LFC II - You'll never Walk Alone

nemesis32 said:
Dun worry lah... i think u have underrated Crouch... Based on what i see, he got very good touch and at 2m, if he;s lousy at headers, he wouldn't have scored 16 goals in 33 appearances (incl 9 sub appearance)...

any stat on how much he score from header for his 16 goals ?

I rate him fairly...with his performance with Soton last season..he did not deserve to earn a price tag of 7m..again he could be on the rise.. He might improve much under Rafa together playing in a team with gerrard,alonso and the gang of European Champion.

So far...I am not optimistic about his signings. FOr 7m, I would rather get Anelka back to Liverpool.

nemesis32 said:
Dun worry lah... i think u have underrated Crouch... Based on what i see, he got very good touch and at 2m, if he;s lousy at headers, he wouldn't have scored 16 goals in 33 appearances (incl 9 sub appearance)...
yup.. also have to consider the fact that he was playing for a relegation fighting team. So playing for Liverpool now... can expect him to score quite a bit :cool:

Goh Yong Qin said:
Crouch is not bad. Can make £30,000 per week. ha.

hey, since when did i become so famous that someone need to use my name as nick to post in this forum? :bsmilie:

nemesis32 said:
Hamann played for Bayern leh...and is full fledge international before joining Newcastle... not exactly unknown...Even Hyypia, Riise and Baros are regular internationals when they were signed by Houllier. We don';t know doesn';t mean Arsene, Alex and Houllier don't know since we dun watch all international matches, french league, spanish league etc and they have scouts to do that.

Gerrard, when Houllier promoted him to 1st team, is similar to Welsh now. Established in reserves and U21 but not yet in Liverpool 1st team so also not exactly because Houllier give him chance lah...In fact, i think Roy Evans played him 1st... but Gerrard got sent off on his debut as RB? then back to reserves!

As for Heskey, he already win 2 league cup with Leicester before Houllier sign him. You can say that he piggyback on his partnership with Owen into the England squad and not so much on his own....

all facts are correct...but none of them are real big names before joining Liverpool.

And all of them now are the European Champion Player, besides Heskey.

True that Evans let Gerrard played his very first senior game (Houllier was co-maanager at that time)..but it was Houllier to grow him....

Get me a articel/report from media that credit Evan to grow gerrad ?? I dun think u can..unless u write for yourself...

Get me an articel/report from media that credit houllier to grow gerrard ?? there are just too many of them.

Seriously....Houllier won us at least 5 trophies and 3 times Champion League qualification....and he could have all the negative comment on him.....then Sir Bobby Robson must be a joker after he spent more $ with Newcastle that have won nothing.

wong_se said:

I rate him fairly...with his performance with Soton last season..he did not deserve to earn a price tag of 7m..again he could be on the rise.. He might improve much under Rafa together playing in a team with gerrard,alonso and the gang of European Champion.

So far...I am not optimistic about his signings. FOr 7m, I would rather get Anelka back to Liverpool.
Anelka? but he likes to sulk :bsmilie:
Crouch works hard and has played for England. He has the height and can score and he is young. So why not 7m? SWP already cost 20+m

wong_se said:
yes..u are right..Big name ie...Diouf and Cheyrou (new Zidane) turn into lousy player in Houllier style..

But Houllier style also turn small name like Gerrard (Houllier took him out from academy), Hyypia, Baros (never heard of him to a Euro2004 Golden Boot), Heskey (from non England squad player to win FA, League, SUper, Uefa and scored in World Cup), Riise, Hamman(dun tell me everyone here know where he exactly played before we snapped him 8m from Newcastle)...etc. into BIG name, not to mention our CL final hero-Dudek.

Diouf was big name.. yes.. african player of the year.. shines in world cup..

cheyrou... never hear of him.. was expecting alot from him since GH says he is the next ZZ

Heskey... he did well at leicester.. he partnered mickey in u21 or u18 i think... a successful partnership then

Riise... never hear

Hamann... He was an influential player at newcastle then.. for the german team as well iirc

zhapchit said:
Anelka? but he likes to sulk :bsmilie:
Crouch works hard and has played for England. He has the height and can score and he is young. So why not 7m? SWP already cost 20+m

When Diouf joined us 3 seasons ago...he also worked hard...and has played for Senagel and even in the world cup. and he also can score...and he is young.. So why not at 10m ?

the problem is that how many he can score after joining LFC..

we may have to see for this season...then only to judge him..

I am only giving my view and prediction..

if Baros to go at 7m and could score >15 goals last season with us..and Crouch joining us at 7m...i would expect him to score >15 goals as well. Less than 10..would not justify a price tag of 7m...

Of course...i hope his number of goal at the end of this season will prove me all wrong..

eikin said:
hey, since when did i become so famous that someone need to use my name as nick to post in this forum? :bsmilie:
Ya man... i was wondering as well..

nemesis32 said:
Ya man... i was wondering as well..

i've brought the matter up to the moderators. PM them already. hopefully something gets explained. :confused:

like i said, i prefer to put my name on my works, not flashed all over the forum.

wong_se said:
all facts are correct...but none of them are real big names before joining Liverpool.

And all of them now are the European Champion Player, besides Heskey.

True that Evans let Gerrard played his very first senior game (Houllier was co-maanager at that time)..but it was Houllier to grow him....

Get me a articel/report from media that credit Evan to grow gerrad ?? I dun think u can..unless u write for yourself...

Get me an articel/report from media that credit houllier to grow gerrard ?? there are just too many of them.

Seriously....Houllier won us at least 5 trophies and 3 times Champion League qualification....and he could have all the negative comment on him.....then Sir Bobby Robson must be a joker after he spent more $ with Newcastle that have won nothing.
Not trying to discredit Houllier... i am just pointing out the facts.. It's true about what he had achieve. Same is true that Rafa won CL and finished 36pts behind chelsea.

All the players, like i mentioned, are famous, but not famous to us as we only watch EPL... How many of us know abt Robinho untilrecently? But for mots of the top level coaches, their scouts would have told them...

I dun like the word GROOM. How much credit is Gerrard today can be credited to Houllier? I dunno... I can also say that in all his years in Anfield, Owen did not improve... he did not score more with header, left foot or develop any further when he just break into the team. A player's potential usually is not fulfilled or seen at the beginning, quite naturally. Thus, you cannot say the credit is Houllier... since gerrard turn from a newbie to a first team regular ... Similarly, it will be difficulto to attribute Rafa with the praise if Gerrard becomes a EPOY etc. as he may just happen to be around when Gerrard turns into a TOP player. Gerrard may win EPOY or even WPOY if he joins Chelsea, REal etc,... we never know for sure.

wong_se said:
When Diouf joined us 3 seasons ago...he also worked hard...and has played for Senagel and even in the world cup. and he also can score...and he is young.. So why not at 10m ?

if Baros to go at 7m and could score >15 goals last season with us..and Crouch joining us at 7m...i would expect him to score >15 goals as well. Less than 10..would not justify a price tag of 7m...

Of course...i hope his number of goal at the end of this season will prove me all wrong..

if u give your view and prediction, you are already judging him. I dont think you can set the number of goals he has to score base on the transfer fee :bsmilie:

wong_se said:

For Diouf, i squarely blamed it on Houllier. He should have disciplined Diouf when he crossed the line. Also, since he bought Diouf, Biscan, Diao and Cheyrou.. he shd have at least an idea on where to play them...

The thing i hate abt Houllier is he seems to be clueless... He can't seems to bring out the best in players... Even Heskey, i think he played better for Martin O'neil than for Houllier...

zhapchit said:
if u give your view and prediction, you are already judging him. I dont think you can set the number of goals he has to score base on the transfer fee :bsmilie:
Diouf is never a true goal-scorer.. not even in Senegal. I wonder what is the rationale to sign him then.... I think Houllier prob want to play him as winger but then decide against it...

Let's see how well GH fare this season :D

wong_se said:

I believe abt 50% are from headers... dunno for sure. One thing i know he definitely scored more from open play than any English player... Andrew Johnson only score abt 10 from open play whereas Crouch i recall only have 1 penalty as he's not Saint's main penalty taker (i believe is Phillips...)

zhapchit said:
Let's see how well GH fare this season :D
i doubt he will fare well... Lyon sold off quite a few players and with the ongoing saga abt Essien... sure low morale..

zhapchit said:
it's not just houllier. If you look at some of the manu's players or ex-players.. you will know

You got it all wrong. If you realised, i din mention Diouf.;) These players dun have experience in the Premiership pior to joining the club, so it will not be a fair judgement. Heskey and Kewell have. Morienties also dun have premiership experience but i think he can make it. No club can and will have all successful players. Some sure to be a dud. Its just that i dun quite understand the drastic changes Kewell and Heskey experienced, esp they're very successful with their ex club pior to joining liverpool.

with heskey.. he was asked to play a different role.. so can understand...

but kewell .. :think:

zhapchit said:
with heskey.. he was asked to play a different role.. so can understand...

but kewell .. :think:

Ya, kewell is a BIG mystery. :bsmilie:

Wah Thailand 1-1 Everton. Martin Tyler commentates! :bigeyes: