How much can a photog or videographer earn ?

10 years ago I freelancing abt $750 for a wedding package shoot in S-VHS camera (M9000 range of camera). deliver in VHS tape.. edit with a linear editing suit.. :sweat:

I think even now, freelance VG on average still below 1k (1 day wedding with editing w/o express). Earlier assumption of $1.2k is for full-time VG.

I think your rate of $750 10 yrs ago is part-time freelance....which means the price of wedding VG service did not really increase with normal inflation. So 10 years later it is possible that the average wedding VG rate is only slightly higher than now. But maybe the demand is now 10 times more than 10 years ago, and demand will increase in the future.

I think even now, freelance VG on average still below 1k (1 day wedding with editing w/o express). Earlier assumption of $1.2k is for full-time VG.

I think your rate of $750 10 yrs ago is part-time freelance....which means the price of wedding VG service did not really increase with normal inflation. So 10 years later it is possible that the average wedding VG rate is only slightly higher than now. But maybe the demand is now 10 times more than 10 years ago, and demand will increase in the future.

there are other factors like equipment cost, material cost, and wat u mentioned > demand & supply, etc.

well.. 10 years ago i oso ever freelance for a reputable (at tat time) prod house which charge his client more then $2k - $3k for wedding which uses betaSP to shoot.. but i was oni paid abt $200 - $250 for each job as a camera man :sweat:

10 years from now is hard to tell.. who knows.. couples may just "stay together" without going thru any wedding ceremony?! schools may have more courses on video prod thus supply goes up.. or closed down the course if no more demand in market.. supply down!?

or well.. who knows.. maybe in future every wedding couples think video is a must as like photography.. :dunno: maybe due to more distribution channel for video content.:think:

there are other factors like equipment cost, material cost, and wat u mentioned > demand & supply, etc.

well.. 10 years ago i oso ever freelance for a reputable (at tat time) prod house which charge his client more then $2k - $3k for wedding which uses betaSP to shoot.. but i was oni paid abt $200 - $250 for each job as a camera man :sweat:

10 years from now is hard to tell.. who knows.. couples may just "stay together" without going thru any wedding ceremony?! schools may have more courses on video prod thus supply goes up.. or closed down the course if no more demand in market.. supply down!?

or well.. who knows.. maybe in future every wedding couples think video is a must as like photography.. :dunno: maybe due to more distribution channel for video content.:think:

wah bro beta-sp 4 wedding very2 chum ley 5kg on ur shoulders and get paid 200 wahhhh..... really difficult

yes.. tat was very sheong.. everytime after shoot next day bodyache.. i oni take $200- $250 for a wedding shoot and he was charging few$K!! tot of it is really not worth.. tat's why i freelance for them for just few wedding before i bought my own S-VHS camera (was popular during tat era) to run freelance on my own tat time.

the miniDV really saves our life!! ;)
but nowadays i cut down on wedding and do more events, live projections and corporate job liao.. wedding abit shiong for a middle age man like me liao..:sweat:

Put it this way.

If you go full time you get to work under a full-fledged pro, assuming it's a reputable company that's been around for a few years. You can learn the ropes from him/her and get to meet bigger clients. You also get to handle more professional equipment and practices and work with other professionals in the field. This way you get to see what you can improve to be as good if not better than your peers. And assuming since it's highly likely you'll get more jobs with a full-time production house you'll improve quite quickly and be forced to learn things at a faster rate as the jobs require it.

Eventually you'll be a seasoned pro, can work on your own if you want cos you'll have an idea of what works. As you get better can demand more pay anyways.

Put it this way.

If you go full time you get to work under a full-fledged pro, assuming it's a reputable company that's been around for a few years. You can learn the ropes from him/her and get to meet bigger clients. You also get to handle more professional equipment and practices and work with other professionals in the field. This way you get to see what you can improve to be as good if not better than your peers. And assuming since it's highly likely you'll get more jobs with a full-time production house you'll improve quite quickly and be forced to learn things at a faster rate as the jobs require it.

Eventually you'll be a seasoned pro, can work on your own if you want cos you'll have an idea of what works. As you get better can demand more pay anyways.

just feel that you will need to educate the client
how much time and effort does it cost to shoot and edit .

To shoot a wedding -

Meet up - 1 evening
pre production - half a day , to plan and coordinate
book the date, camera check, itineray print out
production - One day
To edit a video -1week to 3 days - raw cut, edit cut , add in music, text and graphic
to encode the dvd , print the dvd label , check through dvd
Imagine the proper step to from a proper wedding video.
its more that ...have you add in your experience, your concept time.
Depreciation of your assets ...

I think you deserve more than what you ask for .

What's the problem? Other people pay money to go gym and build up muscles - this guy is getting paid for it! :)

u have a very positive way of looking into things..:thumbsup:
10years ago still can think tat way la.. now if ask me carry beta to shoot wedding.. i think end of the day i need people to carry me home aredy!:sweat:

u have a very positive way of looking into things..:thumbsup:
10years ago still can think tat way la.. now if ask me carry beta to shoot wedding.. i think end of the day i need people to carry me home aredy!:sweat:

Only joking lah. :)

Actually I agree with Faiz that this is a very tough way to make such a small amount of money.

just feel that you will need to educate the client
how much time and effort does it cost to shoot and edit .

To shoot a wedding ...

I think you deserve more than what you ask for .

Well said. As we know the market is divided into many segments. Unfortunately the main segment consists of folks who thinks that video is the same as photography. They are willing to shell out $600-800 for a videoman while paying $800-$1000 for a photographer. One way is to serve only clients that are willing to pay that much u demand. For freelancers who do not realli need the $$ it should be ok. As for the pros.. they will have to focus on corporate world I guess..