[ Help ] OMD EM1 Pre-Order - 2 Simple Questions

Haha pls post a video on the unboxing asap. Cant wait to see.
Sharing info is good i felt. Maybe u may feel worst off when u realised that u did not get a good price this time. But if everyone able to have an open mind to share, next time u yourself may benefit from it. Consumers get more competitive price while the shop may get more businesses from ur infos.

Saw it @ TK Photo today. Someone got his pre-ordered set. Nice.

Haha pls post a video on the unboxing asap. Cant wait to see.
Sharing info is good i felt. Maybe u may feel worst off when u realised that u did not get a good price this time. But if everyone able to have an open mind to share, next time u yourself may benefit from it. Consumers get more competitive price while the shop may get more businesses from ur infos.

must get it first sia. I pre-ordered on the last day...hahaha, hopefully by next weekend

How is it at ISO 1600 n 3200? Tried the AF-C yet?

ISO 1600 and 3200 is really almost the same with E-M5, not really a surprise to me.

AF-C is not bad, I think it should be better than on E-M5. Works especially well if your subject has good contrast. Anyway, I don't really have much experience in using AF-C previous as AF-S works well enough for me most of the time.

Yes ... I think I can agree with your comment BUT I know the price I am paying is reasonable coz I usually check around & do my own survey first. This is call SHOPPING Sometimes I choose to pay a little bit more due to convenience sake or more importantly for the renown customer service accorded to me. Priceless! Comparing price alone is not enough, you have to look at many other factors as well & use your own judgement.
My day job is consulting for retail. Best practice world wide is price transparency. That's why in the west you see sites like amazon etc which makes for a very vibrant market and economy dictated by market forces. In SINGAPORE retail is 30 years behind the times, just ask. Can you price compare without using the phone? Why not!? I can go on amazon, bhphoto, adorama, Samys, wex in UK, eBay etc. but in this part of the world. I can't price compare before I hit the shops. It's not called shopping, it's called barrier to free market. There is much benefit about sharing where you got the best deal as that is where consumers will flock to. Then other shops who see that will cut price or offers better product bundles or services to get your money, that is a consumer market driven model. It's a huge win for customers, shops who can differentiate will do better. This is capitalism.

I agree with this totally..

Sometimes we are really at the mercy of the shops..

Exactly! Unfortunately Singapore doesn't even have a proper camera store to begin with. Camera shops here give you the experience of a bazar in the 18th century.

Thank you for writing this up

yea, the em1 and em5 power button in a damn weird position. dunno wth they do that.

anyway, I'll very likely post a video unboxing once I get the set.

oh and btw guys, price is a sensitive issue, so I'll just give a tip on a new place to get relatively good prices - airport

which shop at airport ? thanks.

Why is price a sensitive issue? It is for the good of consumers if there is more transparency. Only businesses benefit from not disclosing prices, which is really a move backwards not forward. More transparency would lead to businesses being more competitive. Afterall, we are buying a product, not a service. If its a service like the services of a photographer then yes by all means price is not the only consideration.

I agree going to shop to shop is not shopping. its a hassle and a pity we do not really have sites that compare prices for us as yet (which makes this forum all the more useful if people were more open about it) :)

Why is price a sensitive issue? It is for the good of consumers if there is more transparency. Only businesses benefit from not disclosing prices, which is really a move backwards not forward. More transparency would lead to businesses being more competitive. Afterall, we are buying a product, not a service. If its a service like the services of a photographer then yes by all means price is not the only consideration. I agree going to shop to shop is not shopping. its a hassle and a pity we do not really have sites that compare prices for us as yet (which makes this forum all the more useful if people were more open about it) :)

+10000. Yes. Yes. The force is stong in you. You see the light

So far I think I am the only one who shared the price here..
Many of the guys dun want to share the price maybe because the shops also tell them this "I give you the lowest price but you dun post online k"

All so quiet..I think my price most ex liao..

Why is price a sensitive issue? It is for the good of consumers if there is more transparency. Only businesses benefit from not disclosing prices, which is really a move backwards not forward. More transparency would lead to businesses being more competitive. Afterall, we are buying a product, not a service. If its a service like the services of a photographer then yes by all means price is not the only consideration.

I agree going to shop to shop is not shopping. its a hassle and a pity we do not really have sites that compare prices for us as yet (which makes this forum all the more useful if people were more open about it) :)

It is good for consumers and trouble for the retailer.

Most manufacturers set a "minimal selling price" for their retailers but it is up to discretion of the retailer to give further discounts and freebies to their regular customers.

So when a retailer violates this agreement and lower selling price is made known online (and thus becoming evidence for the manufacturer), their rebates and discounts from the manufacturers get cut or diminished. So that is why I think it is best for you guys to discuss prices through PM than on threads.

I like to go up against manufacturers for inflating prices in Singapore (as compared to other countries) but I don't want to punish the retailers. That is my rationale.

Again, I am not enforcing this as a rule in this community. We used to keep a price list but it is no longer relevant since I buy stuff online or when I am traveling to the US or Japan so I am not in touch with the market prices. You guys can share but bear in mind, your friendly retailer who gave you that little bit more discount might get punished by the manufacturer for showing you kindness.

I wonder if that is a nice thing to do or not.

It is good for consumers and trouble for the retailer. Most manufacturers set a "minimal selling price" for their retailers but it is up to discretion of the retailer to give further discounts and freebies to their regular customers. So when a retailer violates this agreement and lower selling price is made known online (and thus becoming evidence for the manufacturer), their rebates and discounts from the manufacturers get cut or diminished. So that is why I think it is best for you guys to discuss prices through PM than on threads. I like to go up against manufacturers for inflating prices in Singapore (as compared to other countries) but I don't want to punish the retailers. That is my rationale. Again, I am not enforcing this as a rule in this community. We used to keep a price list but it is no longer relevant since I buy stuff online or when I am traveling to the US or Japan so I am not in touch with the market prices. You guys can share but bear in mind, your friendly retailer who gave you that little bit more discount might get punished by the manufacturer for showing you kindness. I wonder if that is a nice thing to do or not.

I understand your rationale. The dealer price comes with a margin to the RRP. That should be at the discretion of the dealer. Of course the local and regional manufacturers have to move to the 21st century. The model as explained is unfortunately still in use. Hence my comment that SINGAPORE retail is 30 behind the times.

Pricing is just one measure to get the customer. There are other things like service and bundles that help to bring value to the more discerning consumers. Unfortunately no one is ready to change the paradigm. Hence consumers suffer.

So far I think I am the only one who shared the price here..
Many of the guys dun want to share the price maybe because the shops also tell them this "I give you the lowest price but you dun post online k"

All so quiet..I think my price most ex liao..
i think ur price not bad. i was quoted $2830 from the dealer who i choose to collect my pre order from.

yup but vengal got his at 2790. i haven't got mine.

i think ur price not bad. i was quoted $2830 from the dealer who i choose to collect my pre order from.

My dealer just called me and said my reserve unit is expected to arrive after 7pm today.
He also quoted $2830, incl GST, but payment by cash or NETS only.