Doctors in this world

If that happens in the human society no one will sell satay liao. :bsmilie:

Please bring your OT somewhere else.

oh boy, i always wanted to say that.:D finally had the chance. thanks!

What do you mean "doctors in this world are making people more sick" ? Which aspects are you referring to? Please elaborate.

There is some truth in that.
The overuse and reliance of Antibiotics; not only in the practice of medicine but farming (where it is used to treat farm animals for greater yields), has caused the creation of superbugs. Viruses that are immune to the latest drugs/medicine.

http://www.abc.net.au/science/slab/antibiotics/superbugs.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/science/slab/antibiotics/agriculture.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antibiotic_resistance

Instead of finding the root cause of the problems of their patients, many doctors have been lazy and prescribed antibiotics to their patients;when there might not have been a need for it. Thus lowering the effectiveness of antibiotics overtime.

i wonder if he will even respond. but i dun think he is really talking about doctors. wrong term, should be genetic engineers. "doctors" is too general.

Well, i always believe there are two sides to things in life. Knowledge is a powerful tool and also a double edged sword. Genetics has revealed alot about ourselves and has allowed mankind to do many things, even to 'playing god'. However, ethics and morality should be observed all the times, in all aspects. Ill practices and misuse of knowledge will be and should be dealed by the justice.

Please bring your OT somewhere else.

oh boy, i always wanted to say that.:D finally had the chance. thanks!

No need to thank me lah. My pleasure. :)

There is some truth in that.
The overuse and reliance of Antibiotics; not only in the practice of medicine but farming (where it is used to treat farm animals for greater yields), has caused the creation of superbugs. Viruses that are immune to the latest drugs/medicine.

http://www.abc.net.au/science/slab/antibiotics/superbugs.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/science/slab/antibiotics/agriculture.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antibiotic_resistance

Instead of finding the root cause of the problems of their patients, many doctors have been lazy and prescribed antibiotics to their patients;when there might not have been a need for it. Thus lowering the effectiveness of antibiotics overtime.

Yes, i agree. Antibiotic resistance, penicillin is a classic case. It used to be a wonder drug, used to. Use of growth hormones in livestocks, yes agree.

I dont possess the right to question the doctor's diagnosis and prescription. If you feels that the drug prescribed is inappropiate, sound out to the relevant authorities. Or visit another clinic. Personally, i dont like to take antibiotics too and sometimes i do feel that i am given too many drugs. When that happens, i just skipped them, at my own risk.

btw, i think it happened to me once b4. was too sick to remeber the exact happenings, but something about the anti-biotic being not strong enough, and i was prescirbe with something called augmentin. me no bio student, so i took it as "normal anti-biotic no effect on me, need to give new stronger kind". worse still, it happened 1 week b4 chinese new year 2006. very sad.

i think there is a serious case of overuse of antibios...... i dont always eat the anti bios that i get from doctors either.

everything is so intricately linked to one another that it is very, very hard to define what's exactly good and what's bad in the whole scheme of things. only 'time' will tell (or maybe a general unified theory of everything can predict).

Sniper ShutterBug, while your hypothesis seems like common sense and plausible, it's a rather simplistic way of looking at the world.

personally though, i believe humans are starting to evolve beyond simple Darwinism. we are attempting to master genetics, instead of vice versa.

btw, i think it happened to me once b4. was too sick to remeber the exact happenings, but something about the anti-biotic being not strong enough, and i was prescirbe with something called augmentin. me no bio student, so i took it as "normal anti-biotic no effect on me, need to give new stronger kind". worse still, it happened 1 week b4 chinese new year 2006. very sad.

Dont be sad, at least you are well now. Maybe the bug u kena is really tough. Eat more fruits and vege, health is wealth. Cheers!

everything is so intricately linked to one another that it is very, very hard to define what's exactly good and what's bad in the whole scheme of things. only 'time' will tell (or maybe a general unified theory of everything can predict).

Sniper ShutterBug, while your hypothesis seems like common sense and plausible, it's a rather simplistic way of looking at the world.

personally though, i believe humans are starting to evolve beyond simple Darwinism. we are attempting to master genetics, instead of vice versa.

you forgot to mention to that we are destroying ourselves too.....:sticktong

Dont be sad, at least you are well now. Maybe the bug u kena is really tough. Eat more fruits and vege, health is wealth. Cheers!

i second that too. but don't forgot the meat! makes you think better! ;)

Asbestos, UV rays, agent orange, lead, mercury, radioactivity and the list goes on.

if you look at the stats, humans generally have increasingly longer lifespans than before, no doubt partly due to so-called medicine and genetic studies. even as late as the Victorian era, the average lifespan of a London male living in the slums was 22yrs.

then again, the longer we live, the more time we have for damage lol

The war between human and virus has been around for thousands of years, no one side win yet.

This augmentin is a strong antibiotic one. A doc once prescribed it to me I kena diarrhea and felt sick second day. My wife once had it she kena severe stomach ache. Once my daughter threw up after having augmentin too.

Now we ask the doc not to give us augmentin any more.

This augmentin is a strong antibiotic one. A doc once prescribed it to me I kena diarrhea and felt sick second day. My wife once had it she kena severe stomach ache. Once my daughter threw up after having augmentin too.

Now we ask the doc not to give us augmentin any more.

woah. i must be damn sick that time. did not have any side effects(but since i was that sick, i might have not noticed the side effects:bsmilie: ). the only thing i remembered was the size of augmentin, kind of large.:bsmilie:

The war between human and virus has been around for thousands of years, no one side win yet.

there is no 'declared' war between humans and viruses. it just is.

i believe your statement stems from the impression that most, if not all, viruses are bad. but i assure you that is far from the truth. it's only the bad viruses that get the media attention (:bsmilie: )

in fact, there are increasingly interests from scientists that viruses may have contributed to the evolution of life itself. viruses are not as relatively 'modern' as we might have thought.

afterall, human beings are but one glorified and unified host of cellular level organisms.