Good bye Sony

Anyway, I m still puzzling over A 900 ISO noise issue, despite trying some noise soft ware,I still feels it had losses detail from the picture. Any body can enlightening me?:D
Is NR in your camera on?

Anyway, I am not coming back to Sony lah, Sony is very good but I have my eyes on Canon liao. 500D is coming out.

I have recently switch off the NR, But under low light is still a problem;(

hi brothers post me some picture when your:D gears are ready.

Yeah, Keep NR off in your cam. What noise reduction software do you use?

If you are taking portraiture photos, you do not have to reduce noise really, just smoothen the skin and the noise is gone.

Here is a shot using A700 @ ISO1600, noise is not really a problem there.

3373594206_eecc4e0acf_b.jpg

Anyway, I m still puzzling over A 900 ISO noise issue, despite trying some noise soft ware,I still feels it had losses detail from the picture. Any body can enlightening me?:D

Any noise reduction, including NR software, will usually result in detail loss.

seriously the in camera NR aint that bad after all.

shots below are direct raw conversion with no further NR applied & taken @ ISO1600 and very much usable.

3392810708_7e6f407e60_b.jpg

3392810926_9cc449e72e_b.jpg

3392000335_2042467728_b.jpg

2nd pic look very noisy for me

Just curious.
How you all the 'gurus' (well seniors :p ), handle this noise issue?
I try my best not to use ISO 1600 & 3200 in my cam (A350), but you know, always have condition unavoidable to use it.

I'm no senior, but all I can say is, dun worry about noise :P

I shoot at 1600 very often, and 3200 when situation arises, and 6400 at unthinkable conditions :P

Noise at 6400 is not too bad as long as you do not pixel peep

Here is a pic from AMW that is using A900 at ISO3200

1zzs84z.jpg

2nd pic look very noisy for me

Just curious.
How you all the 'gurus' (well seniors :p ), handle this noise issue?
I try my best not to use ISO 1600 & 3200 in my cam (A350), but you know, always have condition unavoidable to use it.

camera regardless of brand will have some form of noise @ high iso. the only difference is how each image processor perform the NR routine.

If you are shooting JPEGs, having DRO turned on will cause noises. So far, having sony built in noise reduction on their cameras no problem BUT if you are using the cameras like A300/A350 with live view on and doing shooting a bit of noise will be utilised. That is the reason why sony did not produce live view on their semi pro bodies. The results will be worse.

:cool: Your portraits :thumbsup: Many are shoot o n daylight. Anyway, I ' m still evaluating the A-900 hope sony will come out a better solution to fit the ISO noise.:rolleyes:

If you are shooting JPEGs, having DRO turned on will cause noises. So far, having sony built in noise reduction on their cameras no problem BUT if you are using the cameras like A300/A350 with live view on and doing shooting a bit of noise will be utilised. That is the reason why sony did not produce live view on their semi pro bodies. The results will be worse.

No... Live view uses a different sensor. You can't "utilize noise" to achieve live view.

Yes, I know that, I don't mind there is no live view, not the Cannon 5DMKII with video and thus causes black hot spot problems.:bsmilie:

:cool: Your portraits :thumbsup: Many are shoot o n daylight. Anyway, I ' m still evaluating the A-900 hope sony will come out a better solution to fit the ISO noise.:rolleyes:
A900's noise is good enough as it is, you try downsampling A900's pictures to 12mp and compare with A700, you will find A900 has less noise than a700.

Why so bothered about noise control? I have seen pictures which uses alot of noise. We should not be bounded by what our cameras can do or can't do, work around the perceived limitations and let our creative juices run! :)

To each its own, if not brothers tabako wont be jumping ship to join cannon liao, also the products manufacturer will have to improve their quality in order to keep tracks on the customers base and requirement. Jin yi chiu jin in chinese proverbs.:bsmilie:

chiu xin lah I think thats what u meant

Ya I know about the hotshoe adapter that costs $15. I thought about it, but still lack of 3rd party acessories, at least to me.

And since I have not had it very long, I decided to bail.

photography is not about gadget, you dont need them all. you dont need lot of gadgets to take good photo.

bye.