Dynax 7 VC-7 vertical grip

TME

Hi bros!

Minolta Singapore just brought in some Dynax 7 vertical grips (model: VC-7). They are sold at the following shops:

Alan Photo : 1 Rochor Canal Road
#01-38 Sim Lim Square
Singapore 188504

T. K Foto : 100 Beach Road
#02-45 Shaw Leisure Gallery Show Towers
Singapore 189702
6292 4533

Just got mine today from AP at S$240....... 1-year warranty from Minolta........ maybe u can get cheaper if your bargaining skills better than mine. They quoted me $240 over the phone, went down then AP say must add GST to the quoted price... anyway bargained and got them to keep their word....... maybe u can get it at $235 or less lor....... very usefull addition...... :D Very pleased! Looked for it for about a few months liaoz...... ever since I got the Dynax 7.......

BTW, also found out today that the Dynax 7 has a DOF preview button...... what triggered my looking for it was the Nikon advert today that advertised their entry model (F-75) with a DOF preview as well...... (my old 505si never had it) and I always wanted it but never got down to looking for it on the Dynax 7..... hahaha...... another discovery....... :D Really superb camera!

HI TME....

You cute lah!!!!......i tot the DOF button you know it exist liow!!!!!

Well....anyway.....you bought your self a useful part of the camera......the VC-7.

rgds,
me

sulhan said:
HI TME....

You cute lah!!!!......i tot the DOF button you know it exist liow!!!!!

Well....anyway.....you bought your self a useful part of the camera......the VC-7.

rgds,
me

Yeah lar... actually thinking back when I first got the camera and reading the manual from cover to cover...... I saw the DOF section........ but some how clean forgot all about it lar......... it's like discovering something new and super useful again!!! It's really helps me with the metering now cos when stopped down under low light, I know if the aperture is too small....... a lot of times I am greedy, want a deep DOF but dun use tripod u see....... so the pcis become udnerexposed....... now I use DOF to preview to see the lighting level first............ kekeke........ as I always say, f/5.6 is the best for me......... somehow or other when I look back at the data kept in the camera, that's the most frequently used f-stop even with the Sigma ultra-wide which goes down to f/2.4 or the Minolta 50mm f/1.7......... must be my style... kekekeke :D

hey, wonderful news about the VC-7!! :)
I actually wanted to ask if you had any news about the VC-7, but realised after they updated the forum, the thread was removed too. You could get them to charge you only $240, including GST? Wonderful! :)

actually, Dynax 5 has dof preview function too. These days, the difference between an entry level and pro level camera is getting smaller. I mean, the difference in the max shuttle speed is probably not going to be used by most people, at least I would probably won't use anything faster than 1/250s. With multiple sensors, dof preview and variable exposure modes, there isn't any other functions in a pro line camera which I'll be dying to have for my camera body.

Hey, for those folks who have a VC-7, is it really worth to spend the $200++ for vertical control, as compared to using the $$ for film and developing? Honestly, personally, I always thought a vertical control is good to have, but not necessary.

Hi Colin....

Just to highlight to you the use of fast shutter speeds....

Shutter speeds are not only to use for capturing or freezing actions or reduce shake....

Fast shutter speeds allows one to use a wider aperture for very bright subjects/pictures....but still avoiding overexposed.

This is one area where not many people realize...the advantage of having faster shutter speed...(errata)

rgds,
me

sulhan said:
Hi Colin....

This is one area where not many people realize...the advantage of having faster aperture...

I think u mean shutter speeds right? That was what colin was asking.....

Hiee...look like we should one day go out for a shoot...to meetup and share tips....

rgds,
me

Yeah we should, just Minolta users... but it's a bit dificult for me to make it on Sunday... prefer Sat........

Same here. If outing is on Sunday, I can only meet up after 4pm cos I have church commitments, or very early morning on Sunday, since my service starts at 11am.

Anyway, I have no qualms about shooting with non-Minolta users. After all, most of the world use non-Minolta cameras, so the past shooting trips I made with my pals, I was actually the only Minolta user.

Anyway, as for what Sulhan suggested, he is right that a fast shuttle speed allows wide aperture shooting. However, despite the largest aperture of 1.4 at A-priority, the exposure reading never gave me a shuttle speed faster than 1/2000s. Probably its because I don't shoot in the bright afternoon. Maybe faster speeds of above 1/2000s (entry SLR can easily achieve 1/2000s) is achieved when we shoot in very bright, reflective places, like deserts or snowy landscapes.

yeocolin said:
Same here. If outing is on Sunday, I can only meet up after 4pm cos I have church commitments, or very early morning on Sunday, since my service starts at 11am.

Anyway, I have no qualms about shooting with non-Minolta users. After all, most of the world use non-Minolta cameras, so the past shooting trips I made with my pals, I was actually the only Minolta user.

Anyway, as for what Sulhan suggested, he is right that a fast shuttle speed allows wide aperture shooting. However, despite the largest aperture of 1.4 at A-priority, the exposure reading never gave me a shuttle speed faster than 1/2000s. Probably its because I don't shoot in the bright afternoon. Maybe faster speeds of above 1/2000s (entry SLR can easily achieve 1/2000s) is achieved when we shoot in very bright, reflective places, like deserts or snowy landscapes.

If u shoot at Raffles Place (the exit with the white Grecian columns) at about noon, I think all the specular reflection from the walls will give u well over 1/500 shutter speeds.... then if u need flash to brighten up the face of the subject, u'll find that your flash cannot handle and what will happen is that your subject would be underexposed lor...... unless u spot meter or over compensate like siaoz..... otherwise the TTL would just meter a very fast shutter speed and your shutter will close before the flash burst hits the film plane....

Yes, I know what you mean. But at 1/500 is still much slower than the upper limit of entry level SLR, which is 1/2000s. Anyway, that's the advantage of the higher end Minolta, cos we can use HSS.

yeocolin said:
Yes, I know what you mean. But at 1/500 is still much slower than the upper limit of entry level SLR, which is 1/2000s. Anyway, that's the advantage of the higher end Minolta, cos we can use HSS.

If u have the flash lor...... recently spend so much on lens and grip... must wait a while before can buy a HSS...... so thinking of the Sigma EF-500 lor...... the 5600 is too ex..... at least $200 more........ whew!

hi guys!

anyone looking for VC-7 or Minolta flash or any Minolta stuff (e.g. Minolta cameras (SLR, digital), lenses, teleconverters, program flash, macro flash ring, eyepiece cup, bounce reflector, holding strap, filter) give me a PM... i'll see if can quote u guys a good price :)

how?.....any?

rgds,
me

Hi Fighthefuture, please keep us up to date if the ssm lenses and teleconverters are out, their respective prices and your prices, if you have stock for them. I have no confirmed intentions to buy them, cos I expect them to cost a bomb, but it doesn't hurt to know their price and availability. Thank you.

No prob... anyone of you can also PM me anytime to request for quotations on the Minolta stuff...

yeocolin said:
Hi Fighthefuture, please keep us up to date if the ssm lenses and teleconverters are out, their respective prices and your prices, if you have stock for them. I have no confirmed intentions to buy them, cos I expect them to cost a bomb, but it doesn't hurt to know their price and availability. Thank you.

Anybody tried using VC-7 with Ni-Mh batteries? The reason i ask is because Ni-Mh batteries are only 1.2V unlike the Alkaline which are 1.5V. Does it affect the performance of the camera? Although the spec sheet did state that Ni-Mh can give you more no. of rolls than Akalines. Would like to hear fron you guys!

NiMh are actually 1.4+ volts when fully charged. They only measure 1.2V when almost totally exhausted.