Garden City

???Purchase??? You think print Jua-zee ($$) is it yah?!

Alamak .. modern age where need to print one .. all digital liao .. so you dun bluff bluff .. even purchase are made using plastics

Just did being googling around .. seems that the N10-24 is safe for IR and it actually looks pretty good .. :sweat:

you trust googling yah?
So often the online review says good good good, no hot spot no hot spot - then end up hot spot like nobody's business.
I trust LowLight's own eyes.
Look carefully at the Nikon 10-24 photo the whole night tonight.
Look at it again and again.
Better yet, do a Hue and Saturation and bump up the Red to see if the central part reddens up significantly or not.
Then tomorrow go down and give it another run for the money until you are dead sure no hotspot.
Bring your MacBook Pro along. (I am sure you will. I no need to tell you one lah. You old bird liao.)

you trust googling yah?
So often the online review says good good good, no hot spot no hot spot - then end up hot spot like nobody's business.
I trust LowLight's own eyes.
Look carefully at the Nikon 10-24 photo the whole night tonight.
Look at it again and again.
Better yet, do a Hue and Saturation and bump up the Red to see if the central part reddens up significantly or not.
Then tomorrow go down and give it another run for the money until you are dead sure no hotspot.
Bring your MacBook Pro along. (I am sure you will. I no need to tell you one lah. You old bird liao.)

That's the thing .. I actually did pump up the Red .. the Tokina has not sign of Hot Spot .. but like I say I see it in the LCD of the D50 .. think better go sleep earlier

Google for photos .. not just TCSS .. from photos looks promising .. anyway .. hope tomorrow BRIGHT sun that we all know for certain.. I think N10-24 is a safer bet..

That's the thing .. I actually did pump up the Red .. the Tokina has not sign of Hot Spot .. but like I say I see it in the LCD of the D50 .. think better go sleep earlier

Google for photos .. not just TCSS .. from photos looks promising .. anyway .. hope tomorrow BRIGHT sun that we all know for certain.. I think N10-24 is a safer bet..

No signs of increased Reds.
That's good.
From what I have understood from my readings, HotSpot is:

• an uneven increase in the amount of a particular hue in the centre, e.g. Red or Magenta.
  • an uneven and unnatural increase in brightness in the centre of the picture.
Thus, in my opinion, the second reason could explain why there seems to be a hot spot in your Tokina shot, even though the Red is not increased when you bumped it up.
So indeed, it would be a good idea to shoot until they drop (not you drop) tomorrow. hahaha....

Bro LowLights, my verdict from your test shots today... i vouch for Tokina 11-16... in my eyes it looks sharp and the gold-yellow, as the result of 620nm IR filter, looks brighter and more contrast than the other UWA lenses you've tested.

Maybe i should borrow Tokina 11-16 to test shoot with my D70-IR (R72) ;p

No signs of increased Reds.
That's good.
From what I have understood from my readings, HotSpot is:

• an uneven increase in the amount of a particular hue in the centre, e.g. Red or Magenta.
  • an uneven and unnatural increase in brightness in the centre of the picture.
Thus, in my opinion, the second reason could explain why there seems to be a hot spot in your Tokina shot, even though the Red is not increased when you bumped it up.
So indeed, it would be a good idea to shoot until they drop (not you drop) tomorrow. hahaha....

Red .. but all red together for the tokina but nikon large patch .. not as even as tokina .. but light was not as bright when testing the Nikon..

Bro LowLights, my verdict from your test shots today... i vouch for Tokina 11-16... in my eyes it looks sharp and the gold-yellow, as the result of 620nm IR filter, looks brighter and more contrast than the other UWA lenses you've tested.

Maybe i should borrow Tokina 11-16 to test shoot with my D70-IR (R72) ;p

Yes.. I too think that the Tokina is sharper .. but as I mentioned in my reply to limwhow .. when the shot was taken it was brighter then the Nikon turn

And the softness of the Nikon could be my fault .. not that I am siding it or anything like that

So bo bian tomorrow one more test between the 2 of them :sweat:

Yes.. I too think that the Tokina is sharper .. but as I mentioned in my reply to limwhow .. when the shot was taken it was brighter then the Nikon turn

And the softness of the Nikon could be my fault .. not that I am siding it or anything like that

So bo bian tomorrow one more test between the 2 of them :sweat:

If you're testing them tomorrow, do tag me along to test with my D70-IR (R72).

The shop you went today looks familiar... and my workplace is nearby.

Please let me know so that i can get my stuffs ready to meet you tomorrow ;)

this was a shot using the toki 11-16 on my ELP moded D70, although this was heavily PPed to mask the hotspot, it was still visible and BIG:bsmilie: just right there in the middle...

5056878703_d41aa634a4_b.jpg

But I must say, Wurdelak, you sure have done a great job getting rid of that big hotspot.
LowLights... you heard that? You saw that?

But I must say, Wurdelak, you sure have done a great job getting rid of that big hotspot.
LowLights... you heard that? You saw that?

Ya lah .. Heard Heard Heard

Yes .. Saw Saw Saw

Ps or not dun like the sea of Hot Spot

Thanks bro Wuderlak for sharing your experience with Tokina 11-16

However, i am still not convinced... i think we must shoot some same photog but in many different f-stops... i believe it's hot-spot is related to the aperture settings...

We see how tomorrow for another round of test :)

agree with you bro surreal... must test!;) just to add... i was using F8 on this, as bro limwhow would know... that's my permanent IR aperture!:bsmilie:

Sorry, LowLights.
Whatever it is, I will have to gate crash your this thread to share with you my shots. HAHAHAHAHA....

These are some shots taken on my R72 with Tokina 11-16mm on the 2nd October at Far East Square.

A.
Here is the first one.
The sun is behind me, ad it was a very very hot and bright afternoon.
I was using aperture f/5.0.
A hint of the hot spot. But because the sun is behind, it was not so obvious.

5057553132_e7db543b8c_b.jpg

B.
Then after that I went inside.
Using f/5.6 I shot this.
Here the central hot spot was Blue, exactly the same Hue as its surrounding, thus like your case at Hill Street - no extra Hue but just increased amount of brightness.
5057545678_547990c4dc_b.jpg

C.

Then, I buay gam guan.
I told myself: "Heck, I will go out to the Bright Bright Sun and use Big Big aperture to shoot."
And here I was, using f/2.8 and with the sun behind me (er.. on top of me...) .
And see what we have smack right in the centre?
Beyond doubt - an egg yoke of hot spot.

5056943177_c7c9fbbaba_b.jpg

Edit: Sorry, Gentlemen. Add in one last one.
D.
I thought I'd try with f/3.5.
5057604616_3eb603a45b_b.jpg

Sorry sorry, LowLights. No intention of converting your Garden City thread to another something else.
But I thought since we were on this issue of Hotspots on Tokina 11-16mm, might as well give it all out and share and show lor.
Don't mind me putting all these photos hor...

Wow... bro limwhow you've very nice shots with the Tokina 11-16 :thumbsup:

I checked and i don't see any hot-spots in your shots... you know why?

Becoz you're the Wizard of IR-colour, you've attained the highest level of 'gong-fu' skill to render hot-spots invisable liao :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Still i am not convinced that Toki 11-16 got hot-spots ;)

More fair test tomorrow :cool:

Wow... bro limwhow you've very nice shots with the Tokina 11-16 :thumbsup:

I checked and i don't see any hot-spots in your shots... you know why?

Becoz you're the Wizard of IR-colour, you've attained the highest level of 'gong-fu' skill to render hot-spots invisable liao :thumbsup:

Still i am not convinced that Toki 11-16 got hot-spots ;)

More fair test tomorrow :cool:

Aiyoh... now I can't even convince you liao... cos you see too much of my colour-ed IR already until my simple channel-swapped ones also appear coloured too.. Wahahahaha....!
This is called the story of the 狼来了. Shouted too many times 'Wolf coming' until no one believes me already. HAHAHAHA...:mad2:

Aiyoh... now I can't even convince you liao... cos you see too much of my colour-ed IR already until my simple channel-swapped ones also appear coloured too.. Wahahahaha....!
This is called the story of the 狼来了. Shouted too many times 'Wolf coming' until no one believes me already. HAHAHAHA...:mad2:

Relax and chill lah bro... i appreciate your advices de.

There are already mixed reviews on lenses good/no good for IR.

So i think its best to actually set some FAIR testings on the spot.

I will bring my tripod so that i will shoot same view of the photog but in many different apertures. And no PP... just RAW photogs... hopefully from there then can see got hot-spot or not. Will take into consideration the brightness of the sun, and where the sun is :cool:

Relax and chill lah bro... i appreciate your advices de.

There are already mixed reviews on lenses good/no good for IR.

So i think its best to actually set some FAIR testings on the spot.

I will bring my tripod so that i will shoot same view of the photog but in many different apertures. And no PP... just RAW photogs... hopefully from there then can see got hot-spot or not. Will take into consideration the brightness of the sun, and where the sun is :cool:

Good good.
I joking only lah. No worries... Hahaha...!
Sincerely awaiting your test result.
Actually it would be good if there is a modified Canon camera to shoot with to compare because I have ever heard that different camera brands also have different effects on the hotspot-causing property of certain lenses.

Good good.
I joking only lah. No worries... Hahaha...!
Sincerely awaiting your test result.
Actually it would be good if there is a modified Canon camera to shoot with to compare because I have ever heard that different camera brands also have different effects on the hotspot-causing property of certain lenses.

But i am from the Dark Side leh... unless the White Side also can come meet us tomorrow to test together... And then we will become the combination of the Yin-Yang theology... principal of Tao :D