False information in BnS

unseen

Recently, there are more and more mint condition 2nd hand items.

http://forum.clubsnap.com/buysellforums.php?do=newthread&f=20 said:
Condition: Mint
Description: Like new. Not used since it left the shop. No signs of use.

I mean, a mint 30D with shutter count of 4k? a mint 10D with shutter count of 7k?
I know of a friend who went to view a mint condition lens which had fungus in it.

Isn't it time the mods either remove the abused features, or the abusers?

It has been said many times before: buyer beware. Do your homework before you start a deal, and ask seller questions via PM or email before you spend the time to meet up with the seller.

If a seller claims that a 350D camera body is mint, and to you it means there should be less then certain number of shutter count, just ask the seller first. Get your questions answered in writing. If the seller turns out to not be telling the truth, don't buy, and use the iTrader feedback accordingly.

Besides, how can the mods inspect every item put up for sale to ensure that the condition stated matches the actual situation?

If we remove the "Condition" field, as you have suggested, because it was abused, the seller can still claim that the item is "Mint" in the ad right?

I second the original poster. I feel the word mint has lost its true meaning. Its frustrating how sellers abuse this word as a prerequisite to spruce up their ad.

A used item, no matter how pristine the condition is no longer mint.

the choice of words is largely subjective. at the end of day, the onus is still on the buyer to assess the condition of the camera.

I personal have seen some condition 7 item which are much better than some who claim is mint/Excellent+++ (yet with easily visible scratch/mark) in ebay or B&S :sweat:

Different sellers seem to rate their item very differently.

I would suggest the sellers should put some photos (good quality, not blur shot) of the item they are selling, so the buyer can have a better ideal of the condition of the product they are going to buy, better than a waste trip down. :think:

topster said:
A used item, no matter how pristine the condition is no longer mint.
so if you were to take a camera out of the box in the shop to try... taken 1 shot and the camera is no longer new/mint just because someone pressed the shutter to take a test shot?

Give the mods a break, like what roygoh said, it's impossible for the mods/admin to inspect the items for sale and then give them a rating accordingly.

I usually rate my stuff for sale on the lower side to be conservative in case there's something I overlook.

roygoh said:
It has been said many times before: buyer beware. Do your homework before you start a deal, and ask seller questions via PM or email before you spend the time to meet up with the seller.

If a seller claims that a 350D camera body is mint, and to you it means there should be less then certain number of shutter count, just ask the seller first. Get your questions answered in writing. If the seller turns out to not be telling the truth, don't buy, and use the iTrader feedback accordingly.

Besides, how can the mods inspect every item put up for sale to ensure that the condition stated matches the actual situation?

If we remove the "Condition" field, as you have suggested, because it was abused, the seller can still claim that the item is "Mint" in the ad right?
I'm not asking the mods to actually check that the body conditions are 7 or 8 or 9 or 5... The MINT thing and condition 10 is all too often used for YEAR OLD items.

Actually.. why not allow the people to flag those found falsifying information? currently iTrader only allows trader/buyers/sellers to flag the people. If I met a guy selling a MINT condition lens at an almost new price which is actually in condition 7.. I wouldn't be in any of the 3 categories, and I will not be able to inform of my BAD experience would I?

Either that, or can we PM the mods to delete those threads with VERY obvious false information etc? I mean, a 1 year old used item can't possibly be in MINT condition. Even recently a buyer was selling NEW vests which he/she/it has worn only a couple of times. "杀一惊百" works wonderfully, and it will definitely make the BnS a better place.

unseen, some people do not falsify information intentionally. it's a question of personal judgement. to some, mint could be 2 years old with 10k shutter count cos they really take good care of the camera i.e. no scratches or wear and tear.

even when i buy a new lens at reputable shops, i would request to see a few before picking the best. so even though the rest are new but they are not perfect according to my standards.

Buyers or Sellers.
Do ya job and be responsible to ya actions.

Surely ya can expect the mods to spoon feed ya purchase or sale.
It's an open market here.
Beauty lies in da eye of da beholder.

Most of the stuff in B&S are sad to say are USED items.:(
Take it all wif a pinch salt lah. So difficult then buy new loh.:D

I've got some used condoms for sale. Mint condition. No holes. Used only once.

eh i actually saw some thread puting condition as new and below stated it have been used seldomly... so a used item can also be new... :think:
and some of this thread have actually cause a confusion on buyers who are interested in the item...

I don't think thats considered false information. False information would be like this scenario:

You have 5 people bidding $500 for your lens and you want to jack up the sales price so you tell them some guy bidded $520. Frustrated, those 5 people bid $530 to $550. If nobody bids that high, you then proceed to tell them that $520 bidder withdrew his bid and went AWOL.

Now thats falsfying information.

