Fort Canning 21 Mar 2010

thanks bro!

it is IR indeed, bro... used some white balance and EV manipulation...:)

Interesting hor?
You are on the ELP right, Wurdelak?
How does EV affect your colour turn out?

And to every one, experienced IR shooters and new comers to IR alike, I have a question:
from your own experience, what kind of impact has EV on the colours of your IR shots?
And in what way are you able to obtain more colours from your final shot?

Thanks for all your replies!

thanks bro!

Interesting hor?

And to every one, experienced IR shooters and new comers to IR alike, I have a question:
from your own experience, what kind of impact has EV on the colours of your IR shots?

yup, ELP user here bro, from my unexperienced eyes, the difference that ev manipulation makes is the richer color and shadows when you step down... in PP, i think it will give you a lot of options when you play with the hue and saturation map. to the gurus here, please correct me if am wrong . thanks!

thanks bro!

Interesting hor?

Use a filter that lets in more of the visible light spectrum if you want colours in your IR shots. Pure IR shots will look almost like B&W photos. ELP will be a good choice to start coloured IR. Enough colours to play around and practice PP. More info here

I beg to differ..

It is possible to PP to get more 'false-colours' with R72 as evident in my IR photogs of Tonle Sap and village. But for the lilies photogs, ELP is better to be used.

Just make sure got the 'correct' exposure in good sunlight as while as playing with EV '+' and EV '-'.

yup, ELP user here bro, from my unexperienced eyes, the difference that ev manipulation makes is the richer color and shadows when you step down... in PP, i think it will give you a lot of options when you play with the hue and saturation map. to the gurus here, please correct me if am wrong . thanks!

Thanks, Wurdelak.
I will certainly go and try bracketing a few shots and experience it for myself.

Use a filter that lets in more of the visible light spectrum if you want colours in your IR shots. Pure IR shots will look almost like B&W photos. ELP will be a good choice to start coloured IR. Enough colours to play around and practice PP. More info here

Thanks, pat33.
I think it would definitely be great to have both options available ~ if I were to be moving ahead... haha... die lah die lah...

I beg to differ..

It is possible to PP to get more 'false-colours' with R72 as evident in my IR photogs of Tonle Sap and village. But for the lilies photogs, ELP is better to be used.

Just make sure got the 'correct' exposure in good sunlight as while as playing with EV '+' and EV '-'.

Thanks, SurrealDreamWalker.
It is indeed interesting, isn't it?
I am trying to imagine that.
From my very limited exposure, I can't seem to understand why R72 would give us more colourm, esp in your Cambodia series. I will try and play around more with my R72.
Today I managed to speak with an experienced IR shooter in the camera shop.
He expounded the theory of heat (I presume IR) radiation and reflection in IR photography. And he emphasized the importance of heat/sunlight in the environment.
Thus, my understanding has taken a little bit of metamorphosis.
I guess in Cambodia, there was lots of sunlight and thus lots of heat, and thence lots of Near IR and Far IR... And therefore the multitudes of colours.

Hmmm... still trying to figure all these out in my brain.
Haha...

Today I managed to speak with an experienced IR shooter in the camera shop.
He expounded the theory of heat (I presume IR) radiation and reflection in IR photography. And he emphasized the importance of heat/sunlight in the environment.

Near IR and Far IR... And therefore the multitudes of colours.

Hmmm... still trying to figure all these out in my brain.
Haha...

This might help ....

Yah... that was what I understood too.
Near infrared - not heat producing. And it's the one that we are taking with IR photos.
Far infrared - heat producing. Not what we are taking.

So, then again.... how to account for such beautiful colours on the stones, slabs, walls of Angkor Wat with R72... while back here in Singapore using R72, I can't get such colour differentiation on the walls of our buildings...

Again, these are simply thoughts that hover in my mind.
They still need to be sorted out and I believe with more practice I will understand better.

Thanks to all of you for your patience and explanations!

alamak...

Actually don't have to dig deep deep into Science to really understand IR photography lah.

Just understand this simple theory...

1.) Best if the sunlight is strong and the sky is clear.

2.) Even if the sun is not strong enough, it is still possible to create 'false-colour' in IR photogs. It depends on how you do it in PP.

3.) To get the 'false-colour' from R72, first of all you must get it CORRECT in the first place straight out from your converted DSLR.

Shoot more, PP more, and keep trying then you'll understand. This is also how i learnt when i started out in IR photography too.

Best of regards :)

alamak...

Actually don't have to dig deep deep into Science to really understand IR photography lah.

Just understand this simple theory...

1.) Best if the sunlight is strong and the sky is clear.

2.) Even if the sun is not strong enough, it is still possible to create 'false-colour' in IR photogs. It depends on how you do it in PP.

3.) To get the 'false-colour' from R72, first of all you must get it CORRECT in the first place straight out from your converted DSLR.

Shoot more, PP more, and keep trying then you'll understand. This is also how i learnt when i started out in IR photography too.

Best of regards :)

This is the most difficult step for me right now.
Hahahaha....

ah yo...

Then u2 must try to understand how both your converted DSLR work with the R72 loh.

Keep it up!