Lumix GF2 in Singapore

loneWolff said:
I doubt he would be willing to help.
Probably posted that pricing to confuse the general public or selling kaya and papaya since he post the same message at ;)
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?p=6884430#post6884430

But all in all, getting a gf2 is nice, getting it cheaper is even nicer. :)

Ya la, confusing us with special price...I also can get special price but half year later when b&h and amazon clear stocks..hehe

Look fwd to some shots on gf2 from some bros who get it.

But all in all, getting a gf2 is nice, getting it cheaper is even nicer. :)

Yup.. hopefully get to know the lowest market price of the single kit as well... and to see some review on it soon... :)

Well, I can tell you it won't be as good as using the 20mm.
Used the 14mm before and it's soft at the corners.
But it is so much lighter :cry:

with (14 f/2.5 lens) @ S$900

with (14 f/2.5 & 14-42 lens) @ S$1,060

comes with 8gb + bag

+ GST according to Cathay...

wow $960+ for the 14mm kit.. if can sell away the body at $600 mean the 14mm is $360+ only...

haha.. look like alot of ppl is buying the set for the lens, not the body...bcos can see got ppl start selling the body only in bns already...

Why ah? Is the GF2 that bad? :think:
I thought its image quality is quite good actually... far far better than the GF1.

Why ah? Is the GF2 that bad? :think:
I thought its image quality is quite good actually... far far better than the GF1.

Becos they only need the 14mm pancake, probably owners of GH-1 & 2 or the G2.

Seems like so far they're after the elusive black color 14mm lens since the few I saw are the black models only, hmmm :think:

Hey man, how come you pose so serious when you are surrounded by so many beautiful ladies ;)

Well, for one, notice who's the shortest of them all?

wow $960+ for the 14mm kit.. if can sell away the body at $600 mean the 14mm is $360+ only...

haha.. look like alot of ppl is buying the set for the lens, not the body...bcos can see got ppl start selling the body only in bns already...

Someone selling the 14mm at B&S. At $960, the GF2 body would cost only $460!

:bigeyes: today got a BnS put up GF2 body at $600 and was sold out in awhile... (although dunno the actual deal price...) maybe can make some money buying the kit than sell as separate.. body $600, lens $500 = $1100... make $140 profit... sell a few set can fund for a free GF2 body liao... :bsmilie:

In senior G user's opinion and buying experience, how much do you guys think the GF2 brand new body is worth looking at the kit package price? If <$500 means it is cheaper than GF1... Could that be the case?

:bigeyes: today got a BnS put up GF2 body at $600 and was sold out in awhile... (although dunno the actual deal price...) maybe can make some money buying the kit than sell as separate.. body $600, lens $500 = $1100... make $140 profit... sell a few set can fund for a free GF2 body liao... :bsmilie:

In senior G user's opinion and buying experience, how much do you guys think the GF2 brand new body is worth looking at the kit package price? If <$500 means it is cheaper than GF1... Could that be the case?

Since when is second hand pricing ever an accurate pricing in terms of how much the body cost? it's more of conveniently subtracting the price they estimate for the lens they take away that's all.

A simple thing wld be A cost 1000, B cost 500, but A+B together cost 1200 => That doesn't mean subtracting B from the equation means A actually cost $700.

Go to the shops and play with the sets la! Ha.

BTW, there's going to be a GF2 roadshow coming up soon this month...

Since when is second hand pricing ever an accurate pricing in terms of how much the body cost? it's more of conveniently subtracting the price they estimate for the lens they take away that's all.

A simple thing wld be A cost 1000, B cost 500, but A+B together cost 1200 => That doesn't mean subtracting B from the equation means A actually cost $700.

Go to the shops and play with the sets la! Ha.

BTW, there's going to be a GF2 roadshow coming up soon this month...

What I meant is getting the kit set and then selling part of the kit.

I agree it is very tempting to buy the GF2 and sell off the body for the kit lens.
I mean a black 14mm/F2.5, only one beside this would be the 45mm/F2.8.
Would sit nicely as a collection more than a usable lens if you have the 20mm/F1.7 as the 14mm is soft at the corners but then again I know of people who go for this.
Regarding price factor we can never calculate it in the common sense way as the lens packaged with the body is at a discounted rate and not the other way.
Only time when the body is at a lower value is when the item has been in the market for a long period and roi has been achieved along with the lowered cost of producing it.
IMO I would go bns the GF2 just for the black lens and try my luck to get a 14mm box so that it has a better resale value should I give up on my m43 collection.
That occasion will probably be when the lord of the house gives the command to clear everything.
My life is hard (Jet Li) :(

ha.. think we can expect to see more people selling off their gf2 body or 14mm in bns.. n hopefully with this price is going to drop.. especially the body alone..

btw, expert advise needed.. is the 14mm really worth to have at it's price almost near to a 20mm? considering if I already have 20mm, 14-42, 14-140... personally I would think that the 20mm is already a killer.. wanting a 14mm might just be a buy n buy influnce..

