D7000 Discussion Thread II

The constant ~zi zi zi zi~ noise is quite hard to bear... to me, it is harder to bear than hot pixels... I think I will only use it for photo shooting... forget it for video shooting....:confused:
Yes, I noticed of the noise produced when recording videos. I guess this is unavoidable :dunno:

The best way is to isolate the noise source from your mic. Maybe getting an external mic source such as a shotgun mic from Sennheiser would help you. Of course, you can try a more expensive way too.

What I did is I gotten a ZOOM H4N (from Cathay, they got promotion now) and install on top of my camera. I still hear a softer noise from focus but what I gain is a stereo audio recording (need to sync @ video editing software though), and I got the freedom to isolate the noise source from the camera, thus 'eliminating' the noise from entering my video.

It's a standalone sound recorder, so I use it for my lecture anyway, multiple use for me :)

You guys still talking about Hot pixel?? Not boring meh???

I was asking about the "focusing noise" from my lens when using LV mode... any bro has the same noise or just my D7000? :sticktong

Is the noise only from using kit lens or any lens also got the focusing lens?
I think most of the guys doing DSLR video will use a external shotgun mic for better sound quality.

Btw, when you are looking at external mic, you may want to also look at video light.
I just bought a CN-126 LED video light, and I am pretty happy with the results, there is some filters that come with it which will soften the light. I also try using it to take photos indoor and the result were pretty good as well.

Hi Jacky,

I think you still don't understand what these guys are telling you....

We all know D7000 has a hot pixel issue, maybe to some, it is unacceptable rate at the moment. But instead of using your usual exp setting that you are getting the eye sore hot pixel(s), you can another exp setting to achieve what you want, maybe with a less eye sore mini hot pixel! Photograhy is all about creativity, there is no wrong or right, it individual to each eye. Why must you restrict yourself to it?

Yes, I believe many of us really wish to see your creative photo with your stated exp with the eye sore hot pixel on it!!!

Why not you start posting on other forums with your requirement and see if you get similar comments here? I bet you will.

Come on, be a winner and not a loser.

hi, I am just a casual shooter. Sometime u just need things to be done fast and easy. No time to figure out or counter the settings.

My photos are not creative or pro. but the most important thing is it capture the memory and appear to be comfortable to my eyes. :D

btw, I uploaded some photos to flickr.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/56291454@N06/with/5203649165/

and the settings
0265-d7k test image on iso800,f22,5s
0266-d7k test image on iso1600,f22,5s
0639-d7k test image on iso800,f32,10s

DSC_3076-d90, iso400,f32,3s
DSC_3067-d90, iso3200, f32, 1s
DSC_3065-d90, iso800, f32, 2.5s
DSC_2789-d90, iso1600, f10, 1/1600s
DSC_2781-d90, iso1600, f20, 1/1600s
DSC_2764-d90, iso1600, f25, 1/2000s
DSC_1872-d90, iso1600, f10, 1/1600s
DSC_1941-d90, iso1600, f32, 1/250s
DSC_1931-d90, iso1600, f32, 1/800s
DSC_1854-d90, iso1600, f32, 8s

for sunset and sunrise, everything happen within minutes. can imagine how fast the sun move. :D
all photo just for hobby try out, not up to pro.
dun ask me y I use the settings, but basically I need to shoot fast, mostly handheld, no time to setup tripod coz enjoying the trip.
all photos without post processing.
all d90 photos are free from hot pixels.
all d7k photos having hot pixels(not sure able to see at the uploaded quality and size or not,you might say I pixel peep, :P), the hot pixel is fix at few places and appear to be intermittently.

The constant ~zi zi zi zi~ noise is quite hard to bear... to me, it is harder to bear than hot pixels... I think I will only use it for photo shooting... forget it for video shooting....:confused:

i think it is normal during liveview when you are setting the full auto servo tracking feature(forgot how they name it under d7k focusing mode). the focus motor make noise. :D

hi, I am just a casual shooter. Sometime u just need things to be done fast and easy. No time to figure out or counter the settings.

