High price at MS Color now?

I got 2 different quotation from 2 different person from 2 different shop. One quote me $20 more but when I told him this is not the usual price, he told me it's impossible as that is their cost price. Then walk around, saw their new shop and purchase at usual price.

Depending who you en-counter will have different pricing.

I got 2 different quotation from 2 different person from 2 different shop. One quote me $20 more but when I told him this is not the usual price, he told me it's impossible as that is their cost price. Then walk around, saw their new shop and purchase at usual price.

Depending who you en-counter will have different pricing.

wah.. i think better feedback to their boss.. how can 2 different shops under same boss quote differently ? confused lah ! :confused:

Why not? Even the price you pay at NTUC Fairprice XXX can be different from NTUC Fairprice YYY.

I think today was a horrible experience, my first time going to MS Colour after hearing so much about it, because it's the only place carrying PPCP tripod head.

The AMK Hub one has NOTHING. For tripod heads it only has a Manfrotto monopod head. The guy there was very friendly and warm, kudos to him. Then when I went to the main shop, I got bored looks from whoever was serving me. That was still ok, I'm not buying anything very wow. Just a tripod head. But the killer came when they already convinced me to buy a Benro ballhead (which is way out of budget, yeah, I know, I'm poor) for $80 or so.. About 4 or 5 people spent 20 minutes rummaging through the ENTIRE shop for an adaptor screw for the tripod head to be able to fit onto my tripod legs. I just felt so sorry for them I told them it's ok, and walked off.

Later at another shop (I am not pushing any shop names, etc, just providing comparison).. The same problem arose, the person serving me rummaged through a drawer, and came up with the screw in 5 seconds.

How to do business like that? :dunno:

So sad that this happens to you, Seems like many things have changed since the last time I visited them personally.

By the way, I suppose a head is a head which will eventually fits a monopod or tripod. Did the salesman at AMK Hub tell you that he has no tripod head for you but a monopod head? This is strange...

Well, I mostly deal directly with the lady boss or the Asst Mgr of the two shops.

They were really very helpful, went out of their way to bring in stock for me, lenses, monopods, camera bodies etc..

Each time I visited them, there will be a cup of green tea or chinese tea freshly brewed for me, regardless how much I spent..

I think they're ok lah... I Just pre-booked one of the two new SONY DSLR bodies from them...

And agreeably, some items are costlier, while some are cheaper than others...

But personally, I am grateful that M S Color is around besides CP - CP service attitude sucks BIG TIME...

Shops that judges me by the way I dress, misses out on big sales...

business is business sure must earn lor:) just do your home work before make a desision as i ask for the sb400 ms quoto $230 less week $200 at the phone and cp only $170:o so just be careful and do your home wok before buy :sweat:

My visits to MS had been good. I also get to drink ice cold polar water. Not promoting MS but for price, Florence will automatically give me a good price.

Finding a good shop outside the CBD is hard so I'm glad MS is ard in AMK to serve us. Imagine going all the way to city to buy a filter..

My visits to MS had been good. I also get to drink ice cold polar water. Not promoting MS but for price, Florence will automatically give me a good price.

Finding a good shop outside the CBD is hard so I'm glad MS is ard in AMK to serve us. Imagine going all the way to city to buy a filter..

agree.. i always being offered water for my visits.

I guess after spending about $10K or so there...you will get special treatment. :) I agree some jokers they have there do quote crazy prices. And now I have established myself that they know I know what are the prices outside, and even show them some of the stuff I bought from other places at a much lower price. They are now very careful when they quote me prices. Cos they realised that they have lost a few $K worth of business just because the refuse to lower the price. And MS also realised I have a say in who my school purchase the equipment from, so they are even more careful when come to price quoting. Now only Florence, Mr. Loh or Jack dose the quoting for me. The rest are not allowed to.

And generally I have a fair quote from them. We must also understand that they have to make a profit.

ya...i also feel it...i dun really like their customer service..

I guess at the end of the day, there will be some shops we feel very comfortable with and will patronize all the time. There will be some that we hate to the core. Most important, we must do our homework, be steadfast with our decisions and be understanding that everyone is here to earn a living. No one owes anybody anything. Business comes, business goes. One man's meat and another man's poison. We be good customer, the retailer be good service provider. Lastly, we realistic about our expectations. We are afterall humans. ;)

My $0.002 worth of thought.

I guess at the end of the day, there will be some shops we feel very comfortable with and will patronize all the time. There will be some that we hate to the core. Most important, we must do our homework, be steadfast with our decisions and be understanding that everyone is here to earn a living. No one owes anybody anything. Business comes, business goes. One man's meat and another man's poison. We be good customer, the retailer be good service provider. Lastly, we realistic about our expectations. We are afterall humans. ;)

My $0.002 worth of thought.

good thought, bad maths ;)

ya...i also feel it...i dun really like their customer service..

Autually I like their service, always get priority service and have drinks and food (somtimes). Get to test out their stuff without obligation.

So sad that this happens to you, Seems like many things have changed since the last time I visited them personally.

By the way, I suppose a head is a head which will eventually fits a monopod or tripod. Did the salesman at AMK Hub tell you that he has no tripod head for you but a monopod head? This is strange...

The label on the product was Monopod head. Can only move up and down, cannot turn left and right. Like that I don't need head, can just screw my camera onto the tripod legs. :bsmilie:

It's not the price thing. I am willing to pay a slightly higher price for good service, but if a salesman doesn't know how to smile and show that he/she's anything more than bored.. How they expect customers to feel good? And I don't think I was unreasonable to expect them to at least know where to find their spare parts? =(

Oh well.

I visited them once. brought alot of cash with me to buy a DSLR, two pricing system, you want the cheaper price, bring along the person they know so that they can recognized the face and give cheaper price, or else you pay higher price. Never went back again, forever.bye,bye,MS.

One man's meat may be another's poison. :)

Autually I like their service, always get priority service and have drinks and food (somtimes). Get to test out their stuff without obligation.

They do not give this kind service to first timer. :bsmilie:

I bought my slingshot from them @ $140 /- 300AW, good price....:thumbsup:
CP selling $152/=, Lord's $150...so I think good deal lah....no CBD and I work nearby...:D

yup, i kinda agree, i got quite bo chup attitude from them too awhile back, and you guys are right, they are not particularly cheap. do watch out for the price they quote wheather its with or without GST.