Just received a new toys...

Btw, I guess I'm not the only one who is crazy enough to do this kind of set up :)
This guy is using Nikon 24-70mm, which is very dangerous (IMHO)
because when u zoom out the 20-70, the lens extend out a lot! that's dangerous! the weight of 8 sb200 is too much for that lens (again IMHO)

2214149833_afd54dc4fa.jpg

2348529030_90a013507e_m.jpg

Hi B18,
Yes, i did read the manual book :)
according to the manual book, the max Sb R200 that i can attact on the lens is 4 units.
however, It's not fun if I only use 4 unit ;p
I need 8 units of Sb-R200 to create a ring lite ^^
So far, I had no problem with my Zeiss 85/1.4 and Zeiss 100/2 (BTW, the body of the lens is 100% metal, so I assumed it's strong enough hahahhaa)

Sent you a PM already :)

Yeah.. I think it's probably just to prevent you from going back to Nikon with a lens that broke into 2 pieces under the weight of 8 SB-R200s. ;p

Btw, I guess I'm not the only one who is crazy enough to do this kind of set up :)
This guy is using Nikon 24-70mm, which is very dangerous (IMHO)
because when u zoom out the 20-70, the lens extend out a lot! that's dangerous! the weight of 8 sb200 is too much for that lens (again IMHO)

Yeah.. I believe some of us here already read about the setup some time last year. Interesting, but IMO, too expensive.. ;p

Yeah.. I think it's probably just to prevent you from going back to Nikon with a lens that broke into 2 pieces under the weight of 8 SB-R200s. ;p

Hahahaa! You are right pak Isiaxon!
a lot of Nikon lenses's body is made from plastic, maybe due to this one, Nikon is not recommended to use it more than 4 units.
however I believe my Zeiss lens can handle it ;)

Now what I need is TIME..!!
I need to get out from my office and take a lot of pictures using that ring flash :lovegrin:

Hahahaa! You are right pak Isiaxon!
a lot of Nikon lenses's body is made from plastic, maybe due to this one, Nikon is not recommended to use it more than 4 units.
however I believe my Zeiss lens can handle it ;)

Now what I need is TIME..!!
I need to get out from my office and take a lot of pictures using that ring flash :lovegrin:

Just curious, what's the weight of the SX-1 with 8 SB-R200s? Although ZF lenses are very solidly built, make sure you don't break the F mount on the body too.. support the lens and the unit well.. ;p

D3 leh... if can break. then the QC is ... Hmm...

*other then applying excessive force.

D3 leh... if can break. then the QC is ... Hmm...

*other then applying excessive force.

Walao.. D3 also can break one okie.. if you apply sufficient force to it.. ;p Dun think the setup is any heavier than a 200/2.. so I guess should be okie then.. just dun use it on a D40/D40X/D60.. ;p

the weight of that ring-flash, I think around 0.7 - 0.8 kg (maybeeeeeee)
i need to use digital timbangan :D to get the accurate number.
Talking about breaking the F-mount on the body....
I have one crazy experience with My Nikon 200/2 AF-S VR.
I used this lens with a Nikon D50 for taking a picture of models.
I DID NOT put a strap on the lens.
Therefore, for the whole time, I just rely on the strap that attacted to Nikon D50.
I was carring 2 DSLR body that time.
Nikon D80 + 70-200 F2.8 VR- AFS
and
Nikon D50 + 200 F2 VR -AFS
I hanged both of them on my shoulder....

At that time a lot of people told me to becarefull with the weight of 200/2 VR (around 3kg)
It might damaged the F-mount on your nikon D50...
However, It turn out, nothing happened! my D50 survived from that torture hahahahaa
Since D50 can stand a 3 KG lens hanging on it's body, I'm sure that Nikon D3 can do better that that :)

the weight of that ring-flash, I think around 0.7 - 0.8 kg (maybeeeeeee)
i need to use digital timbangan :D to get the accurate number.
Talking about breaking the F-mount on the body....
I have one crazy experience with My Nikon 200/2 AF-S VR.
I used this lens with a Nikon D50 for taking a picture of models.
I DID NOT put a strap on the lens.
Therefore, for the whole time, I just rely on the strap that attacted to Nikon D50.
I was carring 2 DSLR body that time.
Nikon D80 + 70-200 F2.8 VR- AFS
and
Nikon D50 + 200 F2 VR -AFS
I hanged both of them on my shoulder....

At that time a lot of people told me to becarefull with the weight of 200/2 VR (around 3kg)
It might damaged the F-mount on your nikon D50...
However, It turn out, nothing happened! my D50 survived from that torture hahahahaa
Since D50 can stand a 3 KG lens hanging on it's body, I'm sure that Nikon D3 can do better that that :)

Hmm... :think: Looks like Nikon designed the F mount very well and took care to make sure even a low end DSLR can take the weight of a heavy lens.. ;p