Gracious society...

little effort in place to enforce a law against littering, makes a mockery of it.

Maybe they should devert the resources to more productive works... but if we want to have and want to be gracious then what can be done?

have enough enforcement staff loh. not just for initial show of force.

I just read The Straits Times today that some tertiary students are doing some anti-chope seats with tissue packet program. :thumbsup:

Let's see how it works. It is our culture and I doubt it is practised elsewhere!

Interesting article.... you don't find such behaviour elsewhere!:bsmilie:

hmm... "Gracious society" sounds familiar... sort of heard about it long long time back... I thought it's already EOL'ed?

Still alive and not so gracious!

Last week I decided to use public transport during the peak morning hours.

I took a feeder service to MRT.

I stepped into the bus. Found once Chinese lady(about 55 yeras old), sitting diagonally across two seats with her bag on another seat although the bus was crowded. I sat on the seat and she had no choice but removed her bag.

Next a young Malay lady, well dressed stood beside where i was sitting. Along the journey, she started to cough although she used her fist to cover her mouth...

I went to the MRT... I noticed people standing on the left side of the elevator. This allowed ppl in a rush to use the left side of the elevator.

At the point of entrance into the train, ppl crowded around the entrance and rushed into the train when the doors opened blocking those leaving the train.

This is absolutely true. the other day i was going home from the barrage from marina bay station, and had to change trains to go home. I was trying to get out of the train at city hall, but the people were standing right in front of the door when its opened, and when the doors opened, they juz rushed in, even though there were a lot of people exiting the train. i was cheezed off, cos poeple were smacking into me, so i sorta shoved my way out of the train, hitting a few people.

then when i reached my destination station, same thing happened. but this time it was worse, people were not juz rushing in, they seemed to be sprinting in. that got me, and i bulldozed my way out, knocking at least 2 people off balance, but they cant fall cos of the pple behind them rushing in too.

I am not particularly proud of this, but what the h***, why cant they wait for 4-5 secs for pple to exit the trains before they board? the trains wun juz run away right. i just thought that, there is no point being nice to rude people.

This is absolutely true. the other day i was going home from the barrage from marina bay station, and had to change trains to go home. I was trying to get out of the train at city hall, but the people were standing right in front of the door when its opened, and when the doors opened, they juz rushed in, even though there were a lot of people exiting the train. i was cheezed off, cos poeple were smacking into me, so i sorta shoved my way out of the train, hitting a few people.

then when i reached my destination station, same thing happened. but this time it was worse, people were not juz rushing in, they seemed to be sprinting in. that got me, and i bulldozed my way out, knocking at least 2 people off balance, but they cant fall cos of the pple behind them rushing in too.

I am not particularly proud of this, but what the h***, why cant they wait for 4-5 secs for pple to exit the trains before they board? the trains wun juz run away right. i just thought that, there is no point being nice to rude people.

oh yeah I like sticking my elbows out and pushing against people.
You have the right of way if you are exiting.
Hit enough people hard enough and they'll realise that it's not so nice to rush in.

I find it very...uh...kiasu and tasteless to go into an elevator going down so that you are already inside when it goes back up.
Have done it a few times, but get so embarrassed sometimes I just take the escalator instead of joining the crowd.

Hit enough people hard enough and they'll realise that it's not so nice to rush in.

I find it very...uh...kiasu and tasteless to go into an elevator going down so that you are already inside when it goes back up.
Have done it a few times, but get so embarrassed sometimes I just take the escalator instead of joining the crowd.

One of main causes is ppl blocking the entrance. If they move towards the centre... it maybe easier to move in and out... also ppl dont care. They just want to get in...:devil::devil::devil:

Singapore breeds contempt. :) its strange, how Singaporeans (in general) respect authority, and yet show such contempt towards certain laws.

It is an universal problem!

Dash out and they will give way...charge like a Bull!

What is the outcome?

Recently I tried to spoil the market and throw my Mac's leftovers myself. However, almost 9 out of 10, I encountered the rubbish bin is full!!! Sometime even caused those over filling wasted cups and plate dropped out of the rubbish bin, and even dirtied the floor. Looks like non of the Macs I visited truly encourage self dispose, but better to leave them to the "Professionals" to collect for you, which normally I realised they will empty the rubbish bin before collecting the waste from the tables.

Or, should I also do that, i.e. to empty the rubbish bin for them also?

Sad.....

Recently I tried to spoil the market and throw my Mac's leftovers myself. However, almost 9 out of 10, I encountered the rubbish bin is full!!! Sometime even caused those over filling wasted cups and plate dropped out of the rubbish bin, and even dirtied the floor. Looks like non of the Macs I visited truly encourage self dispose, but better to leave them to the "Professionals" to collect for you, which normally I realised they will empty the rubbish bin before collecting the waste from the tables.

Or, should I also do that, i.e. to empty the rubbish bin for them also?

Sad.....

Never thought of that although I have seen this often. Town Council or HDB must put in more effort to clear the bins more regularly.

U if you care to walk around neighbourhood shopping centre, most of times you dont see any bin.
Does that give a person an excuse to litter?

Never thought of that although I have seen this often. Town Council or HDB must put in more effort to clear the bins more regularly.

U if you care to walk around neighbourhood shopping centre, most of times you dont see any bin.
Does that give a person an excuse to litter?

Sorry, I dun mean bins around, but inside fast food rest, like Mac.

That's bad for a place like Mac! But this also happened at HDB Shopping Centre... especially on weekends! but workers also need a break right.. foreigh workers!

At least u are bold to tell... :bsmilie::bsmilie:

QUOTE]

Dunno ... I hardly ever seem to encounter this problem when I take MRT ...

and sling my >5kg studio tripod in front of me. :bsmilie: