D90 User Group (Thread III)

Not a matter of Nikon or Canon but I find that Canon range of Telephoto lenses are much wider & more affordable.

FYI, I am a Nikon user.

I usually don't boost my ISO. hehe

sometimes bo bian one. When taking photos of my guinea pigs at home, and when i took photos of birds at the bird park. Dont boost ISO really not fast enuf to capture haha

thanks guys. but if dont boost ISO means you using speedlight to compensate?

I dont have a speed light. Try stopping down your F stop to allow a faster shutter speed. But when shooting indoors, i find that my 50 1.8 still does not allow me to use a fast enough shutter speed for my pets, on top of that the DOF is really thin, so i will bost the iso up anwyay

When I take shots of my dog indoors, I use the pop up flash if needed. I usually leave my ISO at 200. But last time when I was playing around to understand the camera better, I used up to 1600.

I havent really played with my pop up flash much. I learnt about the various settings for the flash, and what its used for, as well as flash compensation. I think its high time i put it to use. Thanks for the reminder that i have been letting 1 part of my camera rot : X

I will use a flash if my iso has to go above 2000-3200. I wouldn't shoot my lenses at wide open (excluding uwa) since f1.4 would be too soft.

I havent really played with my pop up flash much. I learnt about the various settings for the flash, and what its used for, as well as flash compensation. I think its high time i put it to use. Thanks for the reminder that i have been letting 1 part of my camera rot : X

Haha! I also seldom use it.

btw, how do you ensure that the photos taken are sharp?

This is my first post and I am totally new to my new Nikon D90, i just got it few days ago.

1) How do I take a photo simply in black and white?

Thanks a lot.
^^

btw, how do you ensure that the photos taken are sharp?

2 words. Zoom in. Haha. Make sure it's at least very sharp on the LCD display. Or at least, acceptable to you

This is my first post and I am totally new to my new Nikon D90, i just got it few days ago.

Thanks a lot.
^^

Comgrats n welcome! To shoot in black & white I think you can go to Picture Control and select Monochrome. Pls double check with the user manual. It's very useful.

First thing you should do is to read through the user manual. And shoot more. :)

Hope this helps

I'm new in D90 and just only used for few months. Can anyone enlighten how to re-set/change the camera setting to manory card recording from "DSC-0001.JPG" to date format. Every time when I downloaded all my photo to computer, the number is re-set. This may cause and overlab my preious photo.

Hope can hear some advice.:embrass:

u mentioned L lens leh :bsmilie:

Ya lor.. thats why I asked if he is going to switch... ;)

haha strike toto liao can buy that and if not keep as paper weight? :sweat:

hmm.. I did mention L lens but then thinking about it. I still dun quite like the weight of it. I still prefer Nikon weight and I'm so used to the function menu of Nikon dun think I will switch over.. :think:

But then again, that is if i ever strike TOTO.. :sweat:

Thanks a lot.
^^

welcome, u cant shoot in black and white. u can change it in the setting. read you manual for the how.

found
pls read here
http://kenrockwell.com/nikon/d90/users-guide/d90.pdf

page 30 of 32