Minolta 20mm/2.8

GENO said:
dont say him lah...can buy good lens until go overseas and get...still go shoot chio bos overseas somemore, but never show us the photos..
:sweat:
Ya loh, only show a few photos only, buy lens until personally went oversea to buy :thumbsup:

zcf said:
Ya loh, only show a few photos only, buy lens until personally went oversea to buy :thumbsup:

Got show meh?? why i cant see??
:dunno:

I heard from my spy say he took 6GB of photos at the show...:bigeyes:

20mm f2.8 lens is a very sharp lens.. After conversion become 30mm.. which is a waste for such a fine lens.

I love the lens, sharp and distortion is well handle...

Hart

Agetan said:
20mm f2.8 lens is a very sharp lens.. After conversion become 30mm.. which is a waste for such a fine lens.

Hart

sharp lens...... those hunting for a 2hand can look at Alex, new at John..
:heart:

Agetan said:

how does it compare to the 17-35G at 20mm? :devil:

Just wondering...how much does a used one go for nowadays? I have one that I am thinking of disposing off...but the original one(non-RS).

pai said:
how does it compare to the 17-35G at 20mm? :devil:

Not sure... I am sure it will win if shoot at f2.8.. :bsmilie: the G don't have f2.8 ;p

In all respect, G is very good, but the prime is slightly better IMHO.

Hart

Agetan said:
I am sure it will win if shoot at f2.8.. :bsmilie: the G don't have f2.8 ;p
:kok:

hehe, looks like must get zcf bro to bring out his new precious and do a comparison test for us already

pai said:
:kok:

hehe, looks like must get zcf bro to bring out his new precious and do a comparison test for us already
From photodo,
You got one 20mm to test out :devil:

Minolta AF 20/2,8
Photodo test result: 3,5
Effective focal length:
Weighted MTF for 20 mm: f2,8 0,70, f4 0,75, f8 0,79
Average Weighted MTF: 0,77 Grade: 3,5
Weighted MTF 10 lp/mm: 0,88
Weighted MTF 20 lp/mm: 0,72
Weighted MTF 40 lp/mm: 0,44
Distortion: -3,95%

17-35/3,5G
Photodo test result: 3,3
Effective focal length:
17 - 34 mm
Weighted MTF for 17 mm: f3,5 0,71, f8 0,76
Weighted MTF for 24 mm: f3,5 0,75, f8 0,77
Weighted MTF for 35 mm: f3,5 0,72, f8 0,77
Average Weighted MTF: 0,75 Grade: 3,3
Weighted MTF 10 lp/mm: 0,84
Weighted MTF 20 lp/mm: 0,70
Weighted MTF 40 lp/mm: 0,49
Max distortion: -2,85% - 0,26%
I think 20mm f/2.8 prime win in term of sharpness, surprising to see it got more distortion at -3.95% though.

eh, the results are VERY VERY close leh...

pai said:
eh, the results are VERY VERY close leh...
Actually, for those high end lens or prime, you can't tell much different unless you shoot wide open, 100% pixel peek, print A1 size photos.

Even in normal lens at F8, I don't think I can tell much different to high end lens in 4R print, may be except the distortion or softer corner.

With more and more Mpixels though, the different betwenn prime, high end and normal lens may become more obvious.

eh uncle, i think you no need to buy any prime lens from 17mm to 35mm already lor. except the 35 1.4 maybe...

pai said:
eh uncle, i think you no need to buy any prime lens from 17mm to 35mm already lor. except the 35 1.4 maybe...
wow, I so old already :cry:

yup, don't intend to get prime in that range, not very interest in 35mm f/1.4G also, probably will let go of my Tokina ATX Pro 17mm f/3.5 soon.

Now drooling for 85mm f/1.4 or 135mm STF (can't afford these two:cry:).

no lah not old. but the first 5D user mah. must show respect.

85mm? biangz, u collecting G lens issit. how many u got already...

ok OT so much... in response to the original poster, are you shooting digital or film? if it's film, the 20mm is probably as wide as you can go and still keep distortion reasonable.

but for digital... sigh, even 17mm isn't wide enough with the 1.5mm crop. so, wider the better i guess.

pai said:
no lah not old. but the first 5D user mah. must show respect.

85mm? biangz, u collecting G lens issit. how many u got already...
ThankQ, thankQ. 85mm also got non-G one mah.

pai said:
ok OT so much... in response to the original poster, are you shooting digital or film? if it's film, the 20mm is probably as wide as you can go and still keep distortion reasonable.

but for digital... sigh, even 17mm isn't wide enough with the 1.5mm crop. so, wider the better i guess.
if you like wide, get the KM 11-18mm or Sigma 10-20mm, you won't regret with either. Currently using 10-20mm, a must for my travel lens.

zcf said:
ThankQ, thankQ. 85mm also got non-G one mah.

if you like wide, get the KM 11-18mm or Sigma 10-20mm, you won't regret with either. Currently using 10-20mm, a must for my travel lens.

im still quite new here, but i kinda notice that you seem to have quite a lens arsenal, do you own a cam store or an avid collector (nothing wrong with that, i have a friend who collects minolta bodies)?

tangoinquestion said:
im still quite new here, but i kinda notice that you seem to have quite a lens arsenal, do you own a cam store or an avid collector (nothing wrong with that, i have a friend who collects minolta bodies)?
Don't own a camera store, though I wish.
Not really a collector, just hasn't start selling my lens yet. I do like to collect lenses if I have enough space and money.