KM 7D shutter problem

My 5D got the same problem too.

Noticed tt 1st shot always come out black & hang after not using it for some days but cam will work fine again after restarting. Somehow problem doesn't exist when I use it everyday. Sent it to the now-defunct KM svc ctr in Feb to change some shutter parts but when it's "fixed" my shutter button somehow got stucked (dunno why) & was in a real hurry so KM exchanged mine with a "new" body (which I dun really think is new cos I notice slight dust spot in the viewfinder rite fr the start & the picture no. started fr 900x instead of 000x for my 1st few shots). I was told by the then-KM staff during the exchange tt my "new" body won't hv the same problem again, but then recently I noticed the same shutter problem has resurfaced. Hmmm... :think:

I think I have had this problem once of twice... but in my case I just carry on... I think it has to do with the shutter mechanism not reacting to the commands... or the CCD not ready... anyway it works after the first shot I dun care lor... and I usually do a test shot before I actually start shooting so won't miss anything...:D

My KM 5D shutter seem to be stuck at 4sec. Reset to factory default problem disappeared. I think there may be some problem with the firmware.

smtan24 said:
My KM 5D shutter seem to be stuck at 4sec. Reset to factory default problem disappeared. I think ther may be some problem with the firmware.

that's starting to sound very plausible indeed, with all these new input. like TME, i can live with the first dead shot, although its annoying that a fine piece of electronics requires a jumpstart like a 1930s car... between that and getting some refurb unit with God-knows-what other problems, i'd rather live with this unless Sony is willing to replace the shutter on the spot *daydream* :bsmilie:

has anyone heard new rumours of a new firmware release yet?

Think the problem can confirm by firmware, esp if u guys set to create new folder by date, and u guys format your memory card outside the camera, meaning windows, etc...

yesterday i was down with my camera, keep shooting black pics - shutter sound weird, then freeze... restart, same... until i format the mem card... solve my problem...

for my case, i tried format using the camera, not using the camera, using my pc, my laptop even I change cf card... still hangs.

nsalman said:
for my case, i tried format using the camera, not using the camera, using my pc, my laptop even I change cf card... still hangs.

should b hanging today... ;p

no lah... sent the camera for service already... so now no hang, can consider hung... :confused:

If it's a shutter problem as some said ........ then you can try "seasoning" (loosen up) the shutter by taking a few shots in Bulb mode ......... problem should go away. :)

Zenten said:
If it's a shutter problem as some said ........ then you can try "seasoning" (loosen up) the shutter by taking a few shots in Bulb mode ......... problem should go away. :)

Why does it have to be bulb mode?

meanstreak said:
Why does it have to be bulb mode?

Because in Bulb mode you open and shut the shutter extensively at will ......

Tried this when my 5D had the same problem since then problems disappeared ...... since then I also sold off my 5D, but I never heard the new buyer complain ........ :bsmilie:

Hey Guys,

I never bothered to enter this thread until today. That is, until ... ... TRAGEDY STRUCK!!!

Occasion: RSAF Open House 2006
Time: 10:44am

The night before, gave my CCD a clean up. Everything worked fine after that.

UNTIL minutes before the Aerial Display.

I was shooting several photos to do a stitched panorama using my Tamron 24-135. Click. Cliiick. Cliiiiick. Cliiiiiick. Cliiiiiiick. Weird sound! the shutter speed SOUNDED like it was slowing down, although I was holding down the AELock Button!

Looked at the camera. Raised it to my eye again. Pointed at a row of Fighters. Fired. Nothing happened. (Only the anti-shake indicator was blinking. weird.)

Released shutter. Refocussed. Fired again. Nothing happened.

Turned camera off. Turned it on again. !!!! what's that GRINDING SOUND?

Took Lens off, reattached it. No more grinding sound.

Changed lens. Restarted camera. GRINDING SOUND again!!!!

I shall not go into any more details of my ordeal. Suffice to say, I stood at the top row of the grandstand with my 5D and Tokina 100-300 f4 hanging around my neck - but couldn't take a single photo - while my sister and brother rattled away with their P&S's.

I finally took out the battery. Camera started to work again after 4 hours of rest, but several shots later, the same thing happened (to my relief).

5D now at Sony Service Center. Only 25 days of warranty left.

Technician called me this morning to say that he could not duplicate the defect stated in the report, so i decribed the problem to him, and he said he'll probably change the anti-shake mechanism. He (Mr Seah) was very nice and patience.

I recall reading of this problem in the dpreview forums. Once the anti-shake conks out, camera will stop firing. Mr Seah asked me very specific questions that pertained to this problem and it seems to be the problem with my camera. the blinking anti-shake indicator (viewfinder), grinding sound on start-up, etc.

Advise: according to Mr Seah, this problem is not common, but will happen when camera is subjected to shock. I didn't subject mine to shock, but problem still occurred. So please take care of your camera.

Oooo... Mr Seah still with Sony... good! :thumbsup:

Hmm... didn't know that the anti-shake mechanism is so fragile... but I have been pretty rough with my camera and it's been ok... using a 7D... I don't knock it hard of course but I work it rather hard at times...

yes, he said that he was previously from Minolta.
TME said:
Oooo... Mr Seah still with Sony... good! :thumbsup:

Hmm... didn't know that the anti-shake mechanism is so fragile... but I have been pretty rough with my camera and it's been ok... using a 7D... I don't knock it hard of course but I work it rather hard at times...

It's Mr. Sia (not Seah). And yes, he is very good to work with. Nice chap.

sorry to OT abit. Some mentioned that it might be due to firmware, well, is there a way to update the firmware then. mine was 1.00v, 7D. anyway to update and from where, if any? can download from any website and how? sorry pretty newbie here. :bsmilie:

Johnston said:
sorry to OT abit. Some mentioned that it might be due to firmware, well, is there a way to update the firmware then. mine was 1.00v, 7D. anyway to update and from where, if any? can download from any website and how? sorry pretty newbie here. :bsmilie:

for the firmware
for the instructions

fastshot said:
It's Mr. Sia (not Seah). And yes, he is very good to work with. Nice chap.
Thanks for the correction.

Yup. 2 thumbs up for Mr Sia :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
He's really good.