[khairi] - A Photo A Day

The_Cheat said:
Maybe like a fish, the paws of the cat will open when it dies...
Or maybe you brought the carcass around to pose them for picture (like choy does for his fishes).
Or maybe you'd just took a cat out of the fridge and let it slowly walk into the middle of the street...

just wait till furry hears this! :o

shchow said:
but, khairi, i think your picture is a success by judging the way it attracts our attentions! :bsmilie: :thumbsup:
hahaha...thk you if you really think so.

foxtwo said:
just wait till furry hears this! :o
hmmm...what ever you do....just DONT tell her abt my thread lor...

The_Cheat said:
Maybe like a fish, the paws of the cat will open when it dies...
Or maybe you brought the carcass around to pose them for picture (like choy does for his fishes).
Or maybe you'd just took a cat out of the fridge and let it slowly walk into the middle of the street...
hahaha...that's unker Choy's vicious ideas...posing a dead fish was the BEST story!!!!

Angelzhou: Sunbathing in the middle of singapore?! hahaha...wondercat leh.

090206 - Something fr Lil India part 2.
Untitled-75.jpg

Untitled-67.jpg

Untitled-70.jpg

Untitled-65.jpg

Untitled-72.jpg

nice series. khairi! :thumbsup:

may i know what focal length that you used to shot these pictures (candids)?

shchow said:
nice series. khairi! :thumbsup:

may i know what focal length that you used to shot these pictures (candids)?
if i can remember it's:
so...u can guess how close or how far i was to those ppl i shoot.
for the last pict, the mother of the child even said thank you to me,
and i replied with a big smile.

khairi said:
if i can remember it's:
so...u can guess how close or how far i was to those ppl i shoot.
for the last pict, the mother of the child even said thank you to me,
and i replied with a big smile.
wow. are you talking about 35mm standard? that's close!
:think: did you ask for permission first before you do such shots on people on the street? i realized you have plenty of candid shots. Very nice!

I even got scolded once while attempting some street shots... :( even if I was not focusing at them... :cry: I guess it must be my look! :cry:

khairi said:

Untitled-67.jpg

Too clean, else it would be superb. Is there any possibility to age a digital camera prematurely? :bsmilie:

shchow said:
wow. are you talking about 35mm standard? that's close!
:think: did you ask for permission first before you do such shots on people on the street? i realized you have plenty of candid shots. Very nice!

I even got scolded once while attempting some street shots... :( even if I was not focusing at them... :cry: I guess it must be my look! :cry:
that's 35mm equivalent on my dslr. cos i use my 18-55 lense most of the time now.
But somehow, i'd shoot ard the 18-24 range of the lense, and i dunno why.

permission? so far...i think i asked a few times only...most of the times, i never.

dont worry if you ever get into any bad experiences. take it with a big smile and move out,
BUT make sure u got the shot lah. What u got to do is just respect their private space
no matter how close you are from them. I mean, if yuo respect them, they'll respect you.
As long as you know what photo you are taking. A good smile will be the first thing u should
work on. It'll make you be approachable to any stranger...well...but i dunno what's happen
if you smile to a gangster lah...hahaha.

I too have a few bad experinces...but i dont care. There's always a way out to questions
like "Why u taking my photo?" "Why u take photo?" "Where are you from?" n bla bla bla

One other trick to taking close shots of strangers is to understand how ppl behave...there'll b
a time that you can simply take a few shots without them knowing...That's when they are
mostly themselves. Seriously, those are quick instances...but there are possibilities
tat it might occur again if you missed it.

BUT, if you ask, and they say "OK lor...take my foto"...dont just take their foto
and buzz off, move in closer and closer and interact with them as u take their foto.
hehehe...just like a friendly approachable paparazzi!!!

have fun shooting ya. :)

The_Cheat said:
Too clean, else it would be superb. Is there any possibility to age a digital camera prematurely? :bsmilie:
hmmm...u got me thinking...how to age a digital image and make it look like film?

thanks for the tips... khairi. :)

i'll try. In fact, I always thought that taking a candid is better to do with long range lens. that allow you to shoot without people knowing. but, sometimes doesn't feel very "bright" doing that... ;p ........... plus, i still don't have a long range yet.

no prob...those tips are really not tips...but just the way i do my shoot.
so i share with you how i'd do the shoot most of the time...it's not
always rite.

there's a person in pbase, i totally forgot her web link, who does street shooting
using a 300mm f4L usm...and really nice too. That's how she approach
street shooting.

khairi said:
hmmm...u got me thinking...how to age a digital image and make it look like film?

How to age a digital image... a question of time? :bsmilie:

Frankly, I'm no digital guru. So don't look at me for answer. Shoot with your XA and scan scan scan lor! Or you could try my pen.

khairi said:

Untitled-70.jpg

Like this one cos of the expression and mood

Untitled-87.jpg

"Kallang Pudding Rd"

khairi said:

Untitled-72.jpg

i really like your street shots khairi!

these will be very very precious glimpses of Singapore life (life in singapore for singaporeans and foreigners alike)

i particularly like this one

Thks Nupro and Stereobox.

er...yo Nupro, u fr CCK ah, so by chance you know shchow? he fr CCk also mah.
me just asking ... in fact i dunno him... so i thought you might know him. :)

i think...i'd post some non human fotos too...i dont really like them but
for sharing, why not...BUT...mayb post later lah...like nx yr? hmmm...nx nx yr...haha

oh btw...i really dunno when's zaren's birthday...so here's a photo present for him...

HAPPY BIRTHDAY UNKER Z!
Untitled-258.jpg

"Toa Payoh"