D90 + 18-200mm VR Kit

I moved up from a 18-70 + 55-200VR combo to a 18-200VR. Never regret the decision at all!

Yes, i lose the superior sharpness and quick af of the 18-70 but i gain versatility which is the selling point. The 55-200VR is no better than the 55-200 range of the 18-200VR...serious...

Friends have poked fun and chided me for using a "lazy man's lens" while they use their f2.8s and L lenses but I'm able to get most of the shots most of the time cause i simply DO NOT NEED TO CHANGE LENS!!! On top of that, I get VR throughout the whole focal range.

Edit: Seriously there's no diff to the IQ of the 18-55 + 55-200vr combo VS the 18-200vr in REAL WORLD USAGE. If you simply need the best IQ, get the f2.8 zooms.

Yes. Once you've gone 2.8, even if it is a cheapo Tamron one, you will never want to go back.

well the main reason why i'm opting for the 18-200 is simply the extra zoom it can offer me and that is where the main bulk of the extra dollars is going to (the extra 95mm focal length)

build quality wise, the 18-200mm is arguably better quality.

btw ur why ur friend so funny one, can't he just explain what he think instead of asking u to go try out urself

as for IQ have not tested the 2 lens myself but reviews of the 2 lenses have been mixed and my guess it the difference is not significant.

just asked him yesterday. is the different technology~

haha :bsmilie: ur friend really funny leh... anyways u can forget abt asking him lah if he keep giving u vague answers like that :sticktong

Must be some different mount we are not aware of. ;p

Yes. Once you've gone 2.8, even if it is a cheapo Tamron one, you will never want to go back.

haha agree wit u....i got a f2.8 n a f1.8 lens n now telephoto f4-5.6 i also need to think very long...if f2.8 also needa save very long...

Hi all, dunno whether i have OT here.

If i mostly shoot landscape is it right to say that i dun need the f2.8 since most of the time i would like to shoot at small aperture so that most of my subject is in focus.

So get a normal zoom lens like this 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 is enough for my usage?

Im new in dslr and planning to buy D90 too, considering which len to get.

Thanks in advance

Hi all, dunno whether i have OT here.

If i mostly shoot landscape is it right to say that i dun need the f2.8 since most of the time i would like to shoot at small aperture so that most of my subject is in focus.

So get a normal zoom lens like this 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 is enough for my usage?

Im new in dslr and planning to buy D90 too, considering which len to get.

Thanks in advance

In a way yes, but of course there may be times where you would want to blur out distracting foreground and use hyperfocal distance to get the background focus, then having f/2.8 or faster may give you some nice stuff you cannot achieve with a slower lens. This would be especially true for wide angle lenses. You can get the 18-200VR or even just the kit lens 18-105VR and explore from there what else you might need in the future.

If I follow your argument, don't you think a PnS will do just as well? ;p

D90+tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II VC LD is a good combination too.
But you need to fork out 2.2~2.3K. Might not be reasonable to some:dunno:

should landscape, u need a wide len...

tokina 11-16 f/2.8 or the new nikon 10-24 are good buys :)

sigma 10-20 seems good too based on reviews that i have read so far

D90+tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II VC LD is a good combination too.
But you need to fork out 2.2~2.3K. Might not be reasonable to some:dunno:

no lah,slighter cheaper...

jus get a d90 body ard 1300-1400 then get either the tamron,sigma.
tamron 17-50 f/2.8 or sigma 18-50 f/2.8
both r decent len at a affordable price...
the tamron is 1 mm wider, but the sigma can go marco. :)

no lah,slighter cheaper...

jus get a d90 body ard 1300-1400 then get either the tamron,sigma.
tamron 17-50 f/2.8 or sigma 18-50 f/2.8
both r decent len at a affordable price...
the tamron is 1 mm wider, but the sigma can go marco. :)

17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II VC is a newly released product with Vibration Compensation US$650
earlier model doesn't have this feature