Just to share here what I found at Sitex

This is a case of miscommunication between personnels in dealing with information of the pricing OR due to commission wise, they try their best in getting more money. This common la.

IMO I think Emjay having problem with handling stocks.Maybe thanks to ever so wonderful shipment delays or unfulfilled qty by supplier. facing these problem at work also.Damn peck chek!

The shipment did not come as per our order qty. The stocks for Sitex also arrived late. On Friday evening (26/11) and Monday evening (29/11).

It will be a separate issue for Pre-Order & Sitex.

For Sitex, the booth needs the stock to fulfil the customers too. 10pcs is meant for Sitex.
The booth has only 2pcs left.

Another 5pcs will be coming on Monday evening, 29/11. These 5pcs will have to be purchase at the booth and collection will be on Tuesday, 30/11. We will inform the location to collect once the payment is made.

For your pre-order, you just need to wait for the next shipment. Be patient.

Your kind understaning is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Patrick,

How would you like it if you put a deposit down for the latest Mercedes car from Cycle & Carriage on the understanding that it would come in early to mid Nov and when that time comes around, you are told that the stock from Germany has not come in.

Then, in Late Nov during a Car Show you find out that they actually have 5 of the units available to the first 5 customers that turn up at their booth and buy it, and they can get it immediately?

And when you ask why is it that people can get it before you although you have paid a deposit you are told "depost is deposit, car show is car show". How would you feel about Cycle & Carriage then?!!

I do not mind being patient and understanding if indeed you treat your pre-order customers with some respect and not make a mockery of the pre-order. But you do not.

People have paid good money down as a pre-order for the 18-135mm lens and they are lower in priority to those who have not and walk into your Sitex booth?

Is this how you treat your pre-order customers? If so, then you are really disrespectful of the people you have taken money from (as a pre-order) and who now rank lower in priority to walk-in customers at Sitex.

Telling me Sitex and pre-order are separate issues is absolutely nonsense! It is a poorly veiled facade of your lack of priority given to your pre-order customers!

Your explanation is wholly unsatisfactory and you certainly have undermined anyone's trust in making any pre-orders in the future. God knows who else will have priority over your pre-order customers?!!

At the very least, i expect you or Ronald to revert to me as soon as possible on my repeated queries on whether i will get the lens before Christmas. I have been ignored despite repeated emails to Emjay on this. I will need the lens before i travel and if you cannot deliver the lens before Christmas, Emjay must at least have the decency to tell me so well in advance so that i can look for a third party lens as an alternative (and of course pay me back my pre-order deposit).

Please, enough of the shoddy customer service and unconvincing excuses. You are undermining great products by doing this.

As an onlooker, i think you should still continue to contact Emjay directly over the phone, email, or pm.

Posting on a public forum would probably do more harm than good. Better to keep this between yourselves.

As an onlooker, i think you should still continue to contact Emjay directly over the phone, email, or pm.

Posting on a public forum would probably do more harm than good. Better to keep this between yourselves.

i respectfully beg to differ. i would maintain that this is something that is informative and useful to the public domain.

It would warn potential buyers of the way Emjay is treating their pre-order customers.

I totally agree with you on this, as this would alert us better that pre-order really doesn't mean anything. Better think twice if I'm gonna pre-order with the seller.
Thanks for your sharing.

I do believe this thread should not degenerate into a complaint thread.
Given the surge in interest in Pentax's new line-up of cameras and lenses both locally and elsewhere, Pentax has been struggling to keep up with worldwide demand, particularly this holiday season. I do believe that Emjay's allotment from Pentax thus far have either been delayed or unfulfilled, which makes it a added challenge for them to fulfill orders. So I do think we need to cut them some slack as they have been busy at Sitex this week. While I can understand the frustration some of you may experience in not getting your gear on time, I do agree with reyreina that this matter should be best resolved by direct communication with the interested parties rather than being posted here. Finger pointing and recriminations on a public forum is counter-productive for all concerned. Let's not sully the fine reputation that we Pentaxians are a friendly lot.

i'm sorry but i cannot agree with you and i hope you respect that. i see your point of view but a potential Pentax buying public needs to know what is going on (quite apart from my wanting individual answers and not getting it). Whatever allotment issues there are, there could have been much more done to honour the fact that people have put money down as pre-orders and they are shoved down in priority. Letting the public domain know about this will at least help them make informed decisions when buying with emjay. Conversely, when less than acceptable service standards are practiced and brought out into the open, it gives some like emjay a chance to improve. keeping it behind closed doors will not guarantee either objective is met.

I do feel that GSiGuy does have a rather valid point.

In addition, you are a bit too quick to say that this thread is degenerating into a complaint thread. GSiGuy has brought up his concerns in a very polite way, and it will be definitely of public(mine, at least:bsmilie:) interest to find out what Emjay's take on the matter is. It is not like he is demanding a lens immediately. He is just asking for a response as Emjay has responded here but has not replied to his emails, as he claims. Therefore, you also cannot blame him for not contacting Emjay directly as well.

I wholeheartedly agree that Emjay has been extremely busy with sitex, but for your point of having a limit stock and a difficulty to fulfill preorders, while it might have a bearing on Emjay's decision whether to display them at sitex or to give them those who preordered, it should not be used to dismiss GSiGuy's concerns in such a manner. Truth be told, he is neither finger-pointing nor being as aggressive as you have made him out to be.

Clubsnap is a wonderfully friendly place that i thoroughly enjoy. However, do we need to hide all greviences behind a farcially friendly demeanour all the time? What if there are potentially reasonable concerns raised by reasonable people in a reasonable manner? Is our "reputation as a friendly lot" so important that it outweighs the legitimate concerns of a member who has expressed his views in such a candid but polite manner, and to the extent that in order to keep up with this image we cannot accept a bit of beneficial discussion on negative things?

I have thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated the services of Emjay over the past year, and I'll be pretty interested to know what their reply is. Whatever it is, I'm pretty sure that GsiGuy probably be satisfied when he gets a reply, and he will accept the explanation. After all, if it is part of Emjay's plan all the while to reserve 10 sets for Sitex, pre-orders or not, there is nothing we can fault them with. Nevertheless, i'm merely trying to inject some objectivity in this thread where a consumer simply wants some answers, before more people are too quick to turn against him. :bsmilie:

Kindly follow the company's name that issued you the receipt.

Alamak i kanna conned! i bought the k-X $799 then now i see the K-R selling for body $699 What kind of sales is this? Pentax the brand is good but the people selling the goods CMI ;(

Yeah, I got my *istDs body alone for $1550sgd then now I see the K-R selling for body $699! What kind of sales is this? :bsmilie:

i'm sorry but i cannot agree with you and i hope you respect that. i see your point of view but a potential Pentax buying public needs to know what is going on (quite apart from my wanting individual answers and not getting it). Whatever allotment issues there are, there could have been much more done to honour the fact that people have put money down as pre-orders and they are shoved down in priority. Letting the public domain know about this will at least help them make informed decisions when buying with emjay. Conversely, when less than acceptable service standards are practiced and brought out into the open, it gives some like emjay a chance to improve. keeping it behind closed doors will not guarantee either objective is met.

I understand how frustrate you are w/ this case, I'd feel pissed off too if I were you. Based on what I read here, Emjay informed you that the lens wouldn't be in stock until next month, but that's before they got the stock in, which happened to be a day before the SITEX. To make the SITEX event more interesting and attractive, they decided to put some 18135 lenses there at the show along w/ some other new cameras/lenses. Which is also understandable.

Since they have the lens in stock now, why not give them a call directly? You know how bad they are w/ replying emails ;) Some of my emails were even filtered into 'junk' mail folder when I tried to reach them!

Emjay has been trying their best to promote Pentax, and they've been doing a great job, much better than all previous Pentax distributors. We have to give them the credit. I'm sure they'd handle your case properly, and I can guarantee you'd have the lens before X'mas (there are plenty of stock coming in next month, that's what I heard).

I somehow got a different view on this incident .

1st , u r right on the point of pre-order .
2nd , from the way we know how emjay work , they had never mis-treat us pentaxian .

So what happen ? Well my guess (only guess) is , this show is co-organize with Bally photo.

You might had pre-order from emjay for Yr lens. How abt the dealer who is organizing the sitex? They might had pre-order 10-20 sets from emjay before u .

If that's the case , I dun think it's our right to question emjay how their dealer deal with their stock . Neither it's right to ask them to reserve the stock for emjay customer .

