Morally right to sell freebies?

panzerpunk

NOTE: This thread is not for flaming people in the BnS section. It is purely for discussion purposes and everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion.
-----------------------------------------------------------

I was wondering if it was ethical to sell freebies like the Selphy 510 printer which comes free with every new purchase of a Canon DSLR. A Selphy 510 printer is a compact printer which costs $150 roughly. Shouldn't Canon (by right) stamp a "not for resale" somewhere on the freebies it bundles with their DSLRs?

I do see many threads selling Selphy 510s springing up in the BnS section just recently. Hmmm... Fruit for thought or kiasu Singaporeans?

Ok don't flame me :flame: Everyone has got his or her own principles....

u think they come as FOC?

they are included as a part of the total cost u're paying for the camera! jus nicely labelled as FREE with every purchase.

welcome to the real world of advertising and camera purchasing at i.t fairs. :bsmilie:

i find it pretty much ok. you might see it as a freebie, but i see it as a bundle with the stuff you bought. most of the freebie cost are already hidden/covered up by the product you buy.
to me its just like seperating the bundle and selling things that you don't need to "recoup" some of the $ spent

I don't think there is anything wrong to sell freebies. Even if someone give you something and you decide to sell it, it is ok. Since you a given the item and it is now yours, you should be able to do what you want with it.

Cheesecake said:
u think they come as FOC?

they are included as a part of the total cost u're paying for the camera! jus nicely labelled as FREE with every purchase.

welcome to the real world of advertising and camera purchasing at i.t fairs. :bsmilie:

ditto. chances are if you remove these "freebies" from the total cost you're paying, you're probably paying less for the camera. it's just a very common marketting tactic. not really morally wrong or what... most of the time the person who obtained the "freebie" would have gotten it at some form of cost - like buying something, or subscribing to something over a period of time, etc. it's not really "free" to them... so it's not really a moral issue here. :)

sequitur said:
ditto. chances are if you remove these "freebies" from the total cost you're paying, you're probably paying less for the camera. it's just a very common marketting tactic. not really morally wrong or what... most of the time the person who obtained the "freebie" would have gotten it at some form of cost - like buying something, or subscribing to something over a period of time, etc. it's not really "free" to them... so it's not really a moral issue here. :)
anyway, some freebies are absolute rubbish.

remember that there was a time when they are giving out brollies, air-freshener... total crap stuff that u probably will be spending much more time on figuring out jus wat the heck it is used for then as compared to the spanking new cammie that u've just bought!

anyway, what is a selphy? totally ingenius piece of 'freeware' where upon u need to buy their photo-papers in order to print, not forgetting their ink.

great move by Canon.

Cheesecake said:
anyway, some freebies are absolute rubbish.

remember that there was a time when they are giving out brollies, air-freshener... total crap stuff that u probably will be spending much more time on figuring out jus wat the heck it is used for then as compared to the spanking new cammie that u've just bought!

anyway, what is a selphy? totally ingenius piece of 'freeware' where upon u need to buy their photo-papers in order to print, not forgetting their ink.

great move by Canon.
spray air-freshener on ur camera like perfume on youself. :bsmilie:

ExplorerZ said:
spray air-freshener on ur camera like perfume on youself. :bsmilie:
great idea! can kill fungi in this way, i guess! outstanding value! buy cammie with air-freshener thrown in! totally wicked!:thumbsup:

panzerpunk said:
NOTE: This thread is not for flaming people in the BnS section. It is purely for discussion purposes and everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion.

I was wondering if it was ethical to sell freebies like the Selphy 510 printer which comes free with every new purchase of a Canon DSLR. A Selphy 510 printer is a compact printer which costs $150 roughly. Shouldn't Canon (by right) stamp a "not for resale" somewhere on the freebies it bundles with their DSLRs?

I do see many threads selling Selphy 510s springing up in the BnS section just recently. Hmmm... Fruit for thought or kiasu Singaporeans?

don't see anything wrong selling freebies. it's yours to decide anyway. private sales is not a problem even thought there's stamp "not for resale". if i don't need it, why should i keep it to collect dust? sell lor and get some money and buy other things that i need.

I think it's fine!
If I buy a camera with kit lens and don't want the lens (and never use), I could sell it off (but I guess that's why they sell it body only?). Maybe, if they offer a lens for discount if bought with the kit, I'd still buy it and sell it off :)

same as people auctioning off christmas/birthday gifts that they don't want. is that immoral? :dunno:

panzerpunk said:

are you sure it's free???
if you do not want the freebies can ask anybody here who wants... :sweat:

Very normal what..
People are also selling the free bags, memory cards , tripods, etc,
when they bought new cam.:)

adamadam said:
I think it's fine!
If I buy a camera with kit lens and don't want the lens (and never use), I could sell it off (but I guess that's why they sell it body only?). Maybe, if they offer a lens for discount if bought with the kit, I'd still buy it and sell it off :)
then thats not a freebie, thats a kit bundle :bsmilie:

I fully agree with the rest.... freebies are not free. You're paying (sometimes the full amt) for them. Check around... you'll see the diff.

If you dunno where to look, compare prices btw shops in Sim Lim and places like Courts/Harvey Norman (for IT goods, not necesarily cameras) and what they give.

Its only wrong for retailers to sell freebies that were meant to be bundled with the item. ie The distributer (say for example Canon) gives a "free" printer with every purchase of product X. Authorised Retailer XYZ (who gets the freebie with product X), instead of passing on the freebie meant for the buyer, sells it as a seperate product. This is unethical.

Real world economics. :)

since you have paid for it, why not? :dunno:

Spot on!

You people hor complain something like this I find very funny. So those ppl who received their so called free "Selphy" from the manufacturers should give it away FREE in Clubsnap's Buy & Sell instead?:bsmilie:

sequitur said:

nyxx88 said:
same as people auctioning off christmas/birthday gifts that they don't want. is that immoral? :dunno:

thats bad ..
I only recycle my birthday present :bsmilie:

ianpaice said:
Spot on!

You people hor complain something like this I find very funny. So those ppl who received their so called free "Selphy" from the manufacturers should give it away FREE in Clubsnap's Buy & Sell instead?:bsmilie:
haha..then it shld be rename Clubsnap's Buy, Sell & Freebies. :bsmilie:

panzerpunk said:

It is ok to sell "freebies". Anyway freebies are never mean to be free in a sense; it comes as part of the cost (of items) that you purchase.