Marriage in Singapore

I beg to differ... I think marriage is to be thought about hard.... Don't one notice how many a lower income family marry young, give birth to tons of kids and the cycle carries on to the next generation. They are forever poor and most likely to remain at the bottom of the social ladder. Ask them why marry and have so many kids when they cannot afford it, same reason. Part of life is to marry and give birth.

I would say be responsible to yourself and your family. Only marry if you can afford to do so and don't marry for the sake of society pressure. End of the day you suffer yourself when you cannot afford to pay your bills. On the contrary, many a thing can go wrong. Your wife loses her job due to having a kid, your wife have to stay home to look after kid cos you both cannot afford a maid due to your low income, you get retrenched and find out your savings are not enough now that you have so many mouths to feed.

Just to name a few of the problems that can happen. I would say marriage is a beautiful thing but please think hard and carefully before jumping in.
ermm... you married?

Ultimately...marriage is about two things. You and your significant other. Everything else is just noise.

LOVELY!!!! ahahha

of course this is being ideal, we all know that the rest of the family plays a big part (sometimes undesirably), but hey ur statement is just so poignant and witty. i love it! :thumbsup:

JOHO we both damn free leh, two jon replying same thread lol. Ok I know off topic;p

no lor i am super busy but this topic is very close to my heart.

i am a 100% advocate of marriage, but my head is definitely not in the clouds.

i guess i'm in the right job. :)

yes you are.
next time when u wanna get a ring remember to get from than jonathan from goodoldgold.com. He is great man.

just get married, but choose your partner wisely

if you choose right, everything will just fall into place

hey kcuf, i read the article u posted here and i quote:

"Singles viewed socialisation as the first step towards marriage and parenthood. While costs could delay marriages, the determining factor was more often than not the ability to meet a suitable partner."

it doesn't seem like it's the financial part that plays the biggest part, altho it does rank high, admittedly.

on a more personal side, that quote above TOTALLY reflects my current situation. :bsmilie:

aeskywan said:
I would say be responsible to yourself and your family. . Only marry if you can afford to do so and don't marry for the sake of society pressure. End of the day you suffer yourself when you cannot afford to pay your bills. On the contrary, many a thing can go wrong. Your wife loses her job due to having a kid, your wife have to stay home to look after kid cos you both cannot afford a maid due to your low income, you get retrenched and find out your savings are not enough now that you have so many mouths to feed.

Does it matter if I am or I am
not?
Ya it does. B'cos till now who I know who got married do not comment that way.

Seriously, I got a wide range of friends . I do have friends who draw only 1.5-2k per month to support their family. They knew each other for almost 7 years+. They both owns a 3rm flat. They both own a weekend car. He only work as macdonald dispatch rider. In the evening he work in a buffet resturant in bugis. Her wife is some part-time retailer. Sometime a phone operator. They still can hold a very decent wedding. His wife gown is only $300 rental. He borrow his suit from his buddy and they hold their wedding in xuang xi luo at tanjong katong.

Gown is a need. Ask your wife/GF is she able to accept a $300 rented gown? If she is not then is a "want" to get a $1300 beautiful geogorous gown.

Ask yourself, are you able to borrow a suit from anyone else for your wedding? Why do you need to custom made a suit? what is the difference if you rent a used suit from bridal shop and borrow from a friend?

I ever attended a wedding where the bride only wear cheomsam as wedding gown, and groom wear those "chinese kong fu" shirt I dun know what it is call to fetch his wife. They do not hold any dinner. They own a HDB flat but rent it all out and stay with their parents. They are poor but they still held their very own wedding.
Are you able to accept that your wedding is held like that? Is still a wedding which is needed for a proper marriage right?

The two example is not make up by me they are my friends and I am their photographer.

Both of them did worried on whether to get married or not due to their financial problem. They just find all sort of ways to have their very own wedding. End of day is very memorable for them.

You are right to say "be responsible to yourself". But how are you be able to responsible to yourself if you are with a gal for > 5 years and still dun marry her?
Keep asking for her to wait for you till you both earn enough to pay bills?
Or shall you ask her to leave you since you know you can never earn enough to support her?
Will that be part of the reason of not getting marry for the sake of society pressure?
How about those really are lowly educated? They are the large group who have not even complete sec sch and only earn themselves < 1.5k. Are you advising them not to get marry?

kcuf2 I hope that you do not worry so much about how your wedding is going to be done. But you need to think how to maintain a marriage which is always free no need money one. Ya maybe sometime pop up some flowers for her to suprise her.

Ortega is right :bsmilie:
if you choose right, everything will just fall into place :thumbsup:

Does it matter if I am or I am not?

it should not. so should singles stay out of this thread?

reality of the situation & wad any1 says can be totally different matter. with so many people involved, its hard to please every1, least get off a bad start with in-laws. which wouldn't be worth the risk saving $$ for.

Hey I also got my ring from them. The boss is call jonathan.

Yeap He is a nice guy there! The co. return policy is good too. To all that is thinking of buying a stone from them -> not all stones from them are offered the lifetime buy back policy. Please read the policy first.

http://www.goodoldgold.com/LifetimeGuarantee/

Ya it does. B'cos till now who I know who got married do not comment that way.

Seriously, I got a wide range of friends . I do have friends who draw only 1.5-2k per month to support their family. They knew each other for almost 7 years+. They both owns a 3rm flat. They both own a weekend car. He only work as macdonald dispatch rider. In the evening he work in a buffet resturant in bugis. Her wife is some part-time retailer. Sometime a phone operator. They still can hold a very decent wedding. His wife gown is only $300 rental. He borrow his suit from his buddy and they hold their wedding in xuang xi luo at tanjong katong.

Gown is a need. Ask your wife/GF is she able to accept a $300 rented gown? If she is not then is a "want" to get a $1300 beautiful geogorous gown.

Ask yourself, are you able to borrow a suit from anyone else for your wedding? Why do you need to custom made a suit? what is the difference if you rent a used suit from bridal shop and borrow from a friend?

I ever attended a wedding where the bride only wear cheomsam as wedding gown, and groom wear those "chinese kong fu" shirt I dun know what it is call to fetch his wife. They do not hold any dinner. They own a HDB flat but rent it all out and stay with their parents. They are poor but they still held their very own wedding.
Are you able to accept that your wedding is held like that? Is still a wedding which is needed for a proper marriage right?

The two example is not make up by me they are my friends and I am their photographer.

Both of them did worried on whether to get married or not due to their financial problem. They just find all sort of ways to have their very own wedding. End of day is very memorable for them.

You are right to say "be responsible to yourself". But how are you be able to responsible to yourself if you are with a gal for > 5 years and still dun marry her?
Keep asking for her to wait for you till you both earn enough to pay bills?
Or shall you ask her to leave you since you know you can never earn enough to support her?
Will that be part of the reason of not getting marry for the sake of society pressure?
How about those really are lowly educated? They are the large group who have not even complete sec sch and only earn themselves < 1.5k. Are you advising them not to get marry?

kcuf2 I hope that you do not worry so much about how your wedding is going to be done. But you need to think how to maintain a marriage which is always free no need money one. Ya maybe sometime pop up some flowers for her to suprise her.

Ortega is right :bsmilie:
if you choose right, everything will just fall into place :thumbsup:

I think you should reread my posts, I am not saying not to get married if you cannot afford the wedding. I am saying don't go get married for the sake of marrying because of society, parents pressure. Just as you have wonderful stories of friends who are still together, I have also stories of friends who got married and are now divorced with kids. Reasoning, they got married due to pressure from parents and society and result the kids suffer for it when the parents either break up because of both parties have affairs outside or they just cannot get along. Couples that cannot cope with the expenses and at age 35 still getting money from parents to cope with the family expenses.

If you cannot afford to feed your family, why be a burden to your wife, parents and society for the sake of marriage?

IMO, there are only 2 reasons to get married in singapore.
1) to buy a hdb flat
2) to have kids down the road.

if there is no plan for 1 and 2, then i see there is no points to get married at all. just stay together.

IMO, there are only 2 reasons to get married in singapore.
1) to buy a hdb flat
2) to have kids down the road.

if there is no plan for 1 and 2, then i see there is no points to get married at all. just stay together.

technically speaking u can do both without being married either.

hdb wait till u 35, kids can be anytime.

technically speaking u can do both without being married either.

hdb wait till u 35, kids can be anytime.

kids can be anytime, but that would definitely not be fair to the kids. what do u want to put in father/mother field in their birth cert.

Wrong... kids cannot be anytime, whether you are male or female. There is something called the biological clock and your eggs or sperms have expiry dates. If you are lucky, the expiry date is later but definitely not "anytime".

There is a way to have kids anytime though. That is to freeze your eggs or sperms and store them... then that is really anytime but it would cost a lot!

Wrong... kids cannot be anytime, whether you are male or female. There is something called the biological clock and your eggs or sperms have expiry dates. If you are lucky, the expiry date is later but definitely not "anytime".

There is a way to have kids anytime though. That is to freeze your eggs or sperms and store them... then that is really anytime but it would cost a lot!

Eh...The quantity of sperm in males will get less with age but it is entire possible for a 69 yr old man for example (one of my ex-g/f was born to him at that age with the mother being in her fifties.) So even if it is a low sperm count, artificial insemination will still bring about a 100% chance of fertilizing a female egg.

But with women, the period is not a biological clock as per say. Each woman gets a certain number of eggs in one life time and with each monthly cycle if the egg is not successfully mated with a sperm, it is flush out as menstruation cycle. But once that quantity of eggs is depleted. It's over. No more chance of having children.

can we oso freeze the milk? please take note of expiry date hor!!

:bsmilie::sweatsm::faint: