Minolta 75-300mm with teleconvertor

Eyesthruthelens

Can this 75-300mm minolta lens work with 1.4 extension tube?
I've tried using the lens with 2x entension tube but can't get the lens to focus.. just wonder if the lens will work with 1.4 extension tube.. :think:

Opps.. correction.. 1.4x teleconverter..

Eyesthruthelens said:
Can this 75-300mm minolta lens work with 1.4 extension tube?
I've tried using the lens with 2x entension tube but can't get the lens to focus.. just wonder if the lens will work with 1.4 extension tube.. :think:

there isn't a 1.4 or 2x extension tube, only 1.4x or 2x teleconvertor...

extension tubes are in mm...

and the problem with it is, when you use a 2x teleconvertor, your aperture x2, so your 300mm @ 5.6 becomes 600mm @ 11.2 (f11) widest... so naturally, its hard to focus, esp indoor or low light... can only be used in a hot sunny day or in studio setup with modelling light.

Paiseh.. yeap, it's teleconvertor.. I've tried 2x and it doesn't work.. just wonder anyone has tried 1.4x?

Eyesthruthelens said:
Paiseh.. yeap, it's teleconvertor.. I've tried 2x and it doesn't work.. just wonder anyone has tried 1.4x?

just the same, your widest is too small to even allow light in for focusing, aka too slow...

even at 5.6, its already sluggish... in indoor...

i suggest you get a f2.8 300mm or maybe a f4 300mm den u get a 2x. or get a 500mm 6.3 or 500mm reflex f8

you need to be aware of the compatibility between the 1.4x TC with the lens also.

My 1.4x Teleplus 300 pro TC can't can't be used on KM 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 :cry: .

hmm...
So that's why they need f2.8 lenses...

But f11 is not so dark lah... howcome cannot...

Eyesthruthelens... have you tried in outdoor or well lit environment...?
During wakeboard champ in bedok also i took many shoot wth f11... but it is damn bright day... now all body burned...

muko said:
hmm...

I tried the 2x outdoor... during f1 powerboat.

muko said:
hmm...
So that's why they need f2.8 lenses...

But f11 is not so dark lah... howcome cannot...

During wakeboard champ in bedok also i took many shoot wth f11... but it is damn bright day... now all body burned...
That's different, although the camera take picture at f/11, but it actually focus at wide open (e.g. f/5.6 for 300mm). The sensor need a lot of light for good focusing.
When the TC is put on, the sensor actually receive very few light, it focus at f/11 instead of f/5.6, try the preview depth of field and you will know how little light it is.

That's why we call some f/2.8 or smaller fast lense, as they have good lighting for focusing faster.

That is why Nikon make a 200mm F2 so that if use with teleconvertor, it will be 400mm F4 which is quite standard.

Teleconvertor are expensive too. Imagine you get one, let's say $500 and a 75-300mm lens, it comes to 1k liao. Worth it or not, you think abt it if you hardly take wild life pics that much. ;)
If got extra, get a Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 with teleconvertor is better, at least F5.6 at 400mm, not bad and enough for wild life. Or 200mm APO F2.8 also can. ;)

zcf said:
That's different, although the camera take picture at f/11, but it actually focus at wide open (e.g. f/5.6 for 300mm). The sensor need a lot of light for good focusing.
When the TC is put on, the sensor actually receive very few light, it focus at f/11 instead of f/5.6, try the preview depth of field and you will know how little light it is.

That's why we call some f/2.8 or smaller fast lense, as they have good lighting for focusing faster.

correction... its bigger...

you are correct indeed. I miss out "smaller f/ number" or bigger aperture.:sweat:

Hiee...

I have tried using a 2x convertor on a 75-300. There is one thing you need to do.
Manual Focus :angel:

Come on...remember there is this thing called Manual focus.....do not leave home without it...:cool:

rgds,
sulhan

BBTM said:
That is why Nikon make a 200mm F2 so that if use with teleconvertor, it will be 400mm F4 which is quite standard.

Teleconvertor are expensive too. Imagine you get one, let's say $500 and a 75-300mm lens, it comes to 1k liao. Worth it or not, you think abt it if you hardly take wild life pics that much. ;)
If got extra, get a Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 with teleconvertor is better, at least F5.6 at 400mm, not bad and enough for wild life. Or 200mm APO F2.8 also can. ;)

Looking thru ebay.. 2x teleconverter cost around US65..
http://cgi.ebay.com/2X-AF-Teleconve...7556888151QQcategoryZ3342QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

that is a 4 element 2x TC, Teleplus MC7 2x TC got 7 elements and cost about $140-170.

I heard that even KM 2x TC will not on all lens, mainly for prime lens only.:dunno:

I reckon it will work if we're shooting the Moon and other celestial objects since they are naturally bright?

zcf said:
that is a 4 element 2x TC, Teleplus MC7 2x TC got 7 elements and cost about $140-170.

I heard that even KM 2x TC will not on all lens, mainly for prime lens only.:dunno:
The newest version works with all the G lenses, the previous one only works with the 200mm, 300mm, 400mm & 600mm? can't remember but only the APO glasses. Its the same with Canon TC, only with their selected L lenses.

A word of caution. Do try to get the better brand of TC. Your pics will be soft with the cheaper ones and definitely manual focus. Quality sux. I too am considering the Minolta ones but damn the price is too ex.

jbma said:
A word of caution. Do try to get the better brand of TC. Your pics will be soft with the cheaper ones and definitely manual focus. Quality sux. I too am considering the Minolta ones but damn the price is too ex.

The Minolta TCs dun work with the zooms... unless your zoom does not have the rear element protruding out into the camera lens mount cavity. That's why the TCs work only with primes... it's left to the 3rd party TCs to fill this gap since quality suffers... but if u mount a tripod and manual focus with the M/L screen, it should work pretty well. Only pity is my 100-400 lens does not mount well on my tripod as it lacks a tripod collar... are there clamp-on collars?

Did anyone tried using oly TCON-17 (55mm thread ) on front of this lens
or the Sigma 70-300 SM II ? I beleive the light fall should be minimum,
but most likely have to MF as this front mount TC add a lot more
strain on AF motor.