Dumping 10D? WHY ???

Garion said:
For me (a 10D user), the improvements in the 20D over the 10D are impressive, but not enough to justify switching bodies, for that amount of expenditure. If you're talking about switching between a prosumer body and a pro body (i.e. 1-series), for a difference of 1-2k, yes I wouldn't mind switching, as it is really a big jump.

*snip*

Thanks but no thanks, I'll skip the 20D.

Just wondering, for all you 10D -> 20D upgraders out there, what is/are the factor(s) that made you want to upgrade to 20D? The faster frame rate? Bigger buffer? Faster AF? 2 more AF points? Ability to mount EF-S lenses? 2 more megapixels?
If I see you with a 20D, you're going to eat ALL of Nikon lenses lens hood :devil:

JoePro said:
...The new 20D is in the shops now, for about $2900 (without body) depending on where one buys one,...

Huh? No body so expensive liao?!!! :bigeyes:
No wonder so many don't want to upgrade! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

JoePro said:
Just to voice concern over the low prices that some seem to be willing to accept on their 10D's, now that the 20D is out and the 10D is discontinued.

I have been watching the forums and prior to the launch of the 20D, used prices for the 10D were asking at about $2250, some more, some less. This was about 15% off the brand new price for the 10D at the time. The new 20D is in the shops now, for about $2900 (without body) depending on where one buys one, which is marginally above the 10D price. No doubt after the fever dies down, and the early adopters have got their hands on the first generation models, which may come with some early production problems, the price should logically come down.

I saw a post for a 10D asking for between $1300-$1500, which IMHO is very very low and boderline 300D category. Whoever picks this up at this price level gets a bargain, as I'm sure the 300D can't go for less than a grand. The differences between the 300D and the 10D have not changed in any way, and although the new 20D seems to be hailed as the replacement for the 10D, it seems premature to start dumping the 10D.

Personally, although I would like very much to own the 20D, I'm not going to fork out another $1300-$1400 to buy it. Looking at the sample pics from the 1D mk2, and comparing those with the 10D, I find the differences to be subtle. And that is for a camera that is MUCH better than the 10D.

So for now, I'll just have to wait those 2 seconds or so to start up the camera, print out my pictures on less than A3, which is what I normally do anyway, and do without the improvement in focus speed, and all the other goodies that the 20D brings. Perhaps in 18 months I can get one on the grey market, when most of the bugs are ironed out, and use it awhile before the next 12 or 16 megapixel comes along, and then we'll see.

Perhaps by then I will have learned to get more out of my 10D and learn more about the basics of photography...

Love to have the 20D, but at the end of the day, its not necessarily gonna help me get better pictures - "it's not the camera!"

focus on getting the shot - NOT THE EQUIPMENT!

How do you know that those upgrading from a 10D to a 20D are not focusing on the equipment only? Can you be so sure they do not focus on photography?

Just because you can't justify the purchase of the 20D while still owning the 10D, dosen't mean others can't.

For the depreciation aspect, the sellers could see it this way that if they don't sell now for a substantial loss, selling later once the 20D is more prominant in the market would mean an even more substantial loss. It's just their opinion of losing loess money.

You can't compare images from say a 10D, 20D or a 1D Mk II and say the differences are subtle. What the crux is whether you can get the shots which you can get on a pro-series camera on a consumer one. For example a series of shots using burst fire featuring a 2 second long ice skating jump. How many frames would you be able to capture with the 1D Mk II vs the 10D? It's not so much the 'quality' of the shot, but the type of shot/action which can be capture, 'the moment'.

You sounded a bit too self-righteous for my liking. What other's do with their money is their choice, and not for us to criticize openly.

Aiyah, if you need it (say 5 fps, 8mp - if the pixel sharpness is as good as 10D then it is in fact letting you able to crop more as well as a higher FOV crop by itself...good for tele shooters), buy. If not, keep old one. :) There are some areas of photography which the new 20D can let a good enough photog to excel further.

BTW, is the AF any faster than the 10D?

If I see you with a 20D, you're going to eat ALL of Nikon lenses lens hood :devil:

We'll feed him with our own Canon lens hoods thankyouverymuch. ;p

Wait eat the Nikon ones dio poisoning.

Garion: Year end bonus can buy everything. ;)

I've tried it last week, and as a matter of fact, YES. AF is faster than the 10D.

2100 said:
BTW, is the AF any faster than the 10D?

Same what. Those who want to buy 10D will but 20D now. Those who sell 10D there will be one who is buying their 10D. 1 seller, 1 buyer isn't it same?

Unless someone dump into rubbish bin, but please PM me. I shall help u do that. ;p

JoePro said:
focus on getting the shot - NOT THE EQUIPMENT!

Heh! That is a sweeping statement. Maybe some who upgrade from a 10D to a 20D are those who use it so fully that they understand its limitations so well and see the 20D as an answer. :D

There are those who upgrade becoz they want the best. And there are those who upgrade becoz they NEED the best in its class. The 20D is essentially a mini - 1DMk2. And some photographers do need the features of the 20D and has outlived the 10D's limitations. :cool:

Virgo said:
I've tried it last week, and as a matter of fact, YES. AF is faster than the 10D.

If that is so, then it really opens up quite a number of new doors of photography even for serious hobbyist. I will definitely find the 5fps and AF improvement extremely useful, ISO performance a nice bonus (can get faster shutter and usable 100% crops at high ISOs like >= 800....now i use neatimage), burst depth etc....

And nobody mentions the WB 3D sort of control on the 20D. This is very useful..... look at my pics, some of them sibeh off one, coz i too lazy to correct in PS. Note, it is not a matter of colour temperature.... xxx Kelvins is putting it too simply. And when you print, either the printer lab gotta be skilful or whoops....sorry dude...it's trash.

Basket....but i shoot Nikon, and D2X is too high up in terms of price. :bsmilie:
So just waiting lor....

mr_jason said:
We'll feed him with our own Canon lens hoods thankyouverymuch. ;p

Wait eat the Nikon ones dio poisoning.

Garion: Year end bonus can buy everything. ;)

mr_jason :kok:

Nikon-Garion Feud, bystanders should not interfere :devil:

2100 said:
If that is so, then it really opens up quite a number of new doors of photography even for serious hobbyist. I will definitely find the 5fps and AF improvement extremely useful, ISO performance a nice bonus (can get faster shutter and usable 100% crops at high ISOs like >= 800....now i use neatimage), burst depth etc....

AF is indeed faster on the 20D vs 300D and probably 10D which uses the same focussing mechanism of the 300D. For eg, the kit lens on the 20D focuss much faster than the 70-200 F4L (which is already pretty fast) on the 300D.

Bluestrike said:
WAH!!!

SUPER DUPER RARE GUEST WE HAVE HERE!!!!
hehhe.e.

yo big guy...*or rather tall guy*
Ahem, dun suan me leh :p

Anyway its interesting to see the same old topics surface since 4 years back...last time was Analouge or Digital SLR...who win what...

Now is 10D vs 20D lol...folks dun think so much just enjoy the photography and spend/sell/upgrade within your means.

Garion said:
The only really BIG improvement I can see in the 20D is the instantaneous startup time, which is one of the very few sore points with me regarding the 10D. But I can live with it.

Actually, I suspect that this so-called instant startup time is just that Canon now programs the OFF mode to be sleep mode. Put a CF into a 20D, the LED blinks. I think some even mentioned that you change lens like IS glass you can even feel it.

It's the same for Nikon in OFF, the LED will blink. The cams are not in total OFF. Anyway, it sucks really little power unless the metering is programmed to be Always On. I have forgotten to switch it off for 1 whole week (Sunday to Sunday) and my cam still has full bar. :)

Perhaps can take out battery, wait for 5 mins, then mesh the shutter first before putting battery in and switch on. It will still need time to boot up.

mpenza said:
AF is indeed faster on the 20D vs 300D and probably 10D which uses the same focussing mechanism of the 300D. For eg, the kit lens on the 20D focuss much faster than the 70-200 F4L (which is already pretty fast) on the 300D.

Buy? :) You surely can afford and you will need this for fashion!

2100 said:
Buy? :) You surely can afford and you will need this for fashion!

of course. not really "surely can afford" but would get it eventually, hopefully by the end of the year ;p already "booked" in advance.

peterl said:
i'm still using my trusty old D60, which i bought after selling off my D30 at half price which i truly regret.
Well looks like i'm holding on to it, still can take great pictures,
Just remember ask yourself especially for the 10D owners......by selling off the 10D to get the 20D, does the 20D makes you a better photographer?

20D should give you better results.

Virgo said:

yes much faster. But no one mentioned the shutter slap is much LOUDER than the 10D also!! :confused: They say because its a pro series type shutter. But 1D MKII don sound like that leh.... :think: Think its asa loud as the 300D if not louder...anyone can support this statement :D