If You Don'T Own A Leica You Are Not A photographer

I think the 'U are not a photog if u don't use Leicas' or 'u are not a photog if u don't use DSLR' concepts are totally wrong lo..
Everyone have different liking and pls noted that a camera is just a tool for recording what u see with your eyes. Hence there is no one camera that suits everyone of us.
Use the right tools for your work and be comfortable of it..no need to argue which or which is better.. :nono:

Cheesecake said:
in this age and time, i guess more and more people have this mindset about Digital Photography as opposed to 'traditional' films/slides...

thus, the ah peks and rich veterans should be discussing...

if u don't own a DSLR, u're not a photographer!

another terrible notion and mindset of a different kind but nevertheless focusing and targetting on equipments or lack-of.

XXX Boy said:
I think the 'U are not a photog if u don't use Leicas' or 'u are not a photog if u don't use DSLR' concepts are totally wrong lo..
Everyone have different liking and pls noted that a camera is just a tool for recording what u see with your eyes. Hence there is no one camera that suits everyone of us.
Use the right tools for your work and be comfortable of it..no need to argue which or which is better.. :nono:

agreed.

have a nice week ahead!

After reading all the messages in this thread, personally, I feel there is a high possibility that those 'Ah Pei's' who said about photographers not having Leica's, they could be just showing off their wealth and perhaps, they know nothing about photography.

I'm not saying that I'm a professional when it comes to photography but seriously if I hear this kind of statement, and especially from a supposedly 'senior photographer', I'll start wondering about his mentality, credibility and professionalism.

No wonder there's a saying 'Empty vessel makes the most noise'. There must be a reason why this phrase is created.

Cheap, plastic-toy looking Holgas and Lomos can also create wonderful and gorgeous pictures. And they are inexpensive.

Cameras are just like cars. A Nissan can also travel from one place to another like a BMW. So long they serve the same purpose and the difference isn't too great, isn't it just the same?

-Michelle- :D

SniperD said:
ohh no... old thread dug up again :devil:

Well, if you don't dig up old threads once in a while, your aren't a ClunSnapper. :D

success is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

photographic excellence is 1% equipment and 99% skill.

I think we have to understand that these people used cameras when the market was different, and to speak frankly, in the 70's, we did not know about digital, even autofocus !
So back to these days you did not have the medium-ranged cameras you are using now, everything was streched between very low east-made models for beginners ( praktika and so on..) and 2 or 3 pro brands ( Nikon, Leica,...)
Believe me, shooting with more technical limitations than what you have now would make you think differently. But i agree that the leica-cult is somewhat boring.

Hmm... I met an elderly gentleman who told me my little L lens is good. His leica R something not good enough. And his works were featured in Photo & Imaging Asia 2001. And he kept insisting that he got all those wonderful shots by luck. Somehow that's what I would like to become when I grow up.

And I think this ' Don't own a leica not a photographer ' is just a joke between friends lah. No need to take it too seriously. I believe even he himself knows that's not true.

Like I told my friend new into photography ' No, I don't like point and shoots. ' when he pointed at some leica RFs in the windows at adelphi. :bsmilie:

or... it could be his way of saying.... "if u have to own something, own the best."

having said that, dun think the birdflu gang will have much use for a leica.

leica is outdated. very few people will practically use it.

1Ds said:
Yesterday I was at a coffee stall near TCW.There were a group of so call photographer (age +,- 60).Than one of them said to one of a younger gay (35 +,-).If You Don'T Own A Leica You Are Not A photographer.

Funny, those A*Pei's probably don't know wat they said could cause such a stir :bsmilie:

Just that those great photographers whom I admire a lot "happened" to be using Leica :dunno:
(HCB, DAH, SA, SS... just to name a few)

I always say: If you are a photographer, you don't need a Leica.

my panasonic digital camera has a leica lens ler. counted or not? :dunno: :dunno: :D :D :D :angel:

1Ds said:
Yesterday I was at a coffee stall near TCW.There were a group of so call photographer (age +,- 60).Than one of them said to one of a younger gay (35 +,-).If You Don'T Own A Leica You Are Not A photographer.

One of the stupidest(sp?) statements I have ever heard. Stop hanging around that place. Not healthy.

clive said:
leica is outdated. very few people will practically use it.

There is no modern without the classics.....It's a pity these kopi shop uncles put leica in this bad light-->leica owner = camera player = someone who wanna play camera and not interested to shoot pics.

I use to frequent the penisular area and know some of these uncles, sometimes lim kopi with them also, this kind of words I've heard before also, but when I ask to see their photos, they have non to show me.....

1Ds said:

HAHAHAHAHAhahaha.... :sweatsm:
i'd like to put his leica where the sun don't shine.

patch17 said:
HAHAHAHAHAhahaha.... :sweatsm:
i'd like to put his leica where the sun don't shine.

:sweatsm: :sweatsm: :sweatsm: :sweatsm: :sweatsm:

mylau said:
OH NO NO NO NO NO!

if you dun own the Canon 1200mm lens, then you are not a photographer. :D

so you meant there's less than 15 photographer is the world lah huh?

contributing to an old thread ;-p

"if you don't love one another, you are not HUMAN!"

LOL! anyway, its funny to see people getting worked up over a comment somebody OVERHEARD, and taken out of context. right or wrong, true or false, the old foggy is entitled to his own personal view. if you choose to believe him, too bad. it could just be that he was exaggerating. sometimes we make comments like that when we are over-zealous over something. "if you haven't seen this movie, you haven't seen anything yet!"