LFC(4). Long Road ahead but Stevie G's my man!

:bigeyes: Julio the 'Beast' Baptista Run wild in ANFIELD!:bigeyes:

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=212021&cc=5739

This morning I tot i hear the news wrongly, was thinking maybe the REDS lost in penalty shoot out!:sweat:

4 chance 4goals in the first half.
2 were offsides and the linesman mux be arsenal fan in disguise.

the free-kick goal, i no words say.

i think this is the last time we're seeing dudek in goal for Liverpool.

i watched the first half then went back to sleep. too angry to even sleep but i jus want to get away from the game.:(

4 chance 4goals in the first half.
2 were offsides and the linesman mux be arsenal fan in disguise.

the free-kick goal, i no words say.

i think this is the last time we're seeing dudek in goal for Liverpool.

i watched the first half then went back to sleep. too angry to even sleep but i jus want to get away from the game.:(

This is the first time dudek kena blasted by such a no of goals in a match think he must feeling his rice bowl being threaten!:sweat:

during first half, 3-1 down due to reasons unknown... haha! the commentators mentioned that his contract is up at the end of the season. will he still b here next season?

the team played with no passion and no pride. it's a shame. it's such a shame! :thumbsd:
i hope they were booed off the pitch at full time.

is really ashame for liverpool & fans, totally outclassed.
even rematch i still think arsenal win again.

Kudos to Arsenal for a well played match and for coming to a tricky match with such a positive attitude. They thought us how football should be played.

In a way, I'm glad we lost twice in a row to arsenal at Anfield. I think we're getting so confident at home the players just expected to win at home with minimum fuss. Some prematch comments out of anfield sounded just a bit too overconfident to me. I dunno if any of you agree, but my opinion was that in most of our home wins, we won simply becos the other teams sat back and we just kept plugging at them and got a goal or two out of sheer hard work.

And in many matches when we "whitewashed" the opposition like 3-0 vs bolton, we scored one then the other team just fell apart. Bolton held us off well for very long and were caught out by a bit of crouch magic. then they were surprised right at the restart and it was 2-0. but both chances came from crosses from the wings. that's all we do. cross from wing, long ball out of the middle. it's what i call blindfolded football. you don't look, no vision involved in the pass. you know probably someone is in that general direction so you hoof it there. at anfield, opponents tend to sit back and we have more possession and got more balls in. odds are, we get one or two right. away, we had less possession, less balls in, lower chances of scoring. That's all...

Arsenal knows how to score. and they came to anfield to score. We always had problem with man utd and arsenal simply becos they know more than one way to get a goal. they can vary their play, move the ball around at speed and overwhelm our defence with movement and precise passes. You can easily stop a bullet with a wall becos it's only going straight (ie bolton), you cannot stop water with a wall so easily becos it can flow around you if you're not careful. And once we conceed, we are in trouble. confidence is lost. pushing forward, we expose the backline to counter. This is a risk worth taking if we can construct a goal at the other end. But the way we play, we only create half chances, losing the ball quickly and giving the opposition a chance to counter. and we conceed again.......I am not ranting becos we lost. I also said the same when we won. the result does not mask the flaws and perhaps with these defeats, eyes can be opened and someone would actually start working to fix the flaws. i just hope rafa gets all the support he needs.

This is a nice lesson. Rather than losing confidence about anfield, i hope rafa and the lads learn from this. never expect a win handed to you on a platter just becos you're the favourites. and for goodness sake, when you step on a pitch, you need to have a plan. in fact, several plans in case one go wrong. not just do the same thing over and over again, not making straight substitutions where one player just replaces the other in the exact same position, to do the exact same thing (only hopefully do it better or is more lucky).

it's not just the players that failed the fans, but the coaching staff. liverpool is like an orchestra that not only have a mix of top class musicians but also some sub-standard amateurs. Some are hungry for success, others are just happy to be here. Just as importantly, the conductor and the composer didn't turn up so they had no idea what to play or how to play it. Add it all, we have a one-lunged harmonica player still refusing to go (Diao) and taking up space....

This team needs work. But win or lose, i guess we'll be here to celebrate or suffer with them. all i ask is that the commitment from the players and the staff must be 100%. For goodness sake, learn from this. don't just give excuses or blame bad luck. YNWA

There is only 1 way to atone: European Cup ;)

look on the bright side, we know where we are now. i still think we have a better team than we ever had since souness and we simply lack a few quality players (skillful players in particular), some self-belief and many hours work on the training pitch to drill the lads to play proper football (this i especially stress! Frankly, even Reading plays with more ideas and cohesion than we do!!!).

If you ever doubt arsenal, man utd and chelsea are better teams, you're dreaming. I think arsenal in particular would be frightening in a season or two. but we're not light years away. removing the illusion of greatness from the eyes of the players, the coaching staff and the management can hopefully drive them to improve themselves. just be patient and hope we can build a team to match all teams. that takes time....hope springs eternal....

YNWA

look on the bright side, we know where we are now. i still think we have a better team than we ever had since souness and we simply lack a few quality players (skillful players in particular), some self-belief and many hours work on the training pitch to drill the lads to play proper football (this i especially stress! Frankly, even Reading plays with more ideas and cohesion than we do!!!).

If you ever doubt arsenal, man utd and chelsea are better teams, you're dreaming. I think arsenal in particular would be frightening in a season or two. but we're not light years away. removing the illusion of greatness from the eyes of the players, the coaching staff and the management can hopefully drive them to improve themselves. just be patient and hope we can build a team to match all teams. that takes time....hope springs eternal....

YNWA
yeaps.

YOU'll never walk alone!!!! it's a long long walk!!

yo guys, goin to open a new thread soon as this is getting close to the 1000 replies allowed per thread. :thumbsup:

let's finish the season ahead of the GOONERS!!! :bsmilie:

starting with this SATURDAY!!! com'on u REDS!!!:thumbsup:

Kudos to Arsenal for a well played match and for coming to a tricky match with such a positive attitude. They thought us how football should be played.

In a way, I'm glad we lost twice in a row to arsenal at Anfield. I think we're getting so confident at home the players just expected to win at home with minimum fuss. Some prematch comments out of anfield sounded just a bit too overconfident to me. I dunno if any of you agree, but my opinion was that in most of our home wins, we won simply becos the other teams sat back and we just kept plugging at them and got a goal or two out of sheer hard work.

And in many matches when we "whitewashed" the opposition like 3-0 vs bolton, we scored one then the other team just fell apart. Bolton held us off well for very long and were caught out by a bit of crouch magic. then they were surprised right at the restart and it was 2-0. but both chances came from crosses from the wings. that's all we do. cross from wing, long ball out of the middle. it's what i call blindfolded football. you don't look, no vision involved in the pass. you know probably someone is in that general direction so you hoof it there. at anfield, opponents tend to sit back and we have more possession and got more balls in. odds are, we get one or two right. away, we had less possession, less balls in, lower chances of scoring. That's all...

Arsenal knows how to score. and they came to anfield to score. We always had problem with man utd and arsenal simply becos they know more than one way to get a goal. they can vary their play, move the ball around at speed and overwhelm our defence with movement and precise passes. You can easily stop a bullet with a wall becos it's only going straight (ie bolton), you cannot stop water with a wall so easily becos it can flow around you if you're not careful. And once we conceed, we are in trouble. confidence is lost. pushing forward, we expose the backline to counter. This is a risk worth taking if we can construct a goal at the other end. But the way we play, we only create half chances, losing the ball quickly and giving the opposition a chance to counter. and we conceed again.......I am not ranting becos we lost. I also said the same when we won. the result does not mask the flaws and perhaps with these defeats, eyes can be opened and someone would actually start working to fix the flaws. i just hope rafa gets all the support he needs.

This is a nice lesson. Rather than losing confidence about anfield, i hope rafa and the lads learn from this. never expect a win handed to you on a platter just becos you're the favourites. and for goodness sake, when you step on a pitch, you need to have a plan. in fact, several plans in case one go wrong. not just do the same thing over and over again, not making straight substitutions where one player just replaces the other in the exact same position, to do the exact same thing (only hopefully do it better or is more lucky).

it's not just the players that failed the fans, but the coaching staff. liverpool is like an orchestra that not only have a mix of top class musicians but also some sub-standard amateurs. Some are hungry for success, others are just happy to be here. Just as importantly, the conductor and the composer didn't turn up so they had no idea what to play or how to play it. Add it all, we have a one-lunged harmonica player still refusing to go (Diao) and taking up space....

