India - Road Trip from Manali to Leh

Roy, this photo :thumbsup:

heelam, waiting for your thread now. emm... i saw your taj mahal thread, and was thinking whether i should add on the "hallo, why no color one?" remark.... rem our jokes....??

The anti-altitude sickness medicine Diamox? Yeah, we did. Not faithfully though ;p
One in the morning and one before sleep. Procured by zoossh...our friendly neighbourhood drug dealer ;)
The agent who helped arrange our jeep transport advised us to drink 5 litres of water per person per day to avoid Acute Mountain Sickness (AMS). So besides the 6 of us with all our backpacks in the jeep, we lugged along 5 cartons of mineral water as well!

Did u guys take the pills?
If so, how many per day?

10_Digging_Ear.jpg

At the lunch stop out of Sarchu, this guy plopped himself down on a table next to us. He began to "cleanse" his ear with what seemed like a stalk from a weed, spinning it expertly between his fingers. He glanced up for an instant before returning to his pleasurable activity.

10_Truck_overturned.jpg

Along the way, we encountered a few trucks which had veered off the road, plunging into unimaginable disaster. They were stark reminders that danger was ever-present and our safety was solely in the hands of our driver.

10_Road_Workers.jpg

The roads throughout the harsh landscape were maintained by workers from the Border Roads Organisation (BRO). These workers continuously struggle to maintain the roads, clearing fallen boulders and snow, ensuring that the link between Leh and the outside world remains open.

10_Road_Signs.jpg

The roads throughout Ladakh are dotted with hilarious road signs, many with sexual double entendres. I think they're meant to amuse the drivers and keep them awake (and alive!).
This was the only sign that I managed to snap. Some of my favourite signs include:

"After Whisky
Driving Risky"

"Darling I Like You
But Not So Fast"

"Better Be Mr. Late
Than Be a Late Mr."

"Love Thy Neighbour
But Not While Driving"

"I Am Curvaceous
Be Slow"

and an incredibly chauvinistic:

"Don't Gossip
Let Him Drive"

The anti-altitude sickness medicine Diamox? Yeah, we did. Not faithfully though ;p
One in the morning and one before sleep. Procured by zoossh...our friendly neighbourhood drug dealer ;)
The agent who helped arrange our jeep transport advised us to drink 5 litres of water per person per day to avoid Acute Mountain Sickness (AMS). So besides the 6 of us with all our backpacks in the jeep, we lugged along 5 cartons of mineral water as well!
Actually the anti-altitude sickness medicine Diamox is not a must.
my friend and i didnt take any and didnt experience severe AMS. only time i experienced headache was when we were crossing one of the passes, supposedly world 3 highest motorable road to go pangong tso. but not very serious too.
as for drinking of water, i think we didnt drink a lot either, around 2 litres....
so i guess it differs from people to people...but maybe good to take prevention.

10_Digging_Ear.jpg

At the lunch stop out of Sarchu, this guy plopped himself down on a table next to us. He began to "cleanse" his ear with what seemed like a stalk from a weed, spinning it expertly between his fingers. He glanced up for an instant before returning to his pleasurable activity.
your shots are interesting....the portrait shots i took all yi4 ban3 yi4 yan3, no "action" at all.
i see your photos and zoossh's photos so nice, paiseh to put mine up here...though my photographer colleague said the few that he chose for me can make it here.:p
still very sore that there's only around 10 nice pix out of the miserable 300+ that i took, but what to do.cannot cry over spilt milk.:(

Yes, agreed. The effects of AMS differs from person to person and often has nothing to do with a person's state of fitness. Giving yourself time to acclimatise to the high altitude is important too. I know that you had already spent a number of days in Srinagar and Leh before attempting the crossing to Pangong Tso, so your bodies had already acclimatised. The 5 litres of water per person per day was a recommendation. I doubt any of us actually managed to down such large quantities of water. In fact, Sufang was proud of the fact that she could survive on meagre amounts of water. Whenever we staggered out of our jeep for a toilet break, she would continue to remain in the vehicle in a demonstration of the prowess of her superhuman bladder.

Actually the anti-altitude sickness medicine Diamox is not a must.
my friend and i didnt take any and didnt experience severe AMS. only time i experienced headache was when we were crossing one of the passes, supposedly world 3 highest motorable road to go pangong tso. but not very serious too.
as for drinking of water, i think we didnt drink a lot either, around 2 litres....
so i guess it differs from people to people...but maybe good to take prevention.

Nice set of photos you got.
#2 i like it most...;)

I like #4, #8 & #18...

Ooi, gossiping behind my back huh u all... Hey, I'm not the only "camel" in the car wat... Someone else also barely finish his 1 litre of water in his water bottle fr Delhi-Manali...

By the way, zoossh did mention AMS can hit anyone at anytime, whether u took any precautionary medication or not. Diamox or 红景天 or watever may or may not help, it really depends on how well ur body can adapt & acclimatise when u're there... I din take the diamox pills either (now become "souvenirs" of the trip). Sleep is the best medicine for me... Rite, Roy?? Hee hee...

Indeed. Some people like me :(

1st trip to high altitude place, bochap, never take anything, kena.
2nd trip to high altitude place, take (红景天), also kena.

My body/blood very lousy :(

By the way, zoossh did mention AMS can hit anyone at anytime, whether u took any precautionary medication or not. Diamox or 红景天 or watever may or may not help, it really depends on how well ur body can adapt & acclimatise when u're there... I din take the diamox pills either (now become "souvenirs" of the trip). Sleep is the best medicine for me... Rite, Roy?? Hee hee...

I googled diamox and found out that one of the side effects was a tingling sensation in the hands. No wonder my fingers felt really weird after Sarchu! I thought maybe they were not getting enough blood circulation!

I din take the diamox pills either (now become "souvenirs" of the trip). Sleep is the best medicine for me... Rite, Roy?? Hee hee...

10_Pang_Tent_Inside.jpg

Before reaching Leh, we stopped by at Pang for lunch. Marked out as a town in Lonely Planet, Pang turned out to comprise a grand total of TWO TENTS. Each tent served as restaurant, living room, kitchen, bedroom and warehouse.

10_Tent_Patterns.jpg

The top of the tent forms a fascinating pattern.

10_Pang_Restaurant.jpg

The tents from outside.

I like #4, #8 & #18...

Ooi, gossiping behind my back huh u all... Hey, I'm not the only "camel" in the car wat... Someone else also barely finish his 1 litre of water in his water bottle fr Delhi-Manali...

for those who have trek and acclimitize, dun really expect much problems. everyone varies in their physique and not everyone sweat and urinate to the same extent. besides, diamox is a little like vitamin c. it does help, but doesn't always prevent, and once u catch a cold, vitamins does not cure it either.

yah, i know sleep is good but i can't sleep the whole journey.

Indeed. Some people like me :(

1st trip to high altitude place, bochap, never take anything, kena.
2nd trip to high altitude place, take (红景天), also kena.

My body/blood very lousy :(

i got better towards the end of the trip. acclimitization takes 2 weeks for me.

10_Pang_Model2.jpg

This young man sitting outside the tent at Pang was adjusting his cap and gesturing eagerly for his photo to be taken. I obliged.

10_Pang_Model.jpg

Pleased with what he saw on my camera LCD screen, the young man proceeded to pick up his "luggage" and started posing. I obliged again.

10_Taglang_La.jpg

The world's second highest motorable pass, Taglang La (5328m), was a bit of an anti-climax. It had this abandoned house, a sign and a shrine.

10_Taglang_La_Shrine.jpg

The shrine at Taglang La seemed to be devoted to numerous deities and supernatural beings from a plethora of different beliefs.

hey Roy
Pic 25 is the pic of yr favourite beauuuuuuuuuuu---teeeeeeeeeeeee---fuuuuuuuuuulllll :)
Thats what she calls herself:bigeyes:
Great memories of Pang :D

Yeah. I thought beauuu-teeeeee-fooooooool was her sister because she was the one who kept repeating it! :D

hey Roy
Pic 25 is the pic of yr favourite beauuuuuuuuuuu---teeeeeeeeeeeee---fuuuuuuuuuulllll :)
Thats what she calls herself:bigeyes:
Great memories of Pang :D

11_Ladakhi_Girls.jpg

These Ladakhi girls were extremely friendly and loved posing for the camera! We met them while checking out out a supposed festival at the outskirts of Leh. Turned out that these girls were rehearsing a traditional song and dance item for the festival and would only be dressed in their traditional Ladakhi costumes the next day. No matter. I thought their dresses were colourful enough! We managed to get some decent shots of them despite the harsh midday sunlight (check out their shadows!).

11_Ladakhi_Girls21.jpg

That very week we were in Ladakh, the movie Sex and the City was released worldwide. I thought these girls reflected a similar vivacity and zeal for life. A member of our group was rather taken aback when the girls started asking each of us, "Are you married?"