IR outing 4th december sharing thread

seeing whs, i realise that his masking is a whole new lvl of crazy.

me thinks i'll stick with bnw conversions:D

anyways, learnt a lot from everyone today. very interesting outing

anyways, as advised,

148279_481984063584_786218584_5886264_6247479_n.jpg

Where is CE!!!

Be patient, Ah Chua... he is trying to catch the hen that lays the egg that provides the raw material for the 535nm.
You know how long I waited for my 535nm or not? Haha...

OMG.... 535nm is so poisonous........... makes my photos looks like black and white.....
shelomoh, well you know something.. one man's 535nm is another man's poison.
I guess one would either love it like mad, or hate it like siao like that.

seeing whs, i realise that his masking is a whole new lvl of crazy.

me thinks i'll stick with bnw conversions:D

allenleonhart yah, allenleonhart... see what I said? It's totally crazy, right? Haha...

It's not the filter. Limwhow is like the Golden Child , anything he touch becomes beautiful.

What you talking about, fatigue?
It's not my doing... it's all your 535nm doing what it was doing mah... :bsmilie:

Foliage

I love light coloured foliage.
Within a few minutes of Ah Chua SMS-ing me, LowLights SMS-ed me asking me how does foliage look on the 535nm.
Siao liao lah... all these fellows yah...

Nah, I must say something first.
Firstly it was all my fault. I forgot to switch the Canon 20D 535nm from Jpeg to RAW.
So I didn't have too much lattitude in post processing and I could have done better.
Secondly, I didn't do any customised WB on this 535nm.
I realised that because of its low cut off, the tolerance for WB error is a little lower than the R72 and the ELP.
So I should have really guai guai do a customised WB on the leaves.

But to answer LowLight's question, I think the 535nm still can deliver its punch of pale foliage.

5231383014_81f4a0a8ea_b.jpg

But really really... I think we need to experiment further to understand the real potential of this filter.
I really cannot come to a total conclusion yet.
The one above is still not ideal cos I needed to mask it.

Hey guys, let's not let this thread deteriorate into a 535nm thread. :bsmilie::bsmilie:
Come come... let's see everyone's shot and more!!

i'll share some frustrations that i encountered while pping. hope perhaps some could advise.

first: upping the saturation. i can bring out the colors no problem. but i also bring out a lot of color noise

2nd: what is acceptable coloring of the image? sometimes i find too much, image looks radioactive. too little, i'm better of bnwing this image.

just 2 things that i'm stuck at now

i'll share some frustrations that i encountered while pping. hope perhaps some could advise.

first: upping the saturation. i can bring out the colors no problem. but i also bring out a lot of color noise

2nd: what is acceptable coloring of the image? sometimes i find too much, image looks radioactive. too little, i'm better of bnwing this image.

just 2 things that i'm stuck at now

allenleonhart, good questions.

1. Certainly when the slider goes right on the Saturation bar, there is bound to be artefacts as we approach the extreme. Polarisation takes place. Thus, the trick is not to push too much. Once we see some colour noise, we got to pull back.
    We can always add more colours with Colour Balance later.
  2. Radioactive... hmmm, yupe I guess I understand what you mean. The answer to this question would be fairly similar to that for the previous question.
    Of course monochromisation of the IR photo, or even Duotonisation will solve this.
    But often times we want the colours in the IR photo. Unless one's original intention is to render it B&W right from the beginning, otherwise I guess don't take the easy way out by simply just B&W-ing every one. Do give colourisation a chance and persevere.
You know, what I have learned from experienced IR portrait shooters like davidkow, Wurdelak, takeshi.lum and many others (including the Indonesian IR shooters), is that masking in IR portraiture is almost a necessity, without which one would find it difficult to attain some separation of the subject and the surroundings.

Well, these are but my humble opinion, allenleonhart.

I try my luck on my ELP. Kekeke... :bsmilie::D:cheergal:

5230900675_985fbebba0_b.jpg

thanks wh for the clarification. will take my time to digest and figure out something that works for me for ir:D

Sometime I really wonder about myself .. I go for the TFCD outing did not take a single shot of the XMMs

End up taking landscape and worse take it under poor lighting condition .. haiz

5231530556_952f4fecb7_b.jpg

So CE is this Goldie enough ?

Need the other file for white balance :sweat:

I try my luck on my ELP. Kekeke...
5230900675_985fbebba0_b.jpg

:thumbsup::thumbsup: nice one here serene!

bro limwhow, you're color rendition in your 535 shots are way cool... with your ability to play with colors, i think you can create wilder kaleidoscope with your new found love:lovegrin:

Sometime I really wonder about myself .. I go for the TFCD outing did not take a single shot of the XMMs

this is nice bro lowlights... sad thing i cannot find out for myself how to play with the images from your D90 coz i lost the SD card i used.:cry:

Wa .. how come like tat .. hmm .. looks like we got to meet again soon .. to transfer the poison ;)

haha ur not the only one:sweat: im guilty of shooting landscapes too

155301_482025993584_786218584_5886963_7556134_n.jpg

Here's a shot of Faye, somehow I can't separate the color this time -.-, really need to learn more about IR selective color pp ...

FayeTF10LC3IR1204001.jpg

Btw I did not convert the image to sepia, the original is like this without the contrast ...

You are the landscape man, man! NICE!
Of course you have got to shoot landscape mah...
Anyway very soon, you will have a new toy, just like our Ah Chua like that... I think he is going to have a new toy very very soon... kekeke...

thanks wh for the clarification. will take my time to digest and figure out something that works for me for ir:D
You are welcome, allenleonhart.

haha ur not the only one:sweat: im guilty of shooting landscapes too

155301_482025993584_786218584_5886963_7556134_n.jpg

Wah.. you all got tiok the landscape gong ah...!

bro limwhow, you're color rendition in your 535 shots are way cool... with your ability to play with colors, i think you can create wilder kaleidoscope with your new found love:lovegrin:

Brother Wurdelak, I am but a small fly.
But you are right, I think I am indeed in love with this... But I wonder if it is only suitable for portraiture, or can it be used for landscape as well..
Will give it a try again.

Here's a shot of Faye, somehow I can't separate the color this time -.-, really need to learn more about IR selective color pp ...

FayeTF10LC3IR1204001.jpg

Btw I did not convert the image to sepia, the original is like this without the contrast ...

SWEE!

Did some coloring, tired...

IR-Outing-02.jpg

Ok Ok... Pai seh pai seh..
Last picture from me... promise.. promise.
I got 535nm, SereneXMM got ELP, but still I must never never forget my first love.
Here is my good 'ol R72.
An Autumn rendition of Dorothy at Seletar.

5231609820_e51313ee45_b.jpg