My photos are not creative or pro. but the most important thing is it capture the memory and appear to be comfortable to my eyes. :D

btw, I uploaded some photos to flickr.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/56291454@N06/with/5203649165/

and the settings
0265-d7k test image on iso800,f22,5s
0266-d7k test image on iso1600,f22,5s
0639-d7k test image on iso800,f32,10s

DSC_3076-d90, iso400,f32,3s
DSC_3067-d90, iso3200, f32, 1s
DSC_3065-d90, iso800, f32, 2.5s
DSC_2789-d90, iso1600, f10, 1/1600s
DSC_2781-d90, iso1600, f20, 1/1600s
DSC_2764-d90, iso1600, f25, 1/2000s
DSC_1872-d90, iso1600, f10, 1/1600s
DSC_1941-d90, iso1600, f32, 1/250s
DSC_1931-d90, iso1600, f32, 1/800s
DSC_1854-d90, iso1600, f32, 8s

for sunset and sunrise, everything happen within minutes. can imagine how fast the sun move. :D
all photo just for hobby try out, not up to pro.
dun ask me y I use the settings, but basically I need to shoot fast, mostly handheld, no time to setup tripod coz enjoying the trip.
all photos without post processing.
all d90 photos are free from hot pixels.
all d7k photos having hot pixels(not sure able to see at the uploaded quality and size or not,you might say I pixel peep, :P), the hot pixel is fix at few places and appear to be intermittently.

Bro, i not interested in comments on hot pixels, cos me old man, can't find the pixels even 100% zoom. But I realize you like long exposure at nite...

I use to do a lot of long exposure shots at nite in the past as well. I have tried many crazy settings like as well, one thing I can comment about using DSLR for long exposure (we call it bulbing...) is that it will heat up the sensor pretty fast, and the heat wave will affect the results of the photo. We did not know what happen initially, we thought was some 7 month effect, cos we were shooting at CCK cementry... When we know the reason, we will normally let the camera cool down after each long exposure...

I can say that this is technology limitation at this moment althought after 5 - 6yrs, they should have improve... but if you want a very nice long exposure picture, you can try doing it on film, that will be the best you can even control the grain by using different type of films...

I think my final comment after reading this thread is that, lets stop the debate against Jacky... everyone's have their like and dislike of doing things... his expectation for D7k is high and when the camera underperform as per his expectation, he will be disappointed. I truely understand that, but there is no point talking about this thing over and over again, who is right or wrong here has no meaning... Lets wait for Nikon to comment about this situation.

Jacky, in the meantime if you are still unhappy with the Cam, you can always sent it to me as a Xmas present, I will love you so much... kekeke... ;)

ha ha ha... I don't mind having two D7000 also.... :)

Bro, i not interested in comments on hot pixels, cos me old man, can't find the pixels even 100% zoom. But I realize you like long exposure at nite...

I use to do a lot of long exposure shots at nite in the past as well. I have tried many crazy settings like as well, one thing I can comment about using DSLR for long exposure (we call it bulbing...) is that it will heat up the sensor pretty fast, and the heat wave will affect the results of the photo. We did not know what happen initially, we thought was some 7 month effect, cos we were shooting at CCK cementry... When we know the reason, we will normally let the camera cool down after each long exposure...

I can say that this is technology limitation at this moment althought after 5 - 6yrs, they should have improve... but if you want a very nice long exposure picture, you can try doing it on film, that will be the best you can even control the grain by using different type of films...

I think my final comment after reading this thread is that, lets stop the debate against Jacky... everyone's have their like and dislike of doing things... his expectation for D7k is high and when the camera underperform as per his expectation, he will be disappointed. I truely understand that, but there is no point talking about this thing over and over again, who is right or wrong here has no meaning... Lets wait for Nikon to comment about this situation.

Jacky, in the meantime if you are still unhappy with the Cam, you can always sent it to me as a Xmas present, I will love you so much... kekeke... ;)

yes yes... you're right, its the servo thing make noise... compact no noise, DSLR so noisy... a bit disappointed...

i think it is normal during liveview when you are setting the full auto servo tracking feature(forgot how they name it under d7k focusing mode). the focus motor make noise. :D

ha ha ha... I don't mind having two D7000 also.... :)

Please give old man a chance, you already got 1 liao... I still have no money to buy half of it... It so hard to sell off my D300 lately... All thanks to the D7000...

