First CanonGraphers Photoshoot Outing

I will be bringing 12-24, 24-70, 105, and 25mm ext tube.. :)

i think i be bringing my 17-40 f4, 70-200 f4 and 50 f1.8.. i like to try the 100mm macro len.. hope can get my hands on it.. i can bring my laptop along.. provided can put at someone's car.. but must be careful.. aint mine.. pm me if nd mi to do so..

Any idea how long's this shooting?

So far we have the following lenses for testing.

1) EF 28-70mm f2.8L USM
2) EF 28-135mm f4.5-5.6 IS USM
3) EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM
4) EF 100mm f2.8 Macro USM
5) EF 50mm f1.8 II
6) EF 85mm f1.8 USM
7) EF 50mm f2.8 Macro
8) Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG HSM
9) Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX DG
10) Sigma 105mm f2.8 Macro EX
11) EF 17-40mm f4L USM
12) EF 70-200mm f4L USM

Accessories :

1) Kenko 25mm Extension Tube
2) Canon 500D 77mm filter

We have 3 types of true Macro lenses for testing. :thumbsup:

As soon as we have gathered, we will be divided into 4 groups based on the 4 themes. Each group is given 2.5 hours to shoot. We will end the shoot at 1030 hours. After which, each individual will choose the ONE best photo for each theme to download for selection for the best photo for each theme for the day.

The grand closing would be the 'Lens Testing' for all the lenses available for the day. We hope to end the whole session before 1300 hours.

Remember to bring your tripod and cable release if you want to do a serious testing.

To save time, we will shoot each lens on the same subject at different apertures listed below.

1) EF 28-70mm f2.8L USM (f2.8, f4 & f8 on focal length 28mm, 35mm & 70mm)
2) EF 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM (f3.5, f4.5, f5.6 & f8 on focal length 28mm, 50mm, 85mm & 135mm)
3) EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS USM (f4.5, f5, f5.6 & f8 on focal length 100mm, 180mm, 300mm & 400mm)
4) EF 100mm f2.8 Macro USM(f2.8, f4 & f8)
5) EF 50mm f1.8 II (f1.8, f2.8, f4 & f8)
6) EF 85mm f1.8 USM (f1.8, f2.8, f4 & f8)
7) EF 50mm f2.5 Macro (f2.5, f4 & f8)
8) 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG HSM (f4.5, f5.6 & f8 on focal length 12mm, 17mm, 24mm)
9) Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX DG (f2.8, f4 & f8 on focal length 24mm, 28mm 35mm & 70mm)
10) Sigma 105mm f2.8 Macro EX (f2.8, f4 & f8)
11) EF 17-40mm f4L USM (f4 & f8 on focal length 17mm, 28mm, 35mm & 40mm)
12) EF 70-200mm f4L USM (f4 & f8 on focal length 70mm, 135mm & 200mm)

I'll be bringing 50mmf1.4 and a sigma400mmf5.6 macro to share.

Splutter said:
Hahaz, ur skills where got so so only? Can pian jia means buay pai liao ;p
I got a 50mm macro, is it possible to use it together with an ext tube for greater magnification?
Thanx for your compliments. Long time never shoot liao. May be pian jia also got problem now... ;p

I think your 50mm macro can use with the ext tube to give life size. We'll try to test it out that day. Hopefully the weather is fine.

Virgo said:
Thanx for your compliments. Long time never shoot liao. May be pian jia also got problem now...

I think your 50mm macro can use with the ext tube to give life size. We'll try to test it out that day. Hopefully the weather is fine.

Yes hopefully it will be a fine weather not like today...so that you guy can share the work to us...

Ok for the contest. I would like to sponsor some prizes.

For the best of each category.
I will give away a Canon Powershot Bag Pack or a Canon Photo Vest, you can choose either 1.

The winner of the categories, submit your winning picture (CD ROM or memory card) to me at the Canon Digital Lab in the original picture size on Sunday or after Sunday onwards.

For the film shooters. We'll think of another way to "reward" you in another event. :dunno:

Some rules...
1. EXIF data must be in the picture file.
2. The date of photo taken must be 14 May 2005 between 0800hrs to 1030hrs.
3. Failing above 1 and 2. You are disqualified and the prize will snowball to the next event. :sticktong
3. If the prize is not claimed by end of the next event organised by the CanonGraphers it will snow ball to the the next event.
4. Any disputes will be settled in the next CanonGraphers General meeting in July. :sweat:

Thanks TechMage for the kind sponsorship! :thumbsup:

Anyway, the date should be 14 May and not 12 May. :embrass:

USM said:
Thanks TechMage for the kind sponsorship! :thumbsup:

