MO: X's-Drive II

Nutcase

I am planning to purchase the X's-Drive II from an online store based in Australia.

The Deal
They are selling the X's-Drive II @ AUD$210 (w/o HDD). Shiiping and Handling is @ AUD$41 for 1 pc, $55 for 2 pcs and so on. I am trying to see if we can reduce the overall cost of the X's-Drive II by splitting the S/H.

Other Info
I've spent some time researching before coming to this decision so if it helps you: -

1) There are other US store also selling the X's-Drive at around the same price with immediate stock (some have even lower S/H than the Aussie Store :dunno: ) However, this store is offering a free 2nd Li-on battery and Car Charger with orders placed before 15 March, so ths is better value for money.

2) The people who brought in X's-Drive told me that they currently have no plans to bring in X's-Drive II cos the cheaper parallel imports are spoiling the market. They also told me that X's-Drive I retails for S$199 but if I am not mistaken, all 4 retailers are probably out of stock on X's-Drive I

3) It usually takes around 3 days to ship the goods to Singapore from Australia.

I am planning to put in the order sometime before the end of next week (8 Mar), depending on what the response is. In anycase, I'll be getting one for myself. :)

BTW - If you think that the 2nd battery and car charger are redundant and would like to try the US store for lower S/H, I'm also open to this option.

I'm keen for the X-drive II, but I also want the extra battery & car charger, useful for on the road.

-ptl-

I would like to know more about the warranty of this X Drive II.
Thanks.

if this store oso has the digital data player

http://www.printamax.com.sg/html/

not the one that is shown at the homepage of that store, i would be interested in joining u guys :)

Thanks for your response people.

vince123123 - You may want to check out the online shop's catalog by clicking on the link from my first post to find out if they do have the digital player.

khalix - To be honest with you , I am not very sure what kind of warranty they hold. I can ask, but for most internet purchases, it will normally involve sending the product back to the online shop before they send one back to you. Personally, I am betting that like most electronics, they will work perfectly fine until the day the warranty actually runs out! ;)

I guess this is where online shopping does not provide you with as much security as retailers who actually has a shopfront that you can whack if anything goes wrong. And I probably would have chosen to buy from a local store instead if it is even available in Singapore. (Of course, they can sometimes be alot more expensive but that's a judgement call you have to make)

PM me if you got other questions. Cheers!

Originally posted by ptlee
I'm keen for the X-drive II, but I also want the extra battery & car charger, useful for on the road.

-ptl-

I have bought one x-drive2, the extra battery cannot be use unless you remove the screws and open up the x-drive 2.

It does not work like a handphone or camera, where you can change the battery anytime anywhere you want.

Its quite troublesome to change the x-drive battery.

The reason why they are selling the extra battery is for the customer furture uses, in case your battery die 1 yr later and the model is no longer selling in the market.

Originally posted by morganoh

I have bought one x-drive2, the extra battery cannot be use unless you remove the screws and open up the x-drive 2.

It does not work like a handphone or camera, where you can change the battery anytime anywhere you want.

The reason why they are selling the extra battery is for the customer furture uses, in case your battery die 1 yr later and the model is no longer selling in the market.

Hi morganoh:
What is your impression about X Drive 2 ? Did you encounter any problems to use it ? Thanks.

Whilst we are at that topic. I indeed plan to keep the 2nd batt until my first one dies off. But not sure if there is any "Best Practice" out there as to how you can keep the 2nd batt in its pristine condition until such a time you intend to use it?

For example, should we go through the motion of fully charging it first before we "cold storage" it? GIve it a full charge every month or so? Or should it be left in it's original condition and we can expect it to still work after 1 year?

In fact, I have this pre-conception that if we stop using the batt for a long time, it'll just die off???

I think the one for X's-Drive II is Li-on. Any comments?

Actually I am more keen on the car charger.

I had a feeling that it would be troublesome to change the battery, thanks for confirming.

-ptl-

Originally posted by khalix
I would like to know more about the warranty of this X Drive II.
Thanks.

Have confirmed with the online store that there is 12 months warranty on the X's-Drive II. But as previously mentioned, will have to send it back to them.

I'll keep this thread open till the end of this week (Friday 7 Mar). Then I'll coordinate with all interested to meet up sometime early next week for the deposit and other logistical arrangements.

Originally posted by khalix

Hi morganoh:
What is your impression about X Drive 2 ? Did you encounter any problems to use it ? Thanks.

It is quite good. No trouble so far.

I bought this 3weeks ago from www.powerinnumbers.com.au before the Digital Data player was out for sale.

I am thinking of selling it to buy the new digital data player. Cos I wanted to have an mp3 player.

It is quite good. No trouble so far.

I bought this 3weeks ago from www.powerinnumbers.com.au before the Digital Data player was out for sale.

I am thinking of selling it to buy the new digital data player. Cos I wanted to have an mp3 player.

Interesting! It's definitly a confidence booster on the product, even for me. And on top of that, it is the same online store I'm planning to buy from!

How would you rate their service?

BTW - am I hearing a potential crash here? ;)

Originally posted by Nutcase

Interesting! It's definitly a confidence booster on the product, even for me. And on top of that, it is the same online store I'm planning to buy from!

How would you rate their service?

BTW - am I hearing a potential crash here? ;)

They are friendly. I bought and have it send to Perth.
I am still in Perth but the X-drive 2 is now with my wife in Spore.

Anyone interested?
about 1mth old X-drive set with car charger extra batt and 20GB IBM travelstar

They are friendly. I bought and have it send to Perth.
I am still in Perth but the X-drive 2 is now with my wife in Spore.

Anyone interested?
about 1mth old X-drive set with car charger extra batt and 20GB IBM travelstar

Hmm I am interested but how much u want to sell it?

Wah...Dun crash this thread leh...use your PM

OK - Just realised that the S/H seems to be locked down to AUD$68 for 3 pcs and beyond.

We currently have a total of 3 orders. so if you are interested, please keep it coming.

just wondering, does anyone know how mucih this costs in Singapore?

Originally posted by vince123123
just wondering, does anyone know how mucih this costs in Singapore?

Hi All Again...

Just came back from SLS - and bought myself the X's-Drive II for S$199! No extra batt, no car charger...but hey...it's S$199!

Got it from Sysnet...think I saw one more piece there..not sure if they have more...

and for those of you who may still be thinking of getting the extra batt....I've opened up the casing and not to worry. Changing the battery is a relatively simple affair that does not require you to break the warranty seal.

Besides, Li-ion batts can easily store for a few years as long as you maintain it properly over time. I've obtained some info if anyone is interested in maintenance and care for Li-ion batts.