A tips for those who claimed they see hot pixel in movies even at setting ISO 400. Plase verify that in the movie setting, if your manual movie setting is set to 'ON'. In that case, the camera will not overwrite your ISO input.

I can see my hotspot @ ISO1600, and it became obvious at ISO3200. That's kinda 'normal' to me, since at ISO 800, I didn't see any, and from my understanding, I don't need ISO 1600 and above for video shooting (If I would need this kind of sensitivity, then probably I'd need a proper lighting for the subject lol)

This "HOT PIXEL" issue just keep coming....

I am so happy to find out that my D70 also has hot pixels with I set it to ISO1600... in another words, my D7000 is "normal".... no bad feelings... just itch hand try it out with my D70 since it is such a hot topic here recently... maybe I should send both camera for remapping when I visit NSC next time... ha ha....;p

adding new toy to my collection...(D7000 + Tamron 17-50mm VC)

WOW! no hot pixels...lucky for me which i got from the 2nd batch from Cathay photo.

IMGP4298.png

IMG_0131.png

WOW! no hot pixels...lucky for me which i got from the 2nd batch from Cathay photo.

IMGP4298.png

IMG_0131.png

Congrats. Still saving up $...

but i think by the time i saved enough D7100 out already

So 2nd batch no more huh... mind sharing with us how much you paid for? :)

Interested to know as well how much was the D7000 body at CP.

Have been waiting for the second batch and glad stocks are in this promptly. :-)

Last but not least, if I could actually see a show of hands, new D7000 owners who are enjoy their photoshooting now? I find this thread depressing to read (and type in, including reading my own post previously) because of so many emphasis on flaw of a camera, and not the good point itself, and it really shouldn't have coincide with my personal enjoyment (something that'll make me happy), and that's photography.

Here's my noob review: Good and comfortable grip. Good IQ. Like the 100% viewfinder. Shutter button is soft and takes getting used to. Solid shutter sound.

There are certainly many other good points but don't apply to me given my current skills. But I like to have them avaliable for future use as I learn more.

The only problem is the lack of time to bring it out more :D

Interested to know as well how much was the D7000 body at CP.

1682 (body only) + 915 (Tamrom 17-55mm VC version) + 7% (GST) = $2778.79

If you try to ask other stores this will cost you more than $2,800

Thanks for sharing. Cathay's price seems reasonable enough.

How is it compared to MS color and TK?

By the way, how do you know that it's the second batch?

Here's my noob review: Good and comfortable grip. Good IQ. Like the 100% viewfinder. Shutter button is soft and takes getting used to. Solid shutter sound.

There are certainly many other good points but don't apply to me given my current skills. But I like to have them avaliable for future use as I learn more.

The only problem is the lack of time to bring it out more :D

Forgetting my complaints on hot pixels,
Adding on your points:
Another few pros on d7k
1) the battery seem like lasting longer then usual on full charge
2) the af fine tune is cool features to shoot super sharp object with slightly back/front focus lens
3) the FN button can be assigned to many many option on d7k, but I always assign it to flash off to have better and fast control over my external flash
4) auto white balance seem like more natural and accurate comparing d90.
5) extra personalized menu to allow fast access to your commonly used settings.
6) U1 and U2 allowed faster transition of settings. Good to have.
7) new autofocus mode button that I spend my hard time finding it out, but allowing very fast action on changing autofocus mode. Somehow, my finger is hard to reach the button while shooting, I always pressed wrongly on lens release button instead. :p

It is a good news that you got hot pixel free d7k from second batch, mind to share your serial number?

Btw, just to share, Harvey Norman start releasing their price for kit package, 1999 including gst.

And for current d7k owners who like to shoot LE. Few way to avoid hot pixel:
1) do not use liveview/video prior to LE shoot.
2) split the interval longer between shooting.

I found that liveview will heat up the sensor very fast. Or override the liveview to iso800 manually. My LE is quite clear from obvious bright hot pixel by following the above steps.

Pentax k5 users started to complaint about the same issue. Maybe the sensor that commonly used by k5 and d7k tends to heat up too easily. But according to some owners who own both, k5 seem like having better control over the issue.

Personally, maybe Nikon can just release firmware to fix still photos issue quite easily. Not for video though. I Nv really try out video yet. So I dunno how bad it is.