identifying Nikon Bodys use by photograhpers

Yap and there's nothing wrong with that. Smae goes for car-lovers, doesnt mean he/she had to be a good driver if they can identify whether it is a e.g TS or WRX or STI.

So, can I re-phrase that they are camera-lovers? :bsmilie:

So are you doing the same thing too by posting the above statement?

sometimes, haha, like i say.. bo liao mah !! but it is by no means a judge of skill level of the person handling it... a few years back, Was once approached by a 'uncle' who was holding, during then, the top of the line, Nikon F100.. i could tell he was having problem wif the camera.. he had the aperture ring set at 5.6...:sweat: well, problem solved...
the top of the line is F5 back than, IIRC, F100, is the first Nikon camera have sub command dial to adjust aperture, this only show his is not familiar with this camera, does not mean that he don't know about photography.

Maybe by knowing the camera model, we can guess the skills of the photographers :devil:

impossible, pros shoot with D50 better then newbie with D2x

Agreed.

But than hor, it is not common that a pro photographer will be using a D50 unless it is a back up camera.

No disrespect for D50, but for a Pro, I guess what is important is the camera reliability, accurate exposure and fast and accurate auto focusing etc. A D50 may or may not fullfill this requirement.

Having said that, a person holding a D2X may not necessary be a pro or good photographer if he has a deep pocket and appreciate the finest thing in life.

impossible, pros shoot with D50 better then newbie with D2x

Agreed.

But than hor, it is not common that a pro photographer will be using a D50 unless it is a back up camera.

No disrespect for D50, but for a Pro, I guess what is important is the camera reliability, accurate exposure and fast and accurate auto focusing etc. A D50 may or may not fullfill this requirement.

Having said that, a person holding a D2X may not necessary be a pro or good photographer if he has a deep pocket and appreciate the finest thing in life.

well... someone who holds a D2x will say that it is his hobby, and he is only a hobbyist. and pple like him will say that we should mind our own business on who owns what camera and what he does with his moohlah... ;)

Agreed.

no many pro using D50, think u only see pro want to be nia holding D200 and above.

This is really funny. (as with many such threads inside the equipment sub-forums) heh.

Let me ask you, do you think all your Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati, Lotus drivers are excellent race car drivers? For that matter, I think even many "tiong chia" drivers can't drive for nuts.

I know an excellent driver that only drives a humble little family car. But has close to un-matched skills on the tracks.

So... Don't bother looking at people's equipment. :)

Indeed, I don't think there is any point in identifying what the other one has ... and one using a simple D40 in shoots should never be intimidated by those around him using D2Xs and Trinity lenses :)

It only becomes useful if one has the same thing as the other (which one should be able to identify) and then maybe both can share tips about equipment usage/tricks which can help in taking better pics.

if you can identify from Nikon I, M, S, Nikon F till F6 plus all the D bodies, will that help you in your photography skills??

Haaaaa, well... did anyone even mention anything about that helping in skills?

Funny thing is TS's asking a simple question, and all the same old "skills more important lah" answers came rushing in like as if no ones knows.:devil:

1 question, 31 posts yet only first 3 gave relevant answers.

Hah! This is very agreeable.:thumbsup:

Another thing, its written in ENGLISH. ;)

Yeah...32 posts and there is no such word as photograhpers.

Haaaaa, well... did anyone even mention anything about that helping in skills?

Funny thing is TS's asking a simple question, and all the same old "skills more important lah" answers came rushing in like as if no ones knows.:devil:
I see, if anyone want to learn how to identify Nikon bodies, can collect all the Nikon cameras' catalogues, cut out all the photos of the particular cameras with different views, learn them by heart, soon will be able identify the models of different cameras bodies just one glance from a distance.

hope this help.

Whenever I stand at the urinal, I instinctively take a peek at the weapon of the chap standing next to me. Same thing goes when I am at a camera gathering. I guess I am not the only one. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Well, it is the photos that we see in the gallleries that counts. Not so much the cam and to a certain extent, the lens.

I'll tell you the very reason why I gaffer up the 'Canon' word on the front of my pentaprism chamber, the '30D' badge, the words on my battery grip and flash, is because I don't want any equipment lovers/lusters asking me about what I use; concentrate on the photos, which are the final product.

Reminds me of a very funny incident once at the old Nikon service centre many years ago.

I got there just before another chap with his Lowepro bag and Manfrotto 190 tripod. He looked at me with slight disdain, me with my cheap looking sigma branded small camera bag (in a pukey green). He was picking up his F80 and cheap zoom. Looking really 'professional' at the service desk, testing it out and talking to the receptionist in a very self-important manner, while I waited patiently behind him.

Then they called for me and I took out my F90x (with MB10 VG) and SB26. I was there to get the camera and flash checked out for an intermittent flashing problem. After that, I brought out my FM2 and asked them to replace the foam seals and mirror damper.

The guy's demeanor at this stage had changed to one of sheepishness. :bsmilie:

And no - you can't tell the skills of the photog by what he uses. And neither should you judge what he owns by the camera bag he uses.

:bsmilie: Now thats an incident to laugh about. I agreed with you, can't judge skills simply by looking at the camera owned. Owning a ferrari and driving like schumacher is 2 different issue :) The well known Ken Rockwell is an example, he enjoys using his D70/80/200 more than anything else.

I'll tell you the very reason why I gaffer up the 'Canon' word on the front of my pentaprism chamber, the '30D' badge, the words on my battery grip and flash, is because I don't want any equipment lovers/lusters asking me about what I use; concentrate on the photos, which are the final product.

right and tell us about your sig?

I see, if anyone want to learn how to identify Nikon bodies, can collect all the Nikon cameras' catalogues, cut out all the photos of the particular cameras with different views, learn them by heart, soon will be able identify the models of different cameras bodies just one glance from a distance.

hope this help.

OIC you are so kind, oops... and AGAIN... did anyone said that he/she likes to learn to identify Nikon bodies?