Full Frame by PENTAX 2016 Spring

When you first mentioned VN distro said close to D810 price, I sian half...

But NOW ...

WOW! :bigeyes::bigeyes:
USD$1799

This is A LOT of camera for this price
Not to mention that I can use the lovely limiteds in FA* on it.

But locally the distributor might charge more. Have they started a pre-order? Me thinks with the Aussie dollar so low might be worthwhile to buy from there.

Not something thought up by bean counters....

A Labour of Love...

“
How was the PENTAX K-1 born? The starting point for its development was unique. In an ordinary product development process, RICOH IMAGING’s product planning team initiates a project. Only when this project is officially approved, actual development takes place.

This wasn’t the case with the PENTAX K-1. In the spring a few years ago, I was invited to a meeting organized by our engineers. At the meeting, I was joined by a group of more than 10 engineers from various engineering fields — mechanical, electrical, firmware designing, and optical,” recalls one of the product development team members. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the core technologies that would be essential for the development of a 35mm full-frame digital SLR camera. It wasn’t even an official project yet, and no concrete plans had been made regarding the product’s concept or outline. The meeting happened completely because of the engineering designers’ desire and determination to succeed in the project. "

A must read :
http://www.pentax.com/en/k-1/challengers/challengers01.html

But locally the distributor might charge more. Have they started a pre-order? Me thinks with the Aussie dollar so low might be worthwhile to buy from there.

Dunno... Hope they know how to keep fans happy... :D

When you first mentioned VN distro said close to D810 price, I sian half...

But NOW ...

WOW! :bigeyes::bigeyes:
USD$1799

This is A LOT of camera for this price
Not to mention that I can use the lovely limiteds in FA* on it.
That might be their strategy this time to make everyone feel shiok shiok ....! :)

Very good price at launch for such a body!

Great price.
But I wonder how would it perform on all my DAstar lens? It would be a waste to change all my lens just becos of buying a full frame body

Great price.
But I wonder how would it perform on all my DAstar lens? It would be a waste to change all my lens just becos of buying a full frame body

The beauty of the K1 is that even DA lens can be used full frame. [Correct me if I'm wrong]

Great price.

There is a page on DP review on the DA lenses on k1..other than the wide angle (14,15 and 21) and DA zoom, all other DA lenses can be used on k1 (either stopped down or fully functional

DA 14mm Crop Mode Only
DA 21mm Limited Crop Mode Only
DA 15 F4 Limited Crop Mode Only
DA 35mm F2.4 Stopped-down
DA 35mm F2.8 Macro Stopped-down
DA 40mm Limited Stopped-down
DA 40mm XS Stopped-down
DA 50mm F1.8 Stopped-down
DA* 55mm F1.4 Stopped-down
DA 70mm Limited Stopped-down
DA* 200mm F2.8 SDM Fully Functional
DA* 300mm F4 SDM Fully Functional
DA 560mm F5.6 Fully Functional
RC1.4X Crop Mode Only

The company says that all of the DA zooms will only cover the crop sensor region.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/pentax-k-1

The beauty of the K1 is that even DA lens can be used full frame. [Correct me if I'm wrong]

No, its just that there is a crop mode for DA lenses.
Also as mentioned by Yama above, some DA lenses work (to a point ) for the FF image circle.

Size is good for the specs but weight is about 300gm more than either. Better start training those arms!

It looks like a Terminator (with metal skeleton inside ) :D

I am collecting orders now. bulk purchase:bsmilie::bsmilie:..So far arh... arh...:bsmilie:

toto or no toto, buy first la..:bigeyes:

otc

I am collecting orders now. bulk purchase:bsmilie::bsmilie:..So far arh... arh...:bsmilie:

toto or no toto, buy first la..:bigeyes:

otc

wah seh.. go marcus go!! heeheh

Just a quick counting the number of native, still in production full frame lenses that are available now for the Pentax K-1. from 15mm all the way to 560mm: not bad at all, lor! :)

- Pentax HD DFA 15-30/2.8 SDM WR
- Pentax DFA 24-70/2.8 SDM WR
- Pentax DFA 28-105/3.5-5.6 DC WR Kit lens
- Pentax FA 31/1.8 Limited
- Pentax DA 35/2.4
- Pentax HD DA 40/2.8 limited (remove the rounded hood)
- Pentax FA 43/1.9 limited
- Pentax DA 50/1.8
- Pentax DA* 55/1.4 SDM WR
- Pentax HD DA 70/2.4 Limited
- Pentax HD DFA* 70-200/2.8 DC AW
- Pentax FA 77/1.8 Limited
- Pentax DFA 100/2.8 Macro WR
- Pentax HD DFA 150-450/4.5-5.6 DC AW
- Pentax DA* 200/2.8 SDM WR
- Pentax DA* 300/4 SDM WR
- Pentax HD DA 560/5.6 SDM AW

Just a quick counting the number of native, still in production full frame lenses that are available now for the Pentax K-1. from 15mm all the way to 560mm: not bad at all, lor! :)

I think another FF lens still in production but often forgotten by many, that will be Pentax FA 35/2.
Added FA50/1.4 to the list too.

- Pentax FA 35/2
- Pentax DA 35/2.4
- Pentax FA 50/1.4
- Pentax DA 50/1.8

I think another FF lens still in production but often forgotten by many, that will be Pentax FA 35/2.
Added FA50/1.4 to the list too.

- Pentax FA 35/2
- Pentax DA 35/2.4
- Pentax FA 50/1.4
- Pentax DA 50/1.8

In fact, its more lens than what most shooters will need.
Add in the 3rd party ones for variety/budget and in fact its a complete line at launch of a new FF product! :cool:

Did we leave out the DA*60-250??

In fact, its more lens than what most shooters will need.
Add in the 3rd party ones for variety/budget and in fact its a complete line at launch of a new FF product! :cool:

Did we leave out the DA*60-250??
I did try the DA* 60-250 on FF before and if I remember correctly, it vignettes quite significant near the 60mm end. Above 100mm, it is really good.

[video=youtube_share;CvCxb17LIwo]https://youtu.be/CvCxb17LIwo[/video]

at the 3.20min mark, the reviewer tried the 6-250..it vignettes abit but based on the reviewer, it seem to be usable on FF but I supposed it depend on individual preference as Ricoh seem to view all DA zoom as crop only on FF