Leica M8 woes !!

milaurie

Just got a preowned Leica M8 over the weekend. The set looks and feels like new. I tested it in the shop with my vintage summaron 35mm f2.8 lens and pix turned out excellent (sharp and properly exposed.)

After I reached home, (as you can image), I further tested it with all other lenses that I have, Leica, VC, canon and nikkor. Guess what, other than that same summaron 35/2.8 and another VC 21/4 (M-mount), all other lenses show obvious back-focus problem. The RF does NOT line up at infinity (not even at 500m). Conclusion: RF horizontal alignment is out of whack?!! BTW, all my lenses have no focusing issue with my M6 classic.

While the low light shots look perfectly OK, pix taken outdoor with strong sun light shows quite a few spots (dust spots I suppose) on the sky.

Here are my questions to the M8 seniors:

Are these problems common to M8? Where do you get them fixed other than sending the camera to Leica Germany? (I was told that turn-around time for Germany can be months so I am hesitant to send it in.)

BTW, the camera is still under warranty (purchase date was late last year.) S/N 31xxxxx. The shutter count recorded is 4506 shots.

TIA for any advice.

laurie

I don't think you'll need to send all the way to Solms just to get the VF properly aligned. There should be some bros here who can shed light on what can be done.

I'm no M8 senior but there are several lenses, usually the big aperture ones, that have tendency to have focus issue, notably Noctilux, Summilux 75, 50asph, 35asph. Most other lenses seems to be ok even LTM ones from the 1950's.
Maybe it's a good idea to test your lens with another M8 body. I would not recommend adjusting the RF yourself as I was told these adjustment are sealed in the M8 and any attempt to break the seal will void your warranty. Go to Schmidt Marketing & speak with Andrew. Bring some of yours lenses and test it with him. They may have another M8 to test with as well.
Good luck.

I have an M8 which my colleague is trying to sell me. I have this focus problem with a 50mm ASPH 1.4 summilux ( version before the ROM contacts ). In fact the 50mm would sometimes not 'lock' into place. I have the same focus problem with the 75mm lux. It's should be stated that I have the same 'cannot be mounted' problem between my 50 lux ASPH and my M7, but absolutely no problem with 50 lux and the MP (latest version ). The M8 and the 50 and 75 lux are now back in Germany. It is not advisable to do any self adjustment.

Maybe it's a good idea to test your lens with another M8 body. I would not recommend adjusting the RF yourself as I was told these adjustment are sealed in the M8 and any attempt to break the seal will void your warranty. Go to Schmidt Marketing & speak with Andrew. Bring some of yours lenses and test it with him. They may have another M8 to test with as well.
Good luck.

Yes, I totally agree with Gommy. Its not advisable to risk your warranty to attempt to DIY when you are unsure where the fault lies to begin with :nono: The leica guys in Solms would be the best ppl for the job, furthermore your camera will get a once over to check for any other fault and perhaps even get the up to present spec upgrading since yours seems to be an early serial no. unit. ;) Best is to visit Andrew without further delay and not 'waste' your warranty period waiting since it would take about 2 months for them to fix it.

I did have this problem when using my lens on another M8 but it was perfectly fine with mine:dunno:

I'm no M8 senior but there are several lenses, usually the big aperture ones, that have tendency to have focus issue, notably Noctilux, Summilux 75, 50asph, 35asph. Most other lenses seems to be ok even LTM ones from the 1950's.
Good luck.
Thanks gommy for the kind advice, BUT, it comes 10 hours too late for me.

After posting those questions here, google->RFF->2mm Allen wrench (damn!)->DIY RF adjustment, and 3 hours and 300+ test shots later, I was one happy fool:angel:

All my lenses now focuses properly on the M8, from closest range (0.7m to 1m) to infinity (distance light spots). Even the 75mm summilux and 50mm summilux are spot on even wide open.

Then I read gommy warning about warranty void!! So is my M8's warranty voided liao?? MAMAMIA!!! (come to think of it, seal? what wat seal? there aint no seal there when I went in :dunno: )

Anyway, no regret.

laurie

thats one brave guy... *respect*

im a very happy M8 owner too ... bought it used from Ben photo (peninsula)

sad bit is my charger wasnt working... using one on loan by a very very nice fellow M8 owner... (thanks doc!)

thats one brave guy... *respect*

im a very happy M8 owner too ... bought it used from Ben photo (peninsula)

sad bit is my charger wasnt working... using one on loan by a very very nice fellow M8 owner... (thanks doc!)

Alright now I know why that very very nice fellow had to borrow mine, ha ha ;p

Thanks gommy for the kind advice, BUT, it comes 10 hours too late for me.

After posting those questions here, google->RFF->2mm Allen wrench (damn!)->DIY RF adjustment, and 3 hours and 300+ test shots later, I was one happy fool:angel:

All my lenses now focuses properly on the M8, from closest range (0.7m to 1m) to infinity (distance light spots). Even the 75mm summilux and 50mm summilux are spot on even wide open.

Then I read gommy warning about warranty void!! So is my M8's warranty voided liao?? MAMAMIA!!! (come to think of it, seal? what wat seal? there aint no seal there when I went in :dunno: )

Anyway, no regret.

laurie

Well glad to hear you took the risk and it turned out fine for you.. now perhaps you have become the M8 senior in this respect..:bsmilie:

Haha.. ignorance is bliss... actually I was very chu'aa :sweatsm:

Laurie....

Don't tell me you bought the M8 from P&G? :sweatsm:

If a brand new camera shutter count is 4506 something is fishy.

Haha nvm lah.. I don't really care about its history. I has already recovered from its sickness :angel:
It works perfectly now and I am very pleased with it. (easily 90% hit rate with the 75 summilux now.) will send it in for sensor cleaning one of these days.

more shooting with all my favourite M lenses...

cheers,

Laurie

hahaha... I know why you are laughing... :cool:

Wah! don't anyhow say hor. I was sweating. Not laughing. But I passed the camera to P&G 'as it is'.

I don't owe the camera the full history. There was someone ahead of me too. I guess I don't notice any of the problems because I am always shooting indoors and people. So the focusing distances are always in the 'safe zone'.

aiya, buy used cam like dat one lah. I really understand. that's why I when first found the near-range OOF problem, I did not even go back to the shop. I knew he was not aware of it.

Just one last question for the previous owner(s) - would Schmidt accept warranty repair when the warranty card was not mailed within 14 days of purchase? (original purchase invoice is available though.)

TIA.

laurie