, in a nutshell, I am sure most of you enjoy the usage of the D70 given all its high tech features and conveniency, and for me, I have no qualms even if it "died" now because it has served me well and has saved me savings which is worth more than twice the value of its body.
Well said. For once I'd like to see people who posts about how good the camera is and not how lousy it is, people like to pick on nits, they worry so much that they hardly enjoy the camera & taking images. :rolleyes:

that is the reason I choose to buy the D70 instead of the 350D. D70 is out for a while and most QC issues should have been found and rectified by now :)

dunno about the 350D... for new products (1st batch) the chance of problems is very high...

same for the D50... first batch mostly has much higher chance of QC problem

Hey people... i think i should repost something from another thread back here...

Just something to think about before u go about bashing nikon's QC etc etc.

"Spend 1 hr prior to your trip, go TCW, look around, get a cheapo FG or at most FM2, grab a pack of provias, sensias, etc... WALAA!!! picture taking the old fashioned way.
Even at out back places, eg: In Hanoi, i managed to find a lil shop selling velvias when my D1 died (kena langa by cow on the road) ... managed to get my assignment done with an F and 50mm, and FM. (Happened a long time ago.) I'm sure u'll find availibity of film/batteries.

I believe as a photog, one should NEVER be caught in situations like this... always have something planned just in case. (2nd body, battery, now... more compact flash? etc etc) it's cheaper to invest in an FE plus a few roles of film, then let the whole trip of yours go undocumented because of a dead digi cam.

For those using their digi P&S cameras as a backup, that one tak pakeh hor...

Gymrat76 said:
A point for correction: Nikon Sg rep has contacted me and asked me to amend my previous post above to say that (free) repairs for out-of-warranty sets will be on a case to case basis. Rest assured that Nikon DOES monitor ClubSnap ;)

Hello - Any idea on what criteria a free svc is provided for out of warrantly sets. One would think that if the problem is the same and it is known issue, Nikon would repair it for all cases.

tulsidas said:
Hello - Any idea on what criteria a free svc is provided for out of warrantly sets. One would think that if the problem is the same and it is known issue, Nikon would repair it for all cases.

Um, think you should contact NIkon Sg directly for your specific problem. Don't want to reply for fear of being shot by Nikon :sweatsm: :angel:

But seriously, whatever you may hear from the forums is pure hearsay, the best advice I can give you would be to make a simple call to Nikon Sg and ask them, as at the end of the day, they are the ones who decide on your camera's repair

linse said:

Nope, I don't know any of the counter staff nor any of the technicians doing the repairs, so I definitely don't get preferential treatment based on any personal relationships :sweat: