HELP!! My budget is....

GreenEggs_n_Ham

My budget, say S$900-2000

which digital high-enders (pref 4 MP n above) of the follwing brands fall into this price range for

1.nikon (cool pix 5000/5700 ONLY rite?)
2.canon
3.olympus
4.fuji(the s602z rite? 6 blardy MP rite?)
5.minolta?

i'm doing this cuz v v confusing lar..i keep cannot remember nikon 10D or canon 10D or canon 100d or @*$%...forget liao lar.

haha..:embrass:

pls? ppl help me gather the model numbers?

dun need specs..i can go look myself..

thanks...

greeneggs:gbounce:

the only digital SLRs that fall into your price range are 2nd hand Canon D30, D60 or Fuji S1pro. These models are not longer in production so you can't find them in shops.

The other models you are thinking of are not DSLRs, they are prosumer digicams.

eh paiseh..haha..edited post liao..

looking for those mid-high enders lah..like nikon 5000 and nikon 5700..

the others too high liao..:p

ok here we go:

1) Nikon - 4500, 5000, 5700
2) Canon - s30, s45, s50, G3
3) Olympus - 5050z, E-10, E-20
4) Fuji - s602z
5) Minolta- Dimage 7hi

THANKS TWEEK

BUT arh...now...errrmmm...hahaa... u noe the est. pricing for each? the websites NEVER show one..

:embrass:

this I'm not too updated..

I'm sure some others here can help u. :)

thanks tweek :D :D

anyone can help pls?
canon ONLY the G3 arh...

or even better,

anyone with 2nd hand stuff to sell b/w $1000-2000?

:gbounce:

so many ppl selling thier 602z

HO-SAEY LAR!!!

fwahseh

heh now to haggle prices..

my panasonic $899 i haggle until $700

hahahaa

:gbounce: :gbounce:

Originally posted by GreenEggs_n_Ham
HO-SAEY LAR!!!

fwahseh

heh now to haggle prices..

my panasonic $899 i haggle until $700

hahahaa

:gbounce: :gbounce:

So you bought already? I would recommend you get the 602z or the Olympus E-20...

think i'll post a new thread, after seeing the various cams online..

okok..

i have FIVE choices

1-Olympus 5050
2-Fuji S602Z
3-Olympus E10/E20
4-Nikon CoolPix 5700
5-Minolta Dimage 7i

I would take Nikon,Minolta OR Fuji for the ZOOM

what are your opinions??

:confused: :confused: :confused:

Depends on the functions and controls it can provide too :) Zoom isn't everything ;)

Have u tried here ? It should give u a good enough side-by-side, rough estimation of prices and features.

Originally posted by espn
Depends on the functions and controls it can provide too :) Zoom isn't everything ;)

actually, if i'm planning for macros shooting and wouldn't want to spend extra on lens, i guess i'd go for zoom..

thanks for ur comments...

How about the Sony F717? Got consider? 5X optical zoom if u looking for more telephoto. Used it before, & it's pretty good too.

Of the choices available, I'd narrow down to a few (prices are approximate street price now):
1) Canon G3 ($1200)
2) Nikon 5700 ($1600-1800, depends on timing. No stock:expensive, which is normally the case)
3) Olympus 5050 (not sure, but estimate around $1400-1500)

Olympus E-10/20 are famous for very long write times to the CF, sometimes as long as 10-20 seconds from what I read. Out for me.

Fuji S602 is pretty good too, but it's getting a bit dated now.

I'm not keen on Minolta 7Hi/7i cameras, and not as popular. Not sure why.

Just my opinion here...:)

Equoted from Cathay Photos on 25April

1) Olympus C5050Z @ S$1,200.00
2) FuijiFilm S602z @ S$1,010.00
3) Nikon 5700 @ S$1,600.00

Price : nett and subject to 4% GST
Availability : ex-stock subject to prior sales, unless otherwise stated.
Terms of Payment : Cash / Net

In the end I bought a Sony F717 for $1.35k, very satisfied with it :)

These are the factors I considered with other models before buying the Sony F717

1. Canon G3 - 4MP, 4x optical zoom, not so good with macro, plastic body. Average overall
2. Olympus C5050Z - 5PM, 3x optical zoom, bright lens (F1.8), uses 4x AA Batteries (Said that in review that it last quite long), Said from review that noise level is higher compared to other models ? Metallic body.
3. Fujifilm 602z - 3MP (interpolated 6mp??), 6x optical zoom, good at macro (1cm ?), Aperture from F2.8 to F11. Very fast shutter speed (1/10000 ?), Uses 4x AA Batteries, Plastic body.
4. Nikon 5700 - 5 MP, 8x optical zoom, Aperture from F2.8 to F8 ? Metallic Body.
5. Sony F717 - 5MP, 5x optical zoom, Aperture (F2 to F8), lens is made from quality glass and coating designed by Carl Zeiss, Good at macro (2cm?), uses memory stick instead of CF, Heaviest of the lot. Metallic body.

I think GreenEggs has bought already! :D

lol

no larrr

i met one of the forum users today at the Armour Road Relay, his name is mike, and he advised me to save up for a real DSLR...

i was thinking, and well, i would want to save up still then... only one more k to go..

but thanks anyway..

(however, if there's a cheap, attractive, 2nd coming my way, i'd still consider... :D )

you can get a used (but still under warranty) D60 for about $1900-$2200 now. Why don't you try that instead of getting brand new...