Overrating the condition of your barang-barang isn't false information. Its more of poor judgement. If you think your girlfriend is chio but others don't think so, are you lying then? :nono:

Now just take a step back and relax! Watch the fireworks tonight. Everyone's pretty stressed out right now. Tensions! Watch some Russell Peters. He can teach you how to have a 'tensions gone' situation. :bsmilie:

I think buying from auction / BnS always has risk...but it is up to the buyer whether they willinging to take the risk lor....if they nt willingly, den buy from shops directly...

pokiemon said:
unseen, some people do not falsify information intentionally. it's a question of personal judgement. to some, mint could be 2 years old with 10k shutter count cos they really take good care of the camera i.e. no scratches or wear and tear.

even when i buy a new lens at reputable shops, i would request to see a few before picking the best. so even though the rest are new but they are not perfect according to my standards.

pokiemon,
pls read carefully the "Equipment Condition Rating" below taken from the Guideline for B&S. Mod did a good job to list it down. Im the friend Unseen talking abt.

Will u consider lens with fungus as mint?? I called this as fraud and not personal judgement. We are talking abt items from B&S not buying form reputable shops.. :nono:

Condition: New
Description: Never used. Original packing with markers still intact.
Also known as: New

Condition: Mint
Description: Like new. Not used since it left the shop. No signs of use.
Also known as: Mint

Condition: 10
Description: Very carefully used. Only very light user marks. Without close inspection, item would pass for mint.
Also known as: Mint(-), Near-Mint, A

Condition: 9
Description: A few light user marks. Used very little and carefully. May show some very mild wear, such as rub marks by lug straps, or bright marks on metal base plate.
Also known as: Excellent(++), A/B

Condition: 8
Description: Light to moderate user marks. Typical amateur use. May have some very slight brassing, or light scratches in metal. Obviously well-maintained and cared for.
Also known as: Excellent(+), B

Condition: 7
Description: Well used but not abused. May have minor dings or scratches. May have obvious brassing and scratches in common wear areas.
Also known as: Excellent, B/C

Condition: 6
Description: Very well used. May have moderate dings / scratches. Looks like it may have travelled half the region and could tell a story or two. Dented, scratched, brassed. yet refuses to stop operating.
Also known as: Excellent(-), Very Good, C

Condition: 5
Description: Very heavy use. May have heavy dings / scratches. Looks like it may have travelled the globe with it and could write a book or two. Heavily dented, heavily scratched, heavily brassed. Yet simply refuses to stop operating, and you've got no idea why.
Also known as: Good, D

Condition: 4 to 3
Description: Very poor condition. Suitable for re-build or spares.
Also known as: Bad, E

Condition: 2-1
Description: Very bad condition. For very extensive re-build or spares.
Also known as: Ugly, Very Bad, F

Please note that condition ratings are very subjective and no two people will totally agree on the condition rating of a used piece of equipment. However, please use the guidelines above to best describe what you think your equipment condition is. For this reason i would rarely describe used equipment as 'MINT'.

zcf said:
I personal have seen some condition 7 item which are much better than some who claim is mint/Excellent+++ (yet with easily visible scratch/mark) in ebay or B&S :sweat:

Different sellers seem to rate their item very differently.

I would suggest the sellers should put some photos (good quality, not blur shot) of the item they are selling, so the buyer can have a better ideal of the condition of the product they are going to buy, better than a waste trip down. :think:

I think it a good idea to include some photos of the items one is selling.

Items with photos save both buyer and seller time to meet up and view/inspect the item. I quite surprise seller seldom include photos here at clubsnap forum. :dunno:

On eBay, items with photos tend to be attract more bids and purchases.

shyanyap said:
I think it a good idea to include some photos of the items one is selling.

Items with photos save both buyer and seller time to meet up and view/inspect the item. I quite surprise seller seldom include photos here at clubsnap forum. :dunno:

On eBay, items with photos tend to be attract more bids and purchases.
yes but that will introduce another problem... some seller will post pic taken with low resolution handphone making the big power black lens looks like a piece of charcoal, while some just post pic that ain't event in focus. so how are we gonna judge? :dunno:

but i admired the effort by those who post up clear and sharp pic of their selling items. :thumbsup:

well, good photos talk,
I will try my best to post a photo of the item which I'm selling, even it is only 10 over dollars, with photos, you make lifes easy for you and the buyers.

ExplorerZ said:
yes but that will introduce another problem... some seller will post pic taken with low resolution handphone making the big power black lens looks like a piece of charcoal, while some just post pic that ain't event in focus. so how are we gonna judge? :dunno:

Well it problem for the seller who is trying to sell..;)

For buyers, if we cannot judge the condition of the items from the photo, then try not to buy from him or her....:bsmilie: