Fujifilm S100FS

$840 is with a 2gb card only.

Can get additional 2GB SD Card from Fuji counter @Suntec if you purchase during GSS;)
Currently out of stock for most store, was told that their agent can't get any stock for them.
For those store that had stock, there prices are so much higher.
So need to wait loh:sweatsm:

There's still one set at TKFoto when I was there today, 200608(Fri), $850 and 2 x 2GB SDHC.

I didn't get it as I'm out of funds for this month as I had to repair my Nikon 18-200mm lens.

HTH.

Hello all,

Does anyone care to share some more photo's you have taken with this camera,
(I guess a few have owned one for a while now).

What is your opinion about the camera since it's release ?

Any views and photo samples are greatly appreciated.

Cheers :)

Just got my S100FS on Wednesday (as a Father's Day present to myself!), but I only managed a little hands-on time with it so far, and even then mostly at night. I previously had (still have) a Canon A570IS, which got me learning more about using a camera beyond just P&S, seeing that it had quite a hefty list of manual controls in such an affordable package. It still takes great shots in good light, but my house is rather dim, and the Canon's low light performance is NOT GOOD, while its flash recycle time is pathetic, so I began checking if I could do better.

Was sorely tempted to go the DSLR route, but I knew it was not practical, as it almost guaranteed a step into the abyss of upgrading. But the real deal-breaker was basically that SLRs don't shoot movies, which I need to do with my 3 kiddies. Lugging around an extra camcorder was not an option...

So the Fuji looked like a good compromise. A sensor above P&S, functionality of an SLR, huge zoom with manual control, tilting screen, and movies to boot! I read about the purple fringing, and have already experienced it, but for what I intend to shoot (mostly people and some nature close-ups), I don't see that it will affect me greatly.

Enough babbling. How are the pictures? Very impressive, from this amateur's perspective. Colours are very natural, noise is kept quite firmly at bay up to about ISO800, and the zoom is proving to be very useful. Here's one I took last night outside a nearby church, handheld:

DSCF0204b.jpg

Really need to get a proper tripod now...

Finally got my S100FS at South Asia Computer @$899.
Bundle with the following gifts:
normally given - 2gb SD Card,Cam Casing
To be redeem @ suntec -2gb SD Card,sling bag
From South Asia - additional battery(1200mAh), 1.3m tripod & screen protector.

Been looking for this cam for more that a month & seems that almost all store are out of stock.
BTW South Asia also left with 2 sets only.
Try to lower the price by rejecting the tripod but they only offer to discount by $10, so in the end get everything @ $899;p
After getting this cam, found that got no time to use it as very busy with work recently:sweatsm:

Just got my S100FS on Wednesday (as a Father's Day present to myself!), but I only managed a little hands-on time with it so far, and even then mostly at night. I previously had (still have) a Canon A570IS, which got me learning more about using a camera beyond just P&S, seeing that it had quite a hefty list of manual controls in such an affordable package. It still takes great shots in good light, but my house is rather dim, and the Canon's low light performance is NOT GOOD, while its flash recycle time is pathetic, so I began checking if I could do better.

Was sorely tempted to go the DSLR route, but I knew it was not practical, as it almost guaranteed a step into the abyss of upgrading. But the real deal-breaker was basically that SLRs don't shoot movies, which I need to do with my 3 kiddies. Lugging around an extra camcorder was not an option...

So the Fuji looked like a good compromise. A sensor above P&S, functionality of an SLR, huge zoom with manual control, tilting screen, and movies to boot! I read about the purple fringing, and have already experienced it, but for what I intend to shoot (mostly people and some nature close-ups), I don't see that it will affect me greatly.

Enough babbling. How are the pictures? Very impressive, from this amateur's perspective. Colours are very natural, noise is kept quite firmly at bay up to about ISO800, and the zoom is proving to be very useful. Here's one I took last night outside a nearby church, handheld:

DSCF0204b.jpg

Really need to get a proper tripod now...

Photo quite ok:)
How much you get the cam?

Same as kmlee, $833/w GST from Parisilk Holland V. Comes with 2GB sd card only.

wah. sure anot? i called them, they say $833 cannot. min $850. who is your salesman?

Yeah, $779 before GST. This was from the Managing Partner, Kevin (got his name card). They didn't have stock at that time, and when he wrote down my name in his reserve book, he included the price, so I guess the guy who followed up later couldn't say otherwise.

I don't know if this is related, but Bargaincity's price for the S100FS has actually gone up. Was $939 a couple of weeks ago, now it's $959. Go figure...

wow. wonder whats with this sudden popularity of the camera...

Yeah, $779 before GST. This was from the Managing Partner, Kevin (got his name card). They didn't have stock at that time, and when he wrote down my name in his reserve book, he included the price, so I guess the guy who followed up later couldn't say otherwise.

I don't know if this is related, but Bargaincity's price for the S100FS has actually gone up. Was $939 a couple of weeks ago, now it's $959. Go figure...
i see. u got it last week on wed? cos i gave up my "reserved" $850 set on fri afternoon as i was unable to collect it.

Yup, went down on Sat (14 Jun), that was when I was quoted $833. Stock arrived on Tuesday 17 Jun.

Yah I was really surprised by this. Probably the first time a tech gadget went up in price while still in production. :devil:

Most store said that a lots of people ask for this model but their agent don't had stock.
Those that can stock are those bigger stores but also limited in qty.
Quite disturbing news as if Fujifilm is actually stopping production or something wrong with this cam;p
Doesn't meet the demand & supply theory leh:think:

wah. sure anot? i called them, they say $833 cannot. min $850. who is your salesman?

Similar case here.
I call them last wednesday and was quoted $860 but also out of stock.
They said they will be able to get the stock on Friday.
Most likely they know that this cam is getting popular(must be our Csers that saw kmlee's post:bsmilie:) and thus markup the price;p

Most store said that a lots of people ask for this model but their agent don't had stock.
Those that can stock are those bigger stores but also limited in qty.
Quite disturbing news as if Fujifilm is actually stopping production or something wrong with this cam;p
Doesn't meet the demand & supply theory leh:think:

Nope Fujifilm is still producing it; stocks coming in for John 3:16 tomorrow. I think the shops just don't/can't take in too many at a time. But Fujifilm isn't exactly very good at supplying the demand, as we have seen with the F30/F31fd models :bsmilie:

No word yet from MScolor about the stock too as I emailed for a price quote a few days ago.

Nope Fujifilm is still producing it; stocks coming in for John 3:16 tomorrow. I think the shops just don't/can't take in too many at a time. But Fujifilm isn't exactly very good at supplying the demand, as we have seen with the F30/F31fd models :bsmilie:

They had been giving me the same answer for almost 3 week liao;p
Always say will come in 1 or 2 days later but always delay.
One thing I like about them is their service, that's why I keep going back to them for stock until can't tahan liao so brought from South Asia Computer.

For those who are interested in getting the Remote Release, RR-80, you have to get it from the Fujifilm (Singapore). It's S$43 w/GST and it takes about 2 weeks for them to order from Japan.