Knowing how emjay work , I believe they will sure give u a good and on this whole incident as they always like keep their customer happy . Hope this issue can be resolve fast and see u in coming outing :)

Ah so it has become a complaint thread. Wooop Deee Dooo~

I somehow got a different view on this incident .

1st , u r right on the point of pre-order .
2nd , from the way we know how emjay work , they had never mis-treat us pentaxian .

So what happen ? Well my guess (only guess) is , this show is co-organize with Bally photo.

You might had pre-order from emjay for Yr lens. How abt the dealer who is organizing the sitex? They might had pre-order 10-20 sets from emjay before u .

If that's the case , I dun think it's our right to question emjay how their dealer deal with their stock . Neither it's right to ask them to reserve the stock for emjay customer .

Knowing how emjay work , I believe they will sure give u a good and on this whole incident as they always like keep their customer happy . Hope this issue can be resolve fast and see u in coming outing :)

No doubt Emjay did an excellent job in promoting the Pentax brand, but some of us jump on the bandwagon even when the name Pentax is more associated with a woman sanitary acccessories rather than a camera brand. Pre-ordering shows the support hardcore Pentaxian we are.

In any event if the Sitec booth was co-organise by Bally, no issue would have risen if the posting on the 18-135mm was by Bally themselves, no one is going to bother with what the dealer does. The direct posting was done by someone from Emjay, which some of us have pre-ordered the item with them, discontentment is only natural.

Anyway, the promotion for the K-x was way before the Sitec even started, but the 18-135mm is only on the 2nd last day of event, do they still need to release the lens to spice up their booth when they already have show stoppers such as the K-r, K-5 and the 35mm lens? Not forgetting the other arsenal of lenses they made available at good prices.

This thread will not lead to any degeneration nor into a complaint thread if the rest don't try to suggest any answer for Emjay, if they have a valid reason let's just wait for them to reply, we will not think any lesser of them. Just my 2 cents as one of those that felt discontentment after pre-ordering.

How is this less than acceptable? You paid deposit based on the understanding that stocks are limited, price is not confirmed and delivery timing is unknown.

In return for this, you are given assurance that you will be able to collect from the comfort of their office when stock arrives.

I wouldn't compare with those who bought from sitex. Having to squeeze, push, fight and endure such indignities. I'll rather pay and wait.

Here's the thing: you tell me that you're angry over a vintage smc A 50mm f1.2, like the one Frank is selling, I can understand. But relax lah. It's only a mass produced superzoom.

Why kick up a public fuss over something so minor?

I think GSiGuy reason to be pissed is perfectly understandable. Preorders should be fulfilled before new sales, especially if a deposit was put down. But if stocks had already been allocated for the Sitex show before the preorders, then I can understand why Emjay did not fulfill GSi's preorder.

At the end of the day, whether it was Emjay's intention to earn more $ and generate more buzz for pentax at the expense of the people who preordered, or whether they had allocated stocks for Sitex way beforehand, we would never know......

Just my 2 cents

When I was at Sitex, I did ask them whether it is a Emjay or Bally Photo booth. I was told it is indeed a Bally Photo booth. The staff from Emjay was there to assist them.

Since it is a dealer booth, maybe the stock there belongs to the dealer?

Also I was told by Emjay managers over the phone that pre-orders and dealers are handled by different managers and departments.

I am not saying who is right or wrong, just giving some information that I recently received.

When I was at Sitex, I did ask them whether it is a Emjay or Bally Photo booth. I was told it is indeed a Bally Photo booth. The staff from Emjay was there to assist them.

Since it is a dealer booth, maybe the stock there belongs to the dealer?

Also I was told by Emjay managers over the phone that pre-orders and dealers are handled by different managers and departments.

I am not saying who is right or wrong, just giving some information that I recently received.

SO my guess is correct :)

I think a lot of company work that way . Different stock for different sale account

pre-order saves u from the crowd at Sitex..:)

if not because of the 50-135, I wun hv gone down to Sitex yest..in the end..no stock..:(

Read Post #142.
Crowd or no crowd, the preorder system is a fail.......

GSIguy, since its already stated the SITEX is BALLY PHOTO's and Emjay just assisting then no use complaining. Its their stocks(bally) anyways.

Suggestively, call emjay and make noise. U can go to CASE if u want to. But I think no use posting here since it would only create frictions between each other and one false statement can lead to another problem.

Even I'm having problem with one pre-order lens.

Just a frenly advise.