Is a Mac really superior in running CS5 ?

Having used a Macair for a year and been using Win based pc for over 20 years

Well I hope you are not trying to be sarcastic ? Hope so since I am no where near what you name as Master. I just happen to start early when Internet is still brewing as ARPANET within the niche US military and research departments in universities. I bet there are a lot here in clubsnap from that era too. There are also silly days when I started to learn about what is colour management and get upsell iMac and mac os 9 from one of the partner in ColorDoc at bras basah. You can still find him there. He is pretty well versed in colour management skill sets. I have shared some of my knowledge in other threads that you can find too.

Come to think of it, I find myself pretty fortunate to stride across 2 different stages of IT industry when younger generations wouldn't even have touch or learnt of computers named as XT that operates in CGA 4 colours and a block of hard disk later in my AT386SX that is only 40MB which is as heavy as one you can find now when your SD card like a film can store 32GB. Hence if you find my words are not credible, perhaps Google will give you better advices ?

Master has spoken.

Well I hope you are not trying to be sarcastic ? Hope so since I am no where near what you name as Master. I just happen to start early when Internet is still brewing as ARPANET within the niche US military and research departments in universities. I bet there are a lot here in clubsnap from that era too. There are also silly days when I started to learn about what is colour management and get upsell iMac and mac os 9 from one of the partner in ColorDoc at bras basah. You can still find him there. He is pretty well versed in colour management skill sets. I have shared some of my knowledge in other threads that you can find too.

Come to think of it, I find myself pretty fortunate to stride across 2 different stages of IT industry when younger generations wouldn't even have touch or learnt of computers named as XT that operates in CGA 4 colours and a block of hard disk later in my AT386SX that is only 40MB which is as heavy as one you can find now when your SD card like a film can store 32GB. Hence if you find my words are not credible, perhaps Google will give you better advices ?

It was a compliment. :cry: Did you not see the smiley?
And I have played with 383SX 33 mhz with 4 mb RAM and 80 mb HD.

hehehe chill guys! :cheers:

I think no harm intended.
Certainly amazing to see how far computer technology has advanced in such a short span of time...

I really like the Mac interface and also their product design, but have been a Windows user all this while and find it a huge mental barrier to overcome in order to switch to a Mac.
As long as Windows fulfils my needs I see no compelling reason to switch :)

wah, 4MB was a lot leh! :)
My pet peeve was always suffering from insufficient base memory, as too many programs ate up a chunk of that precious 640kB ;)

wah, 4MB was a lot leh! :)
My pet peeve was always suffering from insufficient base memory, as too many programs ate up a chunk of that precious 640kB ;)

That's where skill in modifying autoexec.bat and config.sys came in handy, in the days before memmaker.exe

Wahh ... that was pretty 'mature' already! It was Apple IIe when I was first exposed to the 'home computer' !

Nah .. that wasn't mine, my classmates had them. It was a 8088 running 8Mhz, with 640kb of RAM and 2 of those 5 1/4" floppies, 256 shades of grey Hercules graphics !!
When Funan Center was still in the 'dark ages' ( when it literally was really dark, gloomy and with bad/poor lighting ) and together with People's Park Complex and Katong Shopping Center, was "piracy incorporated" galore !

Oohh... those were the days when 'cheating' at games was about hacking the hex code in the 'Save' files ! :p :p :p

That's where skill in modifying autoexec.bat and config.sys came in handy, in the days before memmaker.exe

ya a lot of experimentation and learning through trial and error.
No Google in those days!

Walao... you and me must be in that era... I remembered playing Stealth Fighter F117A simulation in CGA mode on my AT386DX with 4mb ram, mine has turbo boost too! LOL... and the background tunes those days were midi tones through archaic PC speakers! Those days, Soundblasters ruled!

Internet Relay Chats through terminals connected to mainframe computers.... Man.... the classic monochrome days... :bsmilie:

wah lau, those were the days sia.. my 1st rig doesn't even have a hdd, all on floppy disk and MS DOS.. haha

Anyone remember "Rampage"? FUN!!!

How about ultima I with that big stack of 5 1/4 floppies n road wars... where everything runs in monochrome... n my first contact was with an Apple... even before apple II n IIe.. LOL

Having used a Macair for a year and been using Win based pc for over 20 years

Bad fingers, sorry.

Macs are not muscle machines. But what they have going for them is a very good suite of software that are easy to use and works in delivering results. There are professional software in both domains but keeping focus on what fulfills the majority of people, Apple does it well.

I bought a late MacAir last year for its lightweight advantage and some points for looks. Was using it to run Windows - ok, ok, no need to throw stones.... it was for some specialised software that needed flash and java.

Then got around to twiddling with the pre-loaded software and found iPhoto to serve the vast majority of my needs. I have Elements on my PC which is more powerful than iPhoto but for most of the time iPhoto suffices, especially that I can send my albums for printing and have it delivered - have not been able figure out where to print my albums created in Elements.

Just changed my mind on Aperture and got it for 2 reasons, album layout flexibility and the dodge and burn tool, don't think there are other options at $80.

With Flash and Java now working in Lion, it further reduced the necessity for Windows and I got a Mac Mini to replace my quad-core desktop. Less power but its much neater and has all the software I need, especially since I have the Mac version of Elements for the odd situation when I need a little more edit power.

The Mac is not better, just that its got better software for what matters to the vast majority of users.

-----
David,
Talk about ancient, I had the opportunity to splash $1200 for a HD Controller for a 20MB HD which later became 40MB when they implemented RLL compression algorithm, a 5MB Apple Sider on an Apple II before that, and a M6800 protoboard using switches as input devices......painful...