Did anyone find how much the GF1 + 20mm kit cost now that GF2 is released?

jackwolf said:
ha.. think we can expect to see more people selling off their gf2 body or 14mm in bns.. n hopefully with this price is going to drop.. especially the body alone..

btw, expert advise needed.. is the 14mm really worth to have at it's price almost near to a 20mm? considering if I already have 20mm, 14-42, 14-140... personally I would think that the 20mm is already a killer.. wanting a 14mm might just be a buy n buy influnce..

I'm not an expert but I would like to pose a question back to you to answer your question.
When will you need to shoot using a wide (14mm) with a large aperture?
F2.8 for sports? Hell I have issue shooting with F1.7 at iso 800, 1/80 for the muai Thai, please don't ask me to shoot in iso 1600.
Landscape? We would be shooting at F11 and above (dunno the optimum for 14mm)
Bokah? F1.7 vs F2.5???
Portrait shoot? F8 or so with a strobe kit so does it matter?
IMO it look so sleek and cool on the GF2, half the weight of the 20mm so my one year old nephew can use it since the four year old niece is using my 20mm.
And it is a collector's lure, black lens leh just etch the word Leica and you got a twin black lens kit with the 45mm.
Anyway, you seem to be equipped with most of the normal range already (20mm + 14-140mm) with 14-42mm as overlap.
Just need to consider if you want to shoot landscape with a 7-14mm or birds and animals in safari at 100-300mm with x2 teleconverter.
If you have spare cash and super creative then tryout the 2% lens, fisheye 8mm. You will be amazed by the overall sharpness.

I'm not an expert but I would like to pose a question back to you to answer your question.
When will you need to shoot using a wide (14mm) with a large aperture?
F2.8 for sports? Hell I have issue shooting with F1.7 at iso 800, 1/80 for the muai Thai, please don't ask me to shoot in iso 1600.
Landscape? We would be shooting at F11 and above (dunno the optimum for 14mm)
Bokah? F1.7 vs F2.5???
Portrait shoot? F8 or so with a strobe kit so does it matter?
IMO it look so sleek and cool on the GF2, half the weight of the 20mm so my one year old nephew can use it since the four year old niece is using my 20mm.
And it is a collector's lure, black lens leh just etch the word Leica and you got a twin black lens kit with the 45mm.
Anyway, you seem to be equipped with most of the normal range already (20mm + 14-140mm) with 14-42mm as overlap.
Just need to consider if you want to shoot landscape with a 7-14mm or birds and animals in safari at 100-300mm with x2 teleconverter.
If you have spare cash and super creative then tryout the 2% lens, fisheye 8mm. You will be amazed by the overall sharpness.

Thanks for the advise Bro... I should have a clearer mind set now... In fact, i am holding a GH2.. not GF2 (honesty I dun really like it due to the lack of buttons, I prefer my ex..GF1).. just happen to talk about the GF2 lens kit hence brought up the question here.. and I dun think my two year old son would be able to handle the 14mm+GH2... hahaha... I dun shoot bird or animal or do peeping so the telezoom would be a miss.. but the wide angle is really something to consider in near future... :think:

Oh btw, i can see that you are "tempting to buy" the black lens as well.... for your one year old nephew to play...? kekeke

jackwolf said:
Thanks for the advise Bro... I should have a clearer mind set now... In fact, i am holding a GH2.. not GF2 (honesty I dun really like it due to the lack of buttons, I prefer my ex..GF1).. just happen to talk about the GF2 lens kit hence brought up the question here.. and I dun think my two year old son would be able to handle the 14mm+GH2... hahaha... I dun shoot bird or animal or do peeping so the telezoom would be a miss.. but the wide angle is really something to consider in near future... :think:

Oh btw, i can see that you are "tempting to buy" the black lens as well.... for your one year old nephew to play...? kekeke

GH2 is a nice camera as it's AF is fast and accurate.
The buttons are still the same except they are now programmable.
Give your son another half a year since my niece started with my GH1 and 14-45mm when she was three before moving up a notch to the 20mm.
Had to set aperture to F1.7, Constant AF and locking sound on.
When she hears the beep sound she will know that she can press fully.
Now she takes decent portrait but she still doesn't know how to read lighting. I wanted to hammer it into her but daddy is a bit protective.
14mm as part of my collection and maybe for nephew to play with once I move onto my GH2.