External Flash Unit or a Battery Grip?

Yes in fact all EX speedlites will function in ETTL-II mode on an ETTL-II enabled body. There is no difference. Difference comes into play when you use an older ETTL enabled camera. Which is why the distinction is made. It's for camera bodies.

The problem in labelling of flash units is due to the fact that all material for older series flashes, namely the 550EX and 420EX were written prior to the introduction of ETTL-II. Which is why they made no mention of ETTL-II. Most of the official manuals and documents were printed in 2001 although the flash was on sale till as late as 2005. Even the packaging was not updated.

Canon did not update these material as they came up with newer models to replace the outdated ones, so they saw no need to update these material. They only mentioned that all EX series flashes function in ETTL-II mode on ETTL-II enabled bodies.

So you gain all the benefits of ETTL-II even if you're using an older EX series flash provided your camera supports ETTL-II

Think i get what u mean...it's something like a DVD writer can also write CDs but a CD writer cannot write DVDs.

Yup, something like that.

I too once thought that I was disadvantaged when I used a 420EX/550EX on my 350D, till my photographer friend corrected me.

Problem is that the 420EX/550EX have been around for a LONG time. Most material around specific to these models was written prior to the introduction of ETTL-II, so they made no mention of it. They just said "ETTL". Some more recent sites just "parrot" what the official documentation says. Printed ETTL so just say ETTL. Even Canon's own website was never updated. They probably figured that users would read the more recent documentation that came with newer camera bodies and that would supercede it, which creates confusion when people cross reference to older sites which were never updated.

But can't be helped... most webmasters and editors are too busy adding new material to bother updating older material.

However newer flash units have many other advantages over the older ones. WB info to camera, faster recycle times etc. But as far as ETTL-II's concerned they're the same, since metering is done by the camera.

So that means 550EX (All Speedlite EX) got E-TTL II?

Ok...gotta confirm this when i borrow one...

Tink i will get the flash first....:think:

solarii said:
Yup, something like that.

I too once thought that I was disadvantaged when I used a 420EX/550EX on my 350D, till my photographer friend corrected me.

Problem is that the 420EX/550EX have been around for a LONG time. Most material around specific to these models was written prior to the introduction of ETTL-II, so they made no mention of it. They just said "ETTL". Some more recent sites just "parrot" what the official documentation says. Printed ETTL so just say ETTL. Even Canon's own website was never updated. They probably figured that users would read the more recent documentation that came with newer camera bodies and that would supercede it, which creates confusion when people cross reference to older sites which were never updated.

But can't be helped... most webmasters and editors are too busy adding new material to bother updating older material.

However newer flash units have many other advantages over the older ones. WB info to camera, faster recycle times etc. But as far as ETTL-II's concerned they're the same, since metering is done by the camera.

Yes...but other benefits for the 550EX and 580EX include ability to atttach external power supply to the flash. So i presume it's no point for me getting 430EX or 580EX as my EOS 30's only ETTL capable, unless i change body.

medallion said:
So that means 550EX (All Speedlite EX) got E-TTL II?

Ok...gotta confirm this when i borrow one...

Tink i will get the flash first....:think:

Flash is more impt...i use it almost all the time at any light conditions. 550EX should work but 350D controls i dunno haha...i only know film!

Snoweagle said:
Flash is more impt...i use it almost all the time at any light conditions. 550EX should work but 350D controls i dunno haha...i only know film!

Mai tu liao...the idea of getting a flash tingles me quite sometime back liao...;p

Battery grip i tink later bahz...but i get extra batts first...haha.

medallion said:
Mai tu liao...the idea of getting a flash tingles me quite sometime back liao...;p

Battery grip i tink later bahz...but i get extra batts first...haha.

Only use yr batts when u get yr grip, this way u fully utilise it.

Snoweagle said:
Only use yr batts when u get yr grip, this way u fully utilise it.

Do things must one step at a time...cannot gan cheong...

medallion said:
Do things must one step at a time...cannot gan cheong...

This is already i step at a time le.

Just curious, since I don't use a battery grip with my 300D.

Does the grip enable 2 batteries to be used a longer time compared to the sum of usage time from 2 individual batteries ? More technical terms, drawing current from 2 batteries while keeping the voltage the same.

jykw said:
Just curious, since I don't use a battery grip with my 300D.

Does the grip enable 2 batteries to be used a longer time compared to the sum of usage time from 2 individual batteries ? More technical terms, drawing current from 2 batteries while keeping the voltage the same.

The 2 batteries drain by using one batt first, then automatically drawing from the second battery. But according to my friend who's using 300D with grip, he said that the lifespan is like 2.5 batteries.

Snoweagle said:
The 2 batteries drain by using one batt first, then automatically drawing from the second battery. But according to my friend who's using 300D with grip, he said that the lifespan is like 2.5 batteries.

Seems to be the case of drawing from 2 batteries to get more current to run longer. series-parallel connection for the more technical inclined.

well guys..muz a canon camera use only canon acessories? i'm using a sigma ef-500DGst for my external flash..:cool: ..cheaper than the canon 500series speedlite but i was told it works juz as good..i'm no expert lah..;) but $ is hard earn lah...cheers...but i got a barrety grip,though...looks cool...handles well for vertical shots

roDz said:
well guys..muz a canon camera use only canon acessories? i'm using a sigma ef-500DGst for my external flash..:cool: ..cheaper than the canon 500series speedlite but i was told it works juz as good..i'm no expert lah..;) but $ is hard earn lah...cheers...but i got a barrety grip,though...looks cool...handles well for vertical shots

Wats the price then? (For ur Sigma EF500GST)

There has been feedback that the Sigma flashes don't really last. Quite a lot of complaints about them failing after 1 yr.... do a search.

Performance wise most agree that its comparable to Canon's.

snoweagle needs to re-read what you have wrote, honestly. you seem to be interchanging lens with flash. ETTL-II function does not require any input from the flash unit, only the body and the lens.

I would seriously suggest that medalion consider a used 550EX. You can get one around $400-450 and it is a damn powerful flash. It can also be used as a wireless master compared to 420/430-EX. I personally feel the 580EX s only a little better than 550EX for a lot more $$.

If you use your flash heavily you would be better to go for a Canon, it is more robust. Several of my friends killed their Sigma already while my 550EX still work great after 50,000 fires over 2 years.

medallion said:
Coz i got extra 200 from somewhere...:think:

HI,

Somebody in CS selling 580EX at $600 but no warranty... and as for battery grip, I went around Funan this afternoon and there is a shop selling at $157.50 inclusive GST.

I dont know about the shop name but it's on the same level as AP.

roDz said:

Not necessarily but ideally. The Sigma flash can be used BUT you won't get all the full functions a Canon Speedlite can offer as it's made to suit their own brand of camera.

The battery grip IMO is also a must to have cos vertical shots are extremely useful and supports just as well as you normally do in landscape mode.

hwchoy said:
snoweagle needs to re-read what you have wrote, honestly. you seem to be interchanging lens with flash. ETTL-II function does not require any input from the flash unit, only the body and the lens.

I would seriously suggest that medalion consider a used 550EX. You can get one around $400-450 and it is a damn powerful flash. It can also be used as a wireless master compared to 420/430-EX. I personally feel the 580EX s only a little better than 550EX for a lot more $$.

If you use your flash heavily you would be better to go for a Canon, it is more robust. Several of my friends killed their Sigma already while my 550EX still work great after 50,000 fires over 2 years.

U're right but for ETTL-II results to be fully shown, you will still need an ETTL-II flash.