for those who are jobless now

Benign said:
My grandparents din even go to kindergarden...somehow they managed to raise 6 kids and many grandchildren. Came with nothing but able to have savings and shops of their own.

Personally, I think we are too blessed these days.......from hand to mouth :embrass: Always ready to shift the blame to someone else
To each its own :sticktong

i dun quite agree on this one. things have changed so much. our standard of living has gone up sky high. out of proportion, in fact.

grandpa's time: 1 HUGE glass of coffee is 5cts. some had a small plot of land behind to plant food & keep a few fowls. whereas the rest cramp into a 1 room flat with an average of 4 families staying inside sharing everything. 3 rm HDB flat cost was about $9k, average Joe take home pay is about $100-$200. most kids had no education. 1 baby born in KK is $10, comes with everything & a nurse to go to your house to give training on how to take care of baby.

our time: 1 SMALL cup of coffee is 80cts. 99% of population got no plot of land to plant things. many have 4rm flats cos HDB didn't build 3rm flats for the longest time. 4rm flat is about $160k, 5rm flat pass the $200k mark, more centralised re-develop flats $400k+++. 1 baby born in KK is about $3500 & dun come with anything, & also provided its a smooth delivery. education is a must these days, so no need to say much.

r u guys also aware that in the US, companies r getting FT to be trained in the co. so that they can replace their own people? how do u feel? digging your very own grave.... u train this guy from Bangalore & next month u r out of job, he takes over your seat.

In japan, degree holders doing layman's work & dirty jobs r very common. nothing to feel degrade or no value in degrees. afterall, a degree is about education & has nothing to do with the amount of money u can bring back. if u read 'rich dad, poor dad' u will understand its not the paper qualification that matters.

jobless is a reality. companies hiring FT & young freshies is also a reality. despite retraining, companies r still not hiring older workers becos young ones can work harder, better memory, learn faster & longer hours, given the same pay. u can blame yourself for getting old but who doesn't?

i came across a taxi driver, he told me he was retrenched as a manager. went to MOM & they gave him training to be a cleaner. he didn't mind a cleaner's job but pay was only $700, after CPF, its $600. he has a house loan to service, he has 2 kids still schooling. wife not working. wanted to downgrade, but min 4rm flat, property market also not good at that time so selling off the old flat not going to solve the problem. so how? Garmet point finger at us all saying, 'u people r choosy with jobs'. only some manage to get jobs after retraining. the irony of it all is that the oldest garment has again recreated a new job position for himself at such an old age that pays well too.

having the mentality of "grandpa can raise 6 kids, so can i" is very very salah in today's society. what kind of jobs we have these days? not sure, even mega million bucks Biopolis, is a ghost town, dun see much occupant there. dun even know if our research & life science dir is the right path. *sigh...*

(ps. another irony: the issue on stayers & quiters. the quiters r mostly the winners.)

having the mentality of "grandpa can raise 6 kids, so can i" is very very salah in today's society.

Certainly the price of goods has risen, so has our wage and our 'wants' in life.
Luckily, the principles/habits of successful people stand still.
Over the years, I learnt time is best used on finding a solution than cursing, sighs and blame oneself or others.

"success and rest don't sleep together'
(Russian)

whoelse thanks for that wonderful picture, it's really an inspiration.

whoelse said:
Sometime over qualified also a problem. If you lower your expectation, that job might not be suitable. Some people can do difficult things but clumsy at simple thing.

"Jiang Tai Gong" was still a butcher when he was 70 years old and alot of people thought he is mad. Once he was appointed by the emporer, he conquer the enermy.

"zhu Ge-Liang" was a farmer befor approached by liu bei. Liu Bei himself was previously making straw shoe for living.

No matter how diffcult life is, it was always find it's way out. Hang on there, meanwhile shoot more pictures and relax.

(Like this flower, live on a hole on the wall. Not only it live, but florish).
-
f1230030.jpg

Benign said:
Certainly the price of goods has risen, so has our wage and our 'wants' in life.

wage from $200 to $2000 is about 10x. coffee from 5cts to 80cts is about 16x. HDB flat from $9k to $160k (resale 3rm or brand new 4rm) is about 17x. whats the last average salary increment? 5%? for many it cud be 0% increment & many also suffer pay cut. the rise in wages & basic needs is out of proportion.

reality says it all, i dun intend to kid myself or anybody. the last time i read on the papers about some family having 6 kids, the wife & husband r directors in some big MNC & one of them is from Price Water House Cooper. u can also see low income family with many kids & they r suffering big time both finacially & socially.

life is not any easier than in the past.

i know of comapnies who only want to hire contract staffs to the extend of renewing their contract every 3mths so as to avoid paying CPF. & yes, those staffs still take up the jobs, not choosy at all, not to mention no benefits too.

Benign said:
Over the years, I learnt time is best used on finding a solution than cursing, sighs and blame oneself or others.

"success and rest don't sleep together'
(Russian)

very well said indeed. :thumbsup: thx. :)

Sometime I went to SBG or MacRitchie take pictures during weekdays and you can see maids taking their time walking the dog, wiping windows, moping floor or chit chat with another maids next door.

...While their employees maybe both working very hard back in the office, kena scold by clients/bosses to make enough to support the house/car.

Not too sure who is actually enjoying the house or enjoying life. :rolleyes:

Dun be slave to your money, car, house or even CAMERA gears :sticktong

Make money work for u instead.

wage from $200 to $2000 is about 10x. coffee from 5cts to 80cts is about 16x. HDB flat from $9k to $160k (resale 3rm or brand new 4rm) is about 17x.

Errr, when you said all these things. Did you think vice versa? imagined if you bought those properties when it was cheap..especially landed properties. Willing to sacrifice those supposed to have holidays, jewellery for monthly repayments supplemented by rentals from those property investments.

You would be grateful for the rise of prices....and one of the few who can truly 'see'.

吃得苦中苦,方为人上人

Quoted what SPM Goh had said "The world had changed"...

Every individual answer for their existence....upgrade urself or get replace, that simple :)

No pt dwelling on the spot....life has to move on..isn't it?

rainman said:

Every individual answer for their existence....upgrade urself or get replace, that simple :)

1 thing don change - minister pay, keeps going up :sticktong

i..upgrade urself or get replace, that simple

is it really that simple?....then go tell it to those 5000 in maxtor who are about to lose their jobs

Benign said:
Errr, when you said all these things. Did you think vice versa? imagined if you bought those properties when it was cheap..especially landed properties. Willing to sacrifice those supposed to have holidays, jewellery for monthly repayments supplemented by rentals from those property investments.

You would be grateful for the rise of prices....and one of the few who can truly 'see'.

abang, i m talking about the ave Joe on the street, not rich people who have money to buy extra hse for investment lah. also talking about public housing, not landed properties.

for an ave Joe to buy a hse, is a big thing already. if he sells his hse, where is he going to stay? still have to buy another HDB right? maybe made some money from selling the old HDB but that is not going to last him very long. grandpa's time: $20k can last a life time. today: $50k can last only a few years, if u got maid, lagi shorter.

another eg. wud be to have kids. last time $10, now its $3500 ave in KK. that means about 350x inflated. dun u find the standard of living gone way too out of proportion? i m talking about basic needs here, not luxury stuffs like cars or terrence hse or IWC watches.

talking about property investment, many had burnt their hands during the crisis & became bankrupt overnight. follow by many who lost their jobs & can't service the loan, also delclare bankrupt. its a very very sad thing. on top of it, still can't get job for more than 18mths. very jia lat. my cousin didn't invest in property but lost his job, was jobless for more than 18mths & he is in his late 30's got 2 kids & HDB loan to service. if i m not mistaken, $600 cleaner's pay can only afford to stay in a 1rm flat, which i dun even think our garment will let u have it so easily, many criterias to meet. i know cos i went to ask.

i really dun see that much improvement as what our garment had painted. talking about Maxtor, my ex classmate was in it. i heard this news last year from him when i bumped into him. he got 1 kid & also HDB loan to service. think his wife is working. i also feel his pain, already 35 also dun know when is he going to find another job or if his wife salary can sustain their monthly cost. things like insurance really tie u down big time when u r out of job. :(

There is a story that comes from clay tables discovered early in the last century at an archeological site where ancient Babylon once stood. It's about an old camel trader named Babasour, and the secrets he used to accumulate wealth and become a rich, respected man in babylon, nearly 6000 years ago...

Young man: How did you come to be the richest man in all of Babylon?
Richest man: Before I answer your question, I have a few questions for you.

Young man: Very well, sir.
Richest man: Do you earn a living?

Young man: I have a job and a salary, yes.
Richest man: What do you do with that money?

Young man: Like everyone else, I suppose, I pay the rent on my home, I buy bread, shoes, clothes....
Richest man: It seems to me that you are doing an excellent job of spending your income on the goods and services that are provided by all of those people in our community. Indeed, you are helping to make them all wealthy, since they are all in business to make money, right?

Young man: I suppose so...
Richest man: But what are you doing for yourself?

Young man: What on earth do you mean sir?
Richest man: Quite simple, really: What are you paying yourself?

Young man: Why nothing, of course! I'm busy paying everyone else.

rainman said:

This is happening in many parts of the world too.

It's just not enough to just turn up for work and expect it to last forever. Some of the companies I've worked for have diappeared from the face of the earth and some I've heard of disappear quietly. Even the bosses are being affected if they don't keep up with the time.

The more resourceful ones are acquiring new skill to move out of sunset industries. And looks like many are going back to basics into essential trades and services too.

This is a tougher world to live in. But we've had many years of good time too.

nightpiper said:
r u guys also aware that in the US, companies r getting FT to be trained in the co. so that they can replace their own people? how do u feel? digging your very own grave.... u train this guy from Bangalore & next month u r out of job, he takes over your seat.
No doubt the foreign talent helps US to be number #1, but racial & religion problems are also rising. Foreign talent hits their citizens the most , ie. jobs, money. Thus I'm not surprised.
nightpiper said:
In japan, degree holders doing layman's work & dirty jobs r very common. nothing to feel degrade or no value in degrees. afterall, a degree is about education & has nothing to do with the amount of money u can bring back. if u read 'rich dad, poor dad' u will understand its not the paper qualification that matters.
It's not just in Japan, but in Europe, US, even Taiwan!
Mostly happened to those not-so-well-reputed universities' degrees. I guess Ivy League Universities' degrees are safe for now.

nightpiper said:
i came across a taxi driver, he told me he was retrenched as a manager. went to MOM & they gave him training to be a cleaner. he didn't mind a cleaner's job but pay was only $700, after CPF, its $600.
I felt especially pissed off by what the garment are doing about this. This reclaimed that they managed to create jobs for the jobless. And the jobs are cleaning, waitering etc. And they expect ex-managers to take up the jobs? Come on..

..even mega million bucks Biopolis, is a ghost town, dun see much occupant there. dun even know if our research & life science dir is the right path. *sigh...*
Another white elephant in my opinion, similar to the semicon industry. Another industry that will not really kick in...

(ps. another irony: the issue on stayers & quiters. the quiters r mostly the winners.)
Bingo. I shared your sentiment. Only the quiters have the financial strength to pull themselves out and relocate elsewhere. Bravo, Bravo, Bravo.

eric69 said:
I felt especially pissed off by what the garment are doing about this. This reclaimed that they managed to create jobs for the jobless. And the jobs are cleaning, waitering etc. And they expect ex-managers to take up the jobs? Come on..

the whole problem didn't lies with the job. it lies with the ballooned standard of living. people laid off r finding it very very difficult to cope with rising cost of basic needs. thats why i brought out the inflation rate from grandpa's time & today. also the whole living standard has changed; from not much educated people to compulsory education. from 4 families in 1rm to 1 family in a 3rm to now 4rm HDB. from $10 babies to ~$3500. these r just some eg. to hi-light that using grandpa's yardstick is no longer applicable to this modern society.

the sad truth is: retrenched people r not given much chance of re-employment. not that they want to stay at the same spot & cry or do nothing. companies r just not hiring that many & like i mentioned above, just want contract staff (esp freshies) so as to avoid CPF & benefits. with so many outsourcing & cheap labour in the region, this matter can only get worse over time. :( maxtor will not be the last case we hear. :cry:

If you live beyond your means, you are bound for trouble...no matter you are rich or poor.
When you are in trouble, you know the old saying goes "your loss is my gain'. :lovegrin:
Like it or not, it is the process called 'natural selection'.
To be fair, I hit trouble water many times in my life.... Ultimately, I blame myself lor..... succumb to temptations: beautiful women, fast cars, and latest cameras. :embrass:

C'est la vie....

'Dig the well before you are thirsty'
(Chinese)

Vicious cycle of risk n reward

More get retrench , lesser get employed ,Income gain in proportion is smaller than income loss, mentality change towards consuming for goods and services, surge for education so as to stay relevant n employable, lesser disposable income, people dun 1 2 get married, dun 1 2 have children, lower spending power, lower sales, lower profit , operations shifted out to cheaper sources.

Those who retrench others still keep the job, support family , but then 20 years down the road when the children grows up will there be good value jobs for them. Maybe children cannot find jobs n cannot support, more grows older and lesser young generations, eg doctors and lawyers can only earn so much if there is a pool of rich people, but reduce supply of rich people matched with increase supply of doctors and lawyers, then wat. I dare not think further.

After reading so many negative posts, suddenly I feel that this world is cruel, despite that I already know the fact.

It doesn't matter how clever u r, how good ur PR is, how many certs u r carrying or even how hardworking u r. Inorder to survive, the key word here is know-how-to-adapt.

One need to adjust him/herself to adapt to the bigger environment. It is neccessary to make changes to one self or lifestyle when needed. If given a choice who will want to lower himself to accept lower pay? To me, it is one way of adaption.

Well.... Think we need to look at things more positively, work hard and be contented with what we r having now.

Cheers! :)

dont think too much. just be adaptive. always stay afloat.

keep shooting to stay focus & happy.

Darwin said 'It is not the strongest of the species who survive, nor the most intelligent, but those who are most adaptive to change.'"