Fuji S602Z has arrived...

is there a lot of people there? I'm thinking of going there during lunch time tomorrow to try it.

buy buy buy :gbounce: :p

Most Raffles Place road shows during lunch hours (12-2pm) very crowded...somemore this S602z only got 1 demo unit...not sure today they'll bring more units down or not...

Come before or after lunch hours...can play with it as long as you want...the mm is more tolerant too...;p

Went down to the Fuji roadshow during lunch today to see the S602. First thing I saw were the free gifts.

The tripod is a mini tripod, the legs are not extendable.
The charger I didn't see, but from the picture looks like a GP Powerbank 2, probably with 4 1600mAH batteries
They didn't have the case for the S602 there.
Flash was some el-cheapo non-swivel one, think the brand was Civica (sp?). The flash comes with a bracket, so you can use it with cameras that don't have a hotshoe.
The cap and CDROM? Don't waste my time lah.

Played with the camera for like 5 minutes. First impression was that this camera was bigger than I thought, almost the size of a small SLR. The zoom speed was very fast, you can probably zoom through the whole range faster than some cameras with 3x optical zoom. The EVF still looked pixellated compared to optical viewfinders, but I guess it's already one of the best out there.

The salesgirl told me that $1499 was the promotion price during the roadshow, after the roadshow it would sell at $1699 without the free gifts. I got a bit worried, since I thought that $1499 was the MSRP. Since the S602 is not released yet, there was no way for me to verify the information. Then I decided to ask her about the F601. Thank goodness she gave me the same sprew, that the $1099 was during the roadshow only, that it was selling for $1299 outside without free gifts. Of course I knew that AP was selling the F601 for $885 with a 128SM, so it is likely that they will sell the S602 at $1300 or less.

Originally posted by reflecx
The salesgirl told me that $1499 was the promotion price during the roadshow, after the roadshow it would sell at $1699 without the free gifts. I got a bit worried, since I thought that $1499 was the MSRP. Since the S602 is not released yet, there was no way for me to verify the information. Then I decided to ask her about the F601. Thank goodness she gave me the same sprew, that the $1099 was during the roadshow only, that it was selling for $1299 outside without free gifts. Of course I knew that AP was selling the F601 for $885 with a 128SM, so it is likely that they will sell the S602 at $1300 or less.

good move there to ask about the F601z too. :) Yup hopefully AP will sell for $1300 or less, that'll be a real blessing.

buy buy buy :gbounce: :p

Well, don't you think it's worth the extra with a chio sales girl serving you with sweet smiles? ;)

I just went to try out the S602Z also during lunch time. After playing with the camera for 10 mins, I feel I know more abt the camera than the salesgirls.

As compared to my C700, my first impressions of the S602Z are:

Zoom speed - very fast
Focus speed - pretty good
Speed of Saving of image into media - very fast, can almost cont to shoot immediately
Continuous Mode - 5 fps, very fast and useful
Weight - lighter than expected
Startup speed - quite acceptable to me

Thought this would be my dream DC to upgrade to, until ...

I found out that the picture quality setting was set at (1MP) quality....

I switched to (6MP,high), and then ...

Speed of Saving of image into media - very very slow, although the buffering allows me to shoot 2 or 3 shots before freezing for abt 5 to 10 secs to allow the images to be saved onto the media ...

I understand that the (6MP, high) is a normal 3MP TIFF ... forgot to try out (6MP, fine).... saving speed may be better

Originally posted by HOCL

I switched to (6MP,high), and then ...

Speed of Saving of image into media - very very slow, although the buffering allows me to shoot 2 or 3 shots before freezing for abt 5 to 10 secs to allow the images to be saved onto the media ...

I understand that the (6MP, high) is a normal 3MP TIFF ... forgot to try out (6MP, fine).... saving speed may be better

6MP high is a 6 megapixel 18Mb TIFF file, 5 to 10 sec is very fast already. There is little reason to use the TIFF mode since there is very little perceivable difference in the image quality compared to fine mode.

The buffer can hold 4 shots at 6MP fine (about 2.4Mb each), and shot to shot is about 1 sec for the first 4 shots. That's about twice the speed of the G2. I don't think any non-SLR digicams can match the S602 in terms of shot to shot speed.

6MP high is a 6 megapixel 18Mb TIFF file, 5 to 10 sec is very fast already. There is little reason to use the TIFF mode since there is very little perceivable difference in the image quality compared to fine mode.

The buffer can hold 4 shots at 6MP fine (about 2.4Mb each), and shot to shot is about 1 sec for the first 4 shots. That's about twice the speed of the G2. I don't think any non-SLR digicams can match the S602 in terms of shot to shot speed.

6MB high is 18Mb??? :eek: actually, I didn't know (6MB,high) is TIFF until I came back and check the dpreview site ...

1 sec shot to shot for 6MP,fine is good! How abt after the 4 consecutive shots? Did you try that?

GOOD NEWS GUYS

I just checked with AP, s602z will be selling at AP at beginning of June (right after the official launch), at a price of $1100 to $1200! That's damn cheap man for such a cam. Also asked what free gifts he will give, and the onli free gift is the camera case.

So, any more potential s602z owners?? :D :D I may get it if I successfully get a bursary I am applying for.

1200 !?? so cheap !! wah.. really must go and get liao !! it's def worth it !

does anyone know if the 602 can fit 3rd party lenses?

i'm really an amatuer.. can it fit telephoto lenses ? i dunno what filters are.. can it fit those SLR tube-looking lenses? can increase the optical zoom.. possible to attach them to it to allow manual zooming with twist of the ring ?

Originally posted by Tweek
GOOD NEWS GUYS

I just checked with AP, s602z will be selling at AP at beginning of June (right after the official launch), at a price of $1100 to $1200! That's damn cheap man for such a cam. Also asked what free gifts he will give, and the onli free gift is the camera case.

So, any more potential s602z owners?? :D :D I may get it if I successfully get a bursary I am applying for.

Perhaps we could buy together for a better offer price from AP?

buy buy buy :gbounce:

Originally posted by Tweek
GOOD NEWS GUYS

:devil: Heeeeee...... :devil:

:devil: BUY BUY BUY :devil:

maybe buy in bulk can break the 1k limit !

so much interest ;p I might get it right after my exams if it's available ;p