M1 wireless b band is everyhwere at $22/month

The 2G thing is a safeguard policy for all the telcos. As long as you are not doing illegal stuffs, you should be alright. In fact, if you burst the 2G limit, there will be people calling you to check whether are you really downloading that amount. Cause sometime it can be the work of some viruses spamming out mails. Which then you can know and do something about it.

THe speedwise... hmm...

My old card seemed to switch between the 3G and GPRS faster then the new usb modem thingy. But the new modem can handle my faster speed plan.

Lately, seemed like a lot of ppl taking up the plan. Like area jam up in the night. Think of how your handphone always cannot call out at the New Year celebration a suntec.

Hope that helps.

Lately, seemed like a lot of ppl taking up the plan. Like area jam up in the night. Think of how your handphone always cannot call out at the New Year celebration a suntec.

Hope that helps.
I wait and see how performance after most people sign-ups, maybe 3-4 weeks later and see how, although it is only 6months of tie down period, but if the performance is bad, it is like throwing money down the drain. So for me wait and see and observe.

After one month, if performance is ok and stable then sign-up. Hope this thread will be around for people to give performance feedback. :thumbsup:

M1 is good to come up with this plan Internet Access everywhere, unfortunately just bought a notebook, if not could have gotten the Fujitsu notebook that is tied with M1 3G Broadband.

M1 claim this bb thing is 3.5G. What's the diff between 3.5G and 3G, izit just faster speed ?

hanz:
not sure about your budget. but the fujitsu is a bit killer lor. 5888sgd~~~ give 1k rebate~ still 4888sgd. dun make sense~ with single core as well.~ foam factor not great. supposed to be better engine for voip~ that's all. 4888sgd~

arpinkor:
in short, yup. 3.5G is around 5X faster or more. (384kbps > 1800kbps > 3600kbps)
it's 22sgd > 38sgd > 68sgd(?)

hanz:
not sure about your budget. but the fujitsu is a bit killer lor. 5888sgd~~~ give 1k rebate~ still 4888sgd. dun make sense~ with single core as well.~ foam factor not great. supposed to be better engine for voip~ that's all. 4888sgd~
Wah so expensive ah?? can buy 2 duo core and Vista ready somemore. No way.

Why did Fujitsu think they can sell at that price? anyone knows?

Actually the fair use policy clauses I can agree with, it is to prevent malicious use but the language they put there is so bad. I think it is written to prevent people with malicious intent say a group or people continously make huge downloads with intent to crash the system. The service provider has right to deny or block them from accessing the network.

Very bad the way it was written, T&Cs should be written very clearly.

What bothers me is that those who subscribe to this service if the system only provides you access for 1hour and inaccessible due to whatever reasons for the other 23hours, there is no recourse.

10. M1 will not be responsible for any interruption, disruption to or deterioration in the quality, reliability or accuracy of the Broadband service or any technical issue that may arise from or in relation to any Broadband device or hardware that customer may have connected to the Device.
11. M1 does not warrant that the Broadband services will be uninterrupted and/or error-free

If you agree with that, then it is like saying I agree to pay the service provider $22/$38/$68 (dependent on the type of service opted) for a period of 6 months and cannot cancel/terminate the service eventhough I get only 1hour of access and the rest 23hours are down due to "interruption, disruption to or deterioration in the quality, reliability or accuracy of the Broadband service".

How can they get away with this type of language is beyond me, I thought we have a liberalized telecom industry already. IDA should look into these T&Cs by all telcos and ISPs and protect the rights of consumers.

../azul123

Actually the fair use policy clauses I can agree with, it is to prevent malicious use but the language they put there is so bad. I think it is written to prevent people with malicious intent say a group or people continously make huge downloads with intent to crash the system. The service provider has right to deny or block them from accessing the network.

Very bad the way it was written, T&Cs should be written very clearly.

