Model Release Form

Virgo said:
Agree. Looks like last time is the photogs world but now it's the reversed. :cry:

Let's try to turn this around again. :)

jia you then~~~

hey...still no kind soul provide me a form...i need it by today wor....

die liao....die liao...

poisonlady said:
hey...still no kind soul provide me a form...i need it by today wor....

die liao....die liao...
See what I mean? You're being pampered dear. ;p

K, just in case you missed this link posted in front.

eh, what's your email addy? don't wanna paste all over lah.
modifying a photog's model release form into 'model protection form' for you now. nbz.... i don't usually spoil chiobus like this ok ;p

Virgo said:
See what I mean? You're being pampered dear. ;p

Poisonlady...from the model release form provided above...looks like it does not protect you at all.......yes..does not....you better your eye big big and read it before using it......or may be my 'england" also equally bad?? ;)

Virgo bro....call me if you stike a deal with Poisonlady leh....... :thumbsup:

you can use "www.google.com" to search for "model release form".
lots of samples for reference

hey,

usually the forms protect the photographer more than the model since the rights of the photos always belong to the photographer.

if you want to protect yourself(in case ur picture ends up sold or misused), you can draft your own agreement. if you need help, go to a law firm or something. they can draft an agreement for you. it's a small price to pay for protection. but you must already know on hand what you want in the agreement so they can put it in for you.

the best solution is actually to discuss this issue with your photographer before the shoot and then draft an agreement together, which protects both parties.

unless you think your photograph can be sold for lots of $$$, which is rare unless you're shooting really skanky pictures, or u get cheated by a sneaky photographer(for example: who may actually be shooting for a job but tells you its test shoot) , theres usually no case for worry.

to add on to silverfrond....if the photographers pay u for the shoot, it is only right that they are covered with a model release form, to protect their interests. on your part, by accepting payment for the shoot, u are forgoing the copyright to it already, as u have accepted ya due.....

if u are posing for a free shot however, u could try to get a "model protection form" to protect your rights in such a way that the photog cannot sell your photo or do anything else to it other than for his portfolio...... anyway this "protection form" is not anything i have heard of so far...

on another hand, depending on the nature of the context of the model release, it can be used to protect both rights of the photog and models..... clauses such as ... "in no way altering the image or sales of the images by the photog" protects the rights of the models as well

its all about professionalism ya....if u accept payment,u have accept the reality of the model release...

cheers......

Agree with Witness.... Maybe models should not sign these typical model release forms unless they are paid heaps. If not paid heaps, but still wanna be photographed, then do what Witness suggested... sign a customised agreement together with the photographer. Then can control where and until when it can be published.

Poisoinlady: since everyone is requesting you to do a free shoot, go ahead and organise.If you seriously need a female photog ard to ensure there's no "tkp/ckp biz", gladly count me in...but bear in mind not to forget to draft a model release form!

I have a simple release form which I use to "protect" myself. I think the simpler the better.

I suggest you draft your own release form stating how the photos are to be used and how they ought not to be used.

Example: you may allow the photographer to use the photos for his portfolio whether in printed or web form. You may allow the photog to show the photos on internet sites like CS. You may allow the photog to alter the photos for artistic reasons.

But you may not allow the photog to alter the photos for pornographic purposes eg if your photographic shoot is clothed, the photog may not transplant your face on to a nude body. You may not allow the photog to sell your photographs without consulting you and pay appropriate compensation that is mutually agreed upon. But you may allow the photog to include your photos in a book which he might publish in future.

Etc etc. Basically carefully spell out what the photos are to be used for and not to be used for.

Whether the photoshoots are paid or not is another matter. You may pose free for a friend who might not turn out to be a friend in future. The possibilities are there for you to imagine! Of course if you trust your friends completely, that is another matter.

Witness said:
clauses such as ... "in no way altering the image or sales of the images by the photog" protects the rights of the models as well

cheers......

This is not possible. What you are saying is equal to saying that you can't even adjust the level, brightness....etc, than it is not possible to use the photo as you have said " in no way altering". Remember, a model release is a contract, and in a contract, the wordings is everything.

poisonlady said:
Hi, sorry for late reply...lao niang busy leh..kekeke

anyway, i would love to do some pr ard here but well, i dun wanna spoil market wor....

i started out this line doing free and oo bad that u were not the one who build up my portfolio for me..

but dun worry, i got some models who wan to update their portfolio.....

will post their photos when i am free and those who can offer me the most expensive dinner will get to take their photo with no charges...hahahaha

dinner at fosters cafe? hehe. nice mood there. :)