This team needs work. But win or lose, i guess we'll be here to celebrate or suffer with them. all i ask is that the commitment from the players and the staff must be 100%. For goodness sake, learn from this. don't just give excuses or blame bad luck. YNWA

wah what happened? Like ping pong score. I din watch the match, have to catch the rerun and see what when wrong. According to Benitaz, it was 1 strike 1 goal. It seems like Arsenal was a little lucky.

I think Liverpool's reserve squad is way below Arsenal's but Benitaz should have fixed the situation of being out of FA cup. He should have won the game for the fans by using more 1st team members. Actually, I was stunned as I expect Liverpool to beat Arsenal. Like the hokkien saying, 'no fish, prawn also good', no FA cup, League cup also good.

CL is and will be a tough task. Good luck, hope U guys knock out Barcalona. If that happen, I think it will benefit Man Utd. :devil:

I think arsenal in particular would be frightening in a season or two.

Damn it! I'm afraid of them too and Arsene is eyeing Franck Ribery. :bigeyes: And with Chelsea, its too much for a Man Utd fan like me! Beating Chelsea to top spot is already a tough ask and to content with a mighty Arsenal..... They already beat us at old trafford this season! :bigeyes:

I think the key to Arsenal's win at anfield and old trafford is some luck and their counter-attack style. Both Liv and Utd's game are more open and attacking at home, thus allowing Arsenal to use their pace to counter.

wah what happened? Like ping pong score. I din watch the match, have to catch the rerun and see what when wrong. According to Benitaz, it was 1 strike 1 goal. It seems like Arsenal was a little lucky.

I think Liverpool's reserve squad is way below Arsenal's but Benitaz should have fixed the situation of being out of FA cup. He should have won the game for the fans by using more 1st team members. Actually, I was stunned as I expect Liverpool to beat Arsenal. Like the hokkien saying, 'no fish, prawn also good', no FA cup, League cup also good.

CL is and will be a tough task. Good luck, hope U guys knock out Barcalona. If that happen, I think it will benefit Man Utd. :devil:

Damn it! I'm afraid of them too and Arsene is eyeing Franck Ribery. :bigeyes: And with Chelsea, its too much for a Man Utd fan like me! Beating Chelsea to top spot is already a tough ask and to content with a mighty Arsenal..... They already beat us at old trafford this season! :bigeyes:

I think the key to Arsenal's win at anfield and old trafford is some luck and their counter-attack style. Both Liv and Utd's game are more open and attacking at home, thus allowing Arsenal to use their pace to counter.

Arsenal is good. Liverpool simply buang and bang wall when we face them.

i see arsenal being very strong and very INTERNATIONAL in a season or 2.
there're only... 2 english players in the whole arsenal squad..
theo walcott and justin hoyte. the rest are a mix cauldron of top players from the world over.

so is it any true that they are the most hated team in England? yeaps, much more hated than Chelski!! GASP!!!

this season, my only wish, is to end up higher on the EPL standings than them. hehehe

tat can smooth my pain. :bsmilie:

don't condemn arsenal first leh, we also ending up that way. how many of our new players are english? now we're linked with mascherano and another 20-year old argentine. ashley young is the only english player linked with us and apparently watford wants 9mil....cannot blame anyone if you can find better players for lower price. if got half-price discount, you buy from shop selling full price meh?

anyway, no matter what players you have, the coaching is important. arsenal showed exactly how a team should play. no matter which player they put in, they fit in straight away and know what is expected of them. and they can vary their play. often, they just control the game and press the opposition till they score. against us, they sat back and countered. their defense did very well and restricted us to mainly long shots (not difficult to do, i'm afraid) and when they attack, they are quick, creative and incisive. they can find space on the pitch and move well. ever notice the pitch seems more crowded when liverpool has possession and is attacking? I think the arsenal coaches and wenger deserved praise for integrating a united nations team speaking 101 different languages into a team that can play as one.

My dream for LFC is that one day, we would have a youth development policy that can match, if not surpass that, and a team of players who are not just good, but play well as a team and most importantly, proud to wear the red shirt... and hopefully, at least half of them from our own academy.

till then, i guess it's FM2007 for me :bsmilie:

don't condemn arsenal first leh, we also ending up that way. how many of our new players are english? now we're linked with mascherano and another 20-year old argentine. ashley young is the only english player linked with us and apparently watford wants 9mil....cannot blame anyone if you can find better players for lower price. if got half-price discount, you buy from shop selling full price meh?

anyway, no matter what players you have, the coaching is important. arsenal showed exactly how a team should play. no matter which player they put in, they fit in straight away and know what is expected of them. and they can vary their play. often, they just control the game and press the opposition till they score. against us, they sat back and countered. their defense did very well and restricted us to mainly long shots (not difficult to do, i'm afraid) and when they attack, they are quick, creative and incisive. I think the arsenal coaches and wenger deserved praise for integrating a united nations team speaking 101 different languages into a team that can play as one.

My dream for LFC is that one day, we would have a youth development policy that can match, if not surpass that, and a team of players who are not just good, but play well as a team and most importantly, proud to wear the red shirt... and hopefully, at least half of them from our own academy.

till then, i guess it's FM2007 for me :bsmilie:

hmmm...

we got carragher, warnock, finnan, gerrard, guthrie, bellamy, fowler, carson, pennant, crouch...

that's more british than the whole of arsenal combined.
we've paul anderson, jack hobbs, shane o'connor, lee peltier... all coming through the youth squad and reserve squad.

i can safely say that Liverpool is far more British than Arsenal of which i can only name hoyte and walcott...

Arsenal as the most hated club in England is not penned by me... i read it when the newpaper interviewed the new ESPN English female presenter. she said that about the gunners.

how amazing! even though they played the most attractive football in England...

hmmm...

we got carragher, warnock, finnan, gerrard, guthrie, bellamy, fowler, carson, pennant, crouch...

that's more british than the whole of arsenal combined.
we've paul anderson, jack hobbs, shane o'connor, lee peltier... all coming through the youth squad and reserve squad.

i can safely say that Liverpool is far more British than Arsenal of which i can only name hoyte and walcott...

Arsenal as the most hated club in England is not penned by me... i read it when the newpaper interviewed the new ESPN English female presenter. she said that about the gunners.

how amazing! even though they played the most attractive football in England...

:sweat:
What to do...
Pennant and David Bently are all Englishman who came thru the youth policy but were sold due to off-field probs. Wenger, being a strict and disciplined person could not tolerate such nonsense from his players.
Another Englishmen Wenger groomed was CAshley. Look what happened... :rolleyes:

To arsene, brit players = Expensive + alot of off the field probs.

So boh bian, ayia Singapore copy arsenal.
Look at our table tennis, badminton team.
How many are born in Singapore :p ?

Relax bros, it's a ruse by Benitez. Let Arsenal play in all competitions, later suffer in the Premiership so we can have better chances of finishing in the top four. With less matches to play, can focus on Champions League. Our form has not been good, so less games may be better too. At the end of the season, Benitez will off load BIG time. :p

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark
At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark

Walk on through the wind
Walk on through the rain
Tho' your dreams be tossed and blown
Walk on, walk on
With hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

:sweat:
What to do...
Pennant and David Bently are all Englishman who came thru the youth policy but were sold due to off-field probs. Wenger, being a strict and disciplined person could not tolerate such nonsense from his players.
Another Englishmen Wenger groomed was CAshley. Look what happened... :rolleyes:

To arsene, brit players = Expensive + alot of off the field probs.

So boh bian, ayia Singapore copy arsenal.
Look at our table tennis, badminton team.
How many are born in Singapore :p ?

singapore team... haa
but then again, spore is made up of immigrants from the very beginning. so...

but to be honest, i can't name up to 5 spore national footballers. i know indra, lionel lewis, precious...

hahaha

tas abt it!:bsmilie: