D90 User Group

Yes, that lens should be enough for general landscape (not the ultra wide kind, which is a specialty lens for landscapes). Should be good enough for portrait as well, but indoor it will suffer unless you set the ISO levels to much higher levels (which will invite much noise levels). Landscape-wise, not the widest but sufficient if your landscapes are not broad horizons (should be fine for some cityscapes, etc).

Since you have that lens already, my advice like Smiles88 mentioned would be either AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 or AF-D 50mm f/1.8 to couple with your kit lens. These two are very affordable fixed focal/angle that is great for indoor/low light shoots (due to the large f/1.8 aperture - no need to boost up the ISO). Good for indoor portraits.

Thanks to all the bros for all the expert advice. I will explore my kit lens first then, will get the Portrait next then before my trip.

Haha. Just helping to poison abit. Stagheart if you're going to buy a lens between the 35mm or the 50mm(both are pretty good for low light shooting), you shld consider getting the 35mm. I feel it's more shiok. Haha. Personal preferrence ah.

If not, your kit lens shld suffice.

Die, you're poisoned beyond recognition liao... I think that's the next lens you're going to chiong for once you've got the funds.... :bsmilie:

Simles88, don't get 35/1.8. Get Tokina 11-16 first!!! :devil::devil:

but how to carry so much weight bro...?
I'm not NNB leh... ;)

I was carrying my "light" setup yesterday around KL town, and already can feel the weight. I think for whole day walking around, I'll definitely need a backpack.

Bro, you already have a shoulder bag. Now you need a backpack. I recommend the kata 3n1-33.

sorry guys, I just want to be very sure between the 35mm and 50mm.

35f/1.8 is having a shorter focal length over 50f/1.8.

Simles88, don't get 35/1.8. Get Tokina 11-16 first!!! :devil::devil:

haha. i'm still deciding to go for Tokina 11-16 first, or Tamron 17-50 first, once i have the funds.:D

yup tt's right

tokina 11-16 is the next lens im gonna go for after my tripod!

Thanks, I think I'll go for the 50f/1.8.:D

Did you get to try both the 35 and 50mm during the d90 TCSS? I have the 50mm and I sometimes find it too tight. When I got to try ZCA's 35mm, I felt I had more breathing space.

But if budget is a bit tight and you need a light, fast lens, then you can't beat the 50 f1.8 D.:thumbsup:

Did you get to try both the 35 and 50mm during the d90 TCSS? I have the 50mm and I sometimes find it too tight. When I got to try ZCA's 35mm, I felt I had more breathing space.

But if budget is a bit tight and you need a light, fast lens, then you can't beat the 50 f1.8 D.:thumbsup:

i agree. i have the 50 f1.8, light and fast. sharp image, but kinda tight to work with. 35mm would be a better choice for general usage imo

I was trying on my kit lens on both 35 and 50 found that when I want to take picture of my son, when I set to 35mm, I have to move quite close to him and he will try to touch it. When I set to 50mm, I feel quite comfortable. Anyway, any advise?

if you tried the focal length,and its comfortable for u and fits your purpose, then i guess you already have your answer. seems like 50mm would be better for you

I was trying on my kit lens on both 35 and 50 found that when I want to take picture of my son, when I set to 35mm, I have to move quite close to him and he will try to touch it. When I set to 50mm, I feel quite comfortable. Anyway, any advise?

Depends I guess what kind of portraiture you like to take. Depending on your distance from your subject (your son), 35mm is more for full-body to half-body shots, while the 50mm is more half-body to head shots.

Anyways, you’ve already tested the focal lengths on your kit lens, so you are at least making an informed decision. I guess for me, I want the 35mm as I already have the 50mm. ZCA’s BBB:devil: virus is strong. :sweatsm:

Oh crap! I walked into CP at marina. N i saw Tokina 11-16!! 1069. Haha. Lau nua sia

If I were you, I will stop seeing these things for a few days. Think hard then make decision lol. If not, you will spend big time.

i think so too. the more u see the more 'gian' you feel lol

haha. i'm still deciding to go for Tokina 11-16 first, or Tamron 17-50 first, once i have the funds.:D

juz curious, why would u wan to get 11-16 and / 17-50?

anyway i am going to try using the 11-16 1st before deciding how comfortable i am able to use it. juz my tot.