Lensbaby on Infrared ~ alternative on alternative. [limwhow]

Lensbaby on... Vesak Day

Here are just some shots taken with the same set up ~ 535nm IR on Lensbaby Control Freak with the f/4.0 aperture disc.
Shot today... Vesak Day 17th May 2011.

The girls

5730490510_518a0ac4b9_z.jpg

The Dragon with the Golden nose

5730581004_f04d3ea769_z.jpg

The Lion who was having a flu...

5730583504_9bcd11d876_z.jpg

Er... my apologies... was just having fun here with the post processing... :sweat::embrass:

Lensbaby from Roof Garden, Orchard Central

First time high up on top of the Roof Garden of Orchard Central.
Didn't intend to be there but stumbled upon this lovely vantage point and decided to take the zig zag escalator all the way up.
'Twas a wonderful wonderful discovery.

5730264653_ab6f8dae7b_z.jpg

Similarly shot from atop Roof Garden of Orchard Central.
Screwed on the 1.6x Tele adapter for the Lensbaby Control Freak.

5730262009_52f40d1203_z.jpg

5730810730_310b0b6d43_z.jpg

The distributor of Lensbaby should have given you a big discount.
This is a good advertisement ;)

You are indeed right... my 24mm TS-E is indeed a very very sharp piece of glass... yet, although it tilts, it does not reproduce that the Lensbaby does either.... the difference (apart from the shift function) is that the TS lens gives a plane of focus (which I can rotate)... the Lensbaby gives a "Sweet spot"... I do like the effect and think a lens that is readily in hand is going to be worth more than a sharp piece of glass that's always at home.....

Would you know if the new Lensbaby Composer Pro with the Sweet 35 optic is available in Singapore yet and how much it might cost? I may pick up one of these "babies" when I go back end of this month ;) heheh

Thank you very much for your encouragement, Kay Burn Lim!
I personally found the TSE-24 (Canon) to be a little cumbersome to use. Of course, my slowness is definitely because of my inexperience with the lovely T/S lens. But I found the Lensbaby Control Freak more spontaneous and smaller and easier to carry around. I realised that in terms of sharpness and image quality, there is a definite difference. But nothing that cannot be overcome through post processing.

Edit: after going out for a while and coming back, I realize what I said about '.. Overcome through post processing...' part was not entirely correct. What a T/S lens can achieve in image quality and perspective control cannot be completely replicated by neither post processing nor a Lensbaby. Each holds it's own rights.

Wow wow wow... *__* no need to say anything get poisoned le..

Bro, you taking in students or not? :bsmilie:

dont worry bon bon!

sifu limwhow will be beri happy to take you in de... LOL

come join us for IR lah!

SurrealDreamWalker said:
dont worry bon bon!

come join us for IR lah!

:bsmilie: another sifu.. Hahaha. When is the next one.. Can I join? >__<

5730583504_9bcd11d876_z.jpg

haha..this one damn cute! :bsmilie:

Superb shots dr.!

You are indeed right... my 24mm TS-E is indeed a very very sharp piece of glass... yet, although it tilts, it does not reproduce that the Lensbaby does either.... the difference (apart from the shift function) is that the TS lens gives a plane of focus (which I can rotate)... the Lensbaby gives a "Sweet spot"... I do like the effect and think a lens that is readily in hand is going to be worth more than a sharp piece of glass that's always at home.....

Would you know if the new Lensbaby Composer Pro with the Sweet 35 optic is available in Singapore yet and how much it might cost? I may pick up one of these "babies" when I go back end of this month ;) heheh

Ah... the last I checked the Lensbaby Composer Pro not in yet. I am afraid you may need to check with Cathay Photo when you are back in Singapore.
This Lensbaby Comporse Pro, as my good friend SurrealDreamWalker informed me, is really good as there is an aperture ring to adjust the aperture.
Thus, no more losing of the aperture disc... haha..

Haha, bonrya... thank you for your wows!
I am still learning... still learning...
We can certainly share our experiences, like what many of the IR sifus have showed me... and I am indebted to many of our good IR shooters here in the forum.

dont worry bon bon!

come join us for IR lah!

Yah.. you are right, SurrealDreamWalker. I am sure the IR forum would love to have more new members!

haha..this one damn cute! :bsmilie:

Superb shots dr.!
Ah, Blackgoddess!
Thank you so much for coming by, and for giving me your endorsement!
My humble shots, my humble shots!

A slightly cooler tone...

Time to change the PP to that of a slightly cooler tonality.
As we stood on the Escalator up Orchard Central, we looked back and looked down and Wow! The people on the ground were like ants...

5732678861_de908efef2_z.jpg

Dr Lim - especially after your pp... now lagi more like ants liao :)
very nice pictures.. waiting to see more leh

A slightly cooler tone...

Time to change the PP to that of a slightly cooler tonality.
As we stood on the Escalator up Orchard Central, we looked back and looked down and Wow! The people on the ground were like ants...

5732678861_de908efef2_z.jpg

Dr Lim - especially after your pp... now lagi more like ants liao :)
very nice pictures.. waiting to see more leh

Wah... many thanks, Lydialee! Many thanks!
Aaahhh... Ok I try to use similar tone of PP...

Peranakan Place

I thought I'd use back the same cooler tone to PP this one...

5733741859_6a375a342d_z.jpg

Absolutely amazing!! :thumbsup::thumbsup: That is the reason how I got IR virus but neither my composition nor my PP is anywhere near your standard, not even close to your toe I guess! :sweat: I will definitely have to learn from you one day! You planning to have a coaching session or 2 any time soon bro limwhow:D?

Larlarloo, you are modest!
Thank you for coming by and giving me your thumbsups!
I believe every shooter has his/her own preference. Some are totally into Lensbaby and Tilt-shift lenses because of the selective focussing. But others find that too much blur make them uncomfortable. Just like IR photos, certain shooters prefer to keep their IR photos as unprocessed and as little colour-changed as possible, while others (including myself) are wild creatures when it comes to colours.
I am merely a student learning the great work of art from all my sifus around here. Every time I see their works, every time they talk to me, I learn something new. That is why I like the forum so much.