What bothers me is that those who subscribe to this service if the system only provides you access for 1hour and inaccessible due to whatever reasons for the other 23hours, there is no recourse.

If you agree with that, then it is like saying I agree to pay the service provider $22/$38/$68 (dependent on the type of service opted) for a period of 6 months and cannot cancel/terminate the service eventhough I get only 1hour of access and the rest 23hours are down due to "interruption, disruption to or deterioration in the quality, reliability or accuracy of the Broadband service".

How can they get away with this type of language is beyond me, I thought we have a liberalized telecom industry already. IDA should look into these T&Cs by all telcos and ISPs and protect the rights of consumers.

../azul123

Although the user cannot do anything, I believe IDA have certain conditions to make sure the operator makes the best effort to offer the stated service. ie % downtime and accessability...etc before granting M1 the 3G licence thingy.

So we are sorta protected in a certain way.

Although the user cannot do anything, I believe IDA have certain conditions to make sure the operator makes the best effort to offer the stated service. ie % downtime and accessability...etc before granting M1 the 3G licence thingy.

So we are sorta protected in a certain way.
Then I think it is only fair to write something like, "the service provide endeavour to maintain a service quality within IDA guidelines" me no lawyer but wouldn't that be mutually acceptable to both parties? protects the service provider at the same time taking care of consumers as well.

My 2 cents.

../azul123

Same situation with the M1 Vodafone broadband.

ST has picked up the news about the 2GB limit by M1 and is on today's paper.

PR disaster for M1 unlimited but limited to 2GB broadband ?

Same situation with the M1 Vodafone broadband.

ST has picked up the news about the 2GB limit by M1 and is on today's paper.

PR disaster for M1 unlimited but limited to 2GB broadband ?

Is there actually an online article? :)

if you surf in cbd area then get $38. if you surf else where $22 one will do. cos 3.6mbps only in cbd according to m1 web.

Hi fellow CS'er,
i am testing out the 3.6mbps and the other speed down to 384k. just got them yesterday...
so far the 3.6mbps has been dissapointing maybe its a friday night? i can even get a local webpage to load properly,i an getting only 1 or 2kbps for the download so i gave up after a few tries have any of you face the same bottleneck problem so far.

hee didnt know that the 3.6mbps is only available in the CBD area ,maybe will test them out later

cheers

Hi fellow CS'er,
i am testing out the 3.6mbps and the other speed down to 384k. just got them yesterday...
so far the 3.6mbps has been dissapointing maybe its a friday night? i can even get a local webpage to load properly,i an getting only 1 or 2kbps for the download so i gave up after a few tries have any of you face the same bottleneck problem so far.

hee didnt know that the 3.6mbps is only available in the CBD area ,maybe will test them out later

cheers

my area is near the singapore river.. so far 384k is running smooth.

Dec 9, 2006
M1's limit on 'unlimited' broadband plan upsets users

By Alfred Siew

A MOBILEONE (M1) broadband service, which promises unlimited surfing, is drawing flak because it actually restricts how much users can download.

The M1 broadband service launched last week lets users go online using a wireless connection at home or on the go and claims to be a surf-all-you-want service.

However, the fine print states that users can download only up to 2GB of data each month.

Anything more may be considered 'excessive' usage under its fair-use policy.

In contrast, unlimited broadband services from SingTel and StarHub do not have any such restrictions.

M1 spokesman Chua Swee Kiat said customers may have to pay one cent for each additional kilobyte downloaded once they exceed the 2GB limit, although the company will review this on a case-by-case basis. He did not elaborate, but said that M1 may review the 2GB limit.

The service costs between $22 and $68 a month, depending on surfing speeds.

Users are unlikely to hit the download limit of 2GB - the size of a two-hour movie - if they only read news online and access their e-mail.

However, those who frequently watch YouTube videos, for example, or companies which share a connection with several employees may find themselves paying extra despite the 'unlimited' tag.

Some Internet users are upset because they feel that they have been misled.

Lawyer Adrian Kwong, 32, said: 'M1 is free to set its rules, but it has to tell people. You won't know it's a limited service unless you read the fine print.'

Financial adviser Kelvin Khoo, 34, who signed up for the service this week, said: 'Why should it be limited when you say it's unlimited surfing?'

Unlike other broadband services, M1's rules also state that voice over Internet protocol (VoIP), or Internet calls, are banned.

This is likely to irk many broadband users who turn to low-cost services like Skype to keep in touch with friends overseas.

Telecom analysts warn that M1 will have to live up to its promises fast if it wants to be able to compete with its established rivals in a competitive market.

Mr Bryan Wang, director of Asia-Pacific research at analyst firm In-Stat, said M1 would do well to make its rules clear so users can sign up without worry.
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com/report.php?p=21419126
Is there actually an online article? :)

Tried searching for ST/SH offer. What is their equivilant offer? Their plans data plans seems to elude me as I can't find a comparision.

I like that quote
" The only thing that is truly unlimited here is M1 can collect unlimited money from you."

After quick calc, if you exceed by 2GB, you're liable to pay SGD$20K :sweat:
ST/SH's version will be next year. Probably the same old terms but more relaxed as ST/SH have IP backbone to support.

Actually, what should be concern is their ILC. Singnet, Starhub have big fat pipes out. M1 still ??? (of course, Singnet, Starhub has lots of users who squeeze these links dry). For the matter, don't even know what their local peering is like....

Bottom neck is the key words... competition is another.. keep them coming only we benefit from the war! Just can't imagine when I was using 300bps in the early 80' Oly texts... on the BBS.. telephone line when the both free fo in and outgoing

What's a "Bottom Neck" ? :dunno:

_

Dec 9, 2006
M1's limit on 'unlimited' broadband plan upsets users

By Alfred Siew

A MOBILEONE (M1) broadband service, which promises unlimited surfing, is drawing flak because it actually restricts how much users can download.

The M1 broadband service launched last week lets users go online using a wireless connection at home or on the go and claims to be a surf-all-you-want service.

However, the fine print states that users can download only up to 2GB of data each month.

Anything more may be considered 'excessive' usage under its fair-use policy.

In contrast, unlimited broadband services from SingTel and StarHub do not have any such restrictions.

M1 spokesman Chua Swee Kiat said customers may have to pay one cent for each additional kilobyte downloaded once they exceed the 2GB limit, although the company will review this on a case-by-case basis. He did not elaborate, but said that M1 may review the 2GB limit.

The service costs between $22 and $68 a month, depending on surfing speeds.

Users are unlikely to hit the download limit of 2GB - the size of a two-hour movie - if they only read news online and access their e-mail.

However, those who frequently watch YouTube videos, for example, or companies which share a connection with several employees may find themselves paying extra despite the 'unlimited' tag.

Some Internet users are upset because they feel that they have been misled.

Lawyer Adrian Kwong, 32, said: 'M1 is free to set its rules, but it has to tell people. You won't know it's a limited service unless you read the fine print.'

Financial adviser Kelvin Khoo, 34, who signed up for the service this week, said: 'Why should it be limited when you say it's unlimited surfing?'

Unlike other broadband services, M1's rules also state that voice over Internet protocol (VoIP), or Internet calls, are banned.

This is likely to irk many broadband users who turn to low-cost services like Skype to keep in touch with friends overseas.

Telecom analysts warn that M1 will have to live up to its promises fast if it wants to be able to compete with its established rivals in a competitive market.

Mr Bryan Wang, director of Asia-Pacific research at analyst firm In-Stat, said M1 would do well to make its rules clear so users can sign up without worry.
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com/report.php?p=21419126

M1 chia lak liao ! better make things clear.. do business cannot like that. Sell fish balls noodles and yet say pay 50 cents for fish balls if wanted. Siao liao loh... wat crap !? :devil: