First dSLR - what to get???

Which first d SLR should I get???

i believe you have interest in photography and you cannot decide whether to go to those mid range or just those basic DSLR, if this is your first time going into DSLR and you have not use a SLR or anything likedat before, i think you should start from the entry level as it might be complicated to go straight into those semi pro series

Hey dude. No one can tell u what to do. Looking at ur posts, are u sure u will like photography? It's not for everyone.

Don't mean to be rude, if u can be in a situation thinking of whether to get D40 or 30D and D200, u might just as well get D40. Apparantly, u have not got the understanding for the use for a semi-pro model. And, u don need a dSLR to shoot well, don be misled by commercials and marketing stuff. Of course, if u are using a dSLR, it really does offers much more capability than normal prosumers or compacts, but have you gone to the stage where by u need that kind of gear? U may end up having a $1-2k equipment sitting there, not utilising them well; of course if u are happy of doing that, it's none of my business either.

Like what i always post, I will recommend ppl who are in the stage of "still not sure" or "newbie wanna play with cameras", to just get a good prosumer camera. Fuji has some good ones like the S9600, Sony also had some good ones. These cameras should be able to let u play with many features offered in dSLRs, at a low price and not having to be concern about maintenance too much. Furthermore, if u discovered that u really like photography, by then u would have known what kinda things u really like taking (landscape, portrait, telephoto, etc) and have at least some good knowledge technically. The S9600 should cover a good range for most things you might wanna shoot.

Also, getting a prosumer can be win-win situation as:
If u plan to get dSLR --> keep the prosumer (or sell it) for travelling usage or for other purpose. Trust me, u will not like the feeling of carrying ur dSLR gears all over the place all the time.
If u don like photography --> u'll end up with a not so expensive and more advance than compact camera camera (not to mention, u will save $).

But if you very sure u really want a dSLR and will not settle for anything less, try getting one in the B&S to start off with. D70s is also good.

harry potter, though i'm in no position to give you advice cos you might turn me into a frog but i feel seriously that the above is a very wise piece of advice. :thumbsup:

have you considered 350d? it gives you the same image quality as the 400d and is cheaper than either the d40x or the 400d.... can AF with all AF lenses as well unlike the d40x....

whether you need a mid level body will depend how fsat you progress.... some ppl are still happily using the 300d after so many years... even if you progress really fast wat sort of image can be captured with a 30d that you can't capture with a 350d? Nothing comes to mind right now....

Yes, there are a lot of old and poor quality lenses available for Nikon and Canon and you don't get that variety available for Pentax and Olympus. That's a positive to me because you have less of a chance of wasting your money on rubbish.

Olympus and Pentax have done a good job covering the market with lenses that consumers will need without disgracing their names.

I 100% agree with bousozoku.. on this ... I think as a beginner don't go for brand and wast money ... well photography is all about playing with the light... its 60% of your talent and 40% with the equipment. Almost all the DSLR s has basic features what u need. So don't wast money on the body features and brand.

But this doesn't apply to all those PROs :nono:. They need more powerful MACHINES to do their job more efficiently... so investing on CANON or NIKON would be a wise choice for them. :thumbsup:

i believe that some of the forumers here havce given you great advice, why not go for a prosumer?if you were to look deeper, you would notice there is a great deal of pros.

most prosumers are long zoom range, the newest prosumers are coming out with wide angle AND above 10X zoom. i believe this gives you many options whereas your kit lense is not as versatile

more over, its light,MUCH cheaper(for its versatility) and when printing smaller photos, i dont think many can tell the difference.you can fool around with your prosumer learning the techniques and all before you move on, which is currently what i am doing

the drawbacks are the image quality, shutter lag, no optical viewfinder and noise.

a high end prosumer can cost as much in the reigon of a entry level dslr, however you have versatility and the above emntioned benefits.

no satisfying shutter click sound though;p

think about it do u really want an slr?if u don use it that often and always leave it in a drybox/cabi than i think prosumer better as an slr is not cheap it is almost a k!

i took 2 months before finally deciding on which camera to get. Canon 400D.
I wouldn't harp on the brand names here, you should have heard enough already. :)

go to the NLB, borrow some photography magazines, FOC!
those mags offer some advice and if you manage to get some of the latest copies, they also give you insights on the latest models in the market.

dun rush into buying, do your homework, drop by some reputable photog stores and ask for advice. :)

But my fingers are itchy and wanted to shoot leh....especially all my friends are shooting and enjoying themselves so much...

are you sure you really fingers are very itchy and wanted to shoot??

sure or not?? that means you will spend very little time in kopitiam liao...

or you want to be like those ah lau, holding very expensive cameras but sit inside kopitiam TCSS all day long??

Maybe you can name a few lenses that "disgraced their name"... almost all lenses sold by nikon and canon has optimised for digital and are not "old and poor quality" as you put it... more lenses mean i can look around and choose the ones that are of the most value for money.... when your lens selections are limited you'll be forced to swallow watever their asking price is.... 3rd party makers also tend to concentrate on the big 2.... try sourcing for a 200-500mm for Pentax / Olympus mount and you'll know what I mean.... don't live in denial, more lens choices is always a good thing

I'm not in denial.

There are photographers and there are lens collectors. Also, there is need and there is desire. The two are completely different.

Photographers can do most anything with the lenses they have and lens collectors never can do anything with what they have.

More (poor) choices don't make better photos. Being smart about your lenses does.

go to the shops and hold the cameras, one of them will speak to you
and you will know the answer

go to the shops and hold the cameras, one of them will speak to you
and you will know the answer

And then the 200/f2.0 VR sitting pretty next to the camera will sing you a siren song.... ;p

Yo man, my view is :

- Grab a 2nd hand Nikon D80 or Canon 350D (or even 20D).
- Grab a 17-70mm or 17-135mm lens (could be 2nd hand oso).

And start shooting, and see if you enjoy it. I know ppl who after the trial surrender becoz of portability/weigh/mobility, so don't waste your $$ first.

After all, if you really enjoy photography, then you can decide to keep them or upgrade them.

I'm not in denial.

There are photographers and there are lens collectors. Also, there is need and there is desire. The two are completely different.

Photographers can do most anything with the lenses they have and lens collectors never can do anything with what they have.

More (poor) choices don't make better photos. Being smart about your lenses does.

Most of us sit somewhere in the middle..

Photographer |----|----|-o--|----|----|----|----|----| Collector

Hello,

Do take note of the difference between a Prosumer and a DSLR.

Prosumer:
-Smaller sensor
-Less manual controls
-Harder to reach for manual controls
-Shutter lag time
-Less accessories
-Less functions
-Fixed lens
-Smaller size
-Less obtrusive

All this are incomparision to a DSLR. If you just want good images, a compact, your dad's film PnS and your 2MP cameraphone can all give you a good image. But if you want to seriously learn about photography, a DSLR or an SLR is priceless.

Just my two cents.

Samuel

As long as you don't progress into becoming a dry cabinet collector!

400D or D80. personally, i think d40/x is a bit lagging compared to 400D. no flame pls...
:sweat:

I understand that but having sold camera equipment, I'd met a lot of people who couldn't do anything with what they had. They needed something, anything else, even if what they had was the best.

Too often, people depend on gadgets and forget that photography is about grabbing hold of a moment. What did we do before zoom lenses? We walked closer or we walked further away. Can people not walk any more while they're holding a camera? :bsmilie:

IMO,
A mid-range Nikon / Canon Dslr will be nice

A prosumer just isn't the same, someone has pointed out the main thing that made me buy a new D80, ---speed and accuracy of focussing

I love the compactness, but I regretted not having my Nikon when I was in Yosemite recently

I also went through the buy a 'value for money' other brand SLR before I went digital (Chinon) lots of features no doubt, but reliability, accesories and len range just wasn't enough and I regretted it. Was actually quite happy when the camera broke down.

If budget is enough, the D80 is a really nice body

As long as you don't progress into becoming a dry cabinet collector!

Just make sure you don't pass the halfway mark.. It would probably mean that you have more equipment than you needed. ;p