Anyway, the date should be 14 May and not 12 May. :embrass:

Oops ...Corrected. :sweat:

Time : 0800 hours
Meeting Place : Entrance of SBG facing Australian High Com

Time : 0700 hours (for those who want to meet up for breakfast first)
Place : Tanglin Mall McDonald

1) goo82sg - McDonalds (not confirmed, depends on work schedule)
2) S11loop - Breakfast ! (80% confirmed unless something screw up in camp )
3) ykia - 0700 B/F, need caffine lah... but hands may shake at SBG
4) LiOnElLiN - 8am
5) Tunster - 0700 for breakfast (if I didn't overslept)
6) Virgo - 0700 for breakfast (can't confirm yet, depending on work plans)
7) calisc -0700 for breakfast (if can wake up on time)
8) Lensman - 0700 for breakfast (unless overseas for work, sure can make it)
9) hazekang - 0700 Breakfast
10) WoLoh - 0800
11) dominicchin - 0800
12) christwings - 0700 (food first!!!)
13) onyx - 0700 Breakfast
14) ockly - 0700 Big Breakfast...
15) Splutter - 0700 Breakfast
16) art2d3d
17) ray_stinger - 0700 Breakfast[/QUOTE]
18) cereal - 0800 (Bringing along a friend)

I should be bringing my 70-200 IS along, but I left the tripod collar back in hall. Think this voids it for serious test, but I guess still can do some handhold shots ba.

wow this shooting is getting more & more exciting cos can get to try all those "Luxury" Lens which I can't afford.. :cry:

WoLoh said:
wow this shooting is getting more & more exciting cos can get to try all those "Luxury" Lens which I can't afford.. :cry:
bro u are too humble ... 1V wor hehehe in a matter of time only ;)

Time : 0800 hours
Meeting Place : Entrance of SBG facing Australian High Com

Time : 0700 hours (for those who want to meet up for breakfast first)
Place : Tanglin Mall McDonald

1) goo82sg - McDonalds (not confirmed, depends on work schedule)
2) S11loop - Breakfast ! (80% confirmed unless something screw up in camp )
3) ykia - 0700 B/F, need caffine lah... but hands may shake at SBG
4) LiOnElLiN - 8am
5) Tunster - 0700 for breakfast (if I didn't overslept)
6) Virgo - 0700 for breakfast (can't confirm yet, depending on work plans)
7) calisc -0700 for breakfast (if can wake up on time)
8) Lensman - 0700 for breakfast (unless overseas for work, sure can make it)
9) hazekang - 0700 Breakfast
10) WoLoh - 0800
11) dominicchin - 0800
12) christwings - 0700 (food first!!!)
13) onyx - 0700 Breakfast
14) ockly - 0700 Big Breakfast...
15) Splutter - 0700 Breakfast
16) art2d3d
17) ray_stinger - 0700 Breakfast[/QUOTE]
18) cereal - 0800 (Bringing along a friend)
19) Canonws - 0800

Tomorrow is the day where the CanonGraphers meet again.

To faciliate the smooth flow of the outing, I would suggest a few of you volunteer to co-ordinate the outing since there could be more than 20 people turning out.

I shall arrow 'Virgo' to be the IC for the day. :p

USM said:
Tomorrow is the day where the CanonGraphers meet again.

To faciliate the smooth flow of the outing, I would suggest a few of you volunteer to co-ordinate the outing since there could be more than 20 people turning out.

I shall arrow 'Virgo' to be the IC for the day. :p

maybe can set ICs for the grps? :) like, who taking macro, who taking landscapes and etc?

Themes :

1. Macro
2. Nature
3. Candids
4. Portraits
5. Landscapes

Prizes :

For the best of each category,

1. Canon Powershot Bag Pack or
2. Canon Photo Vest

Rules and Regulations :

1. The winner of the categor(ies) must submit your winning picture (CD ROM or memory card) to Canon Digital Lab in original picture size on Sunday or after Sunday onwards.
2. Each CanonGrapher can particpate in one or more categories.
3. Each CanonGrapher can ONLY submit one BEST photo for each theme.
4. EXIF data must be in the picture file.
5. The date of photo taken must be 14 May 2005 between 0800hrs to 1030hrs.
6. Failing above 4 and 5. You are disqualified and the prize will snowball to the next event.
7. If the prize is not claimed by end of the next event organised by the CanonGraphers it will snow ball to the the next event.
8. Any disputes will be settled in the next CanonGraphers General meeting in July.
9. All photos submited must be taken by Canon cameras, be it P & S, SLR or DSLR.

i suggest you guys make some markings on your lenses and lens caps. It'll be confusing when you start sharing lenses, esp for the lens testing part.