D600 User Thread II

What lens were u refering to?

For me im using 16-35 and i rem tat i have to wait awhile before the vr settles. I dun have other vr lens to test it out

Diff $$ lens diff vr behaviour?

For me im using 16-35 and i rem tat i have to wait awhile before the vr settles. I dun have other vr lens to test it out

Bro I also have this lens. Among all the VR lenses, this one I almost cannot feel the VR vibration in the VF. It shares the same characteristic as Canon's 24-105L, you almost can't feel the VR kick in at all, but it's there. Used it to shoot fast paced events, never needed to wait.

The telezooms' VR vibration can be seen in the VF, but certainly doesn't need up to 2 seconds to settle from my experience. I can shoot instantaneously, regardless it's top end or consumer grade tele zoom. If need to wait up to 2 seconds, many photojournalists will be out of job Liao....

Either your lens is broken or you have a different time perception than most people in this universe. ;)

seems like i may have caused some confusion.

it doesn't take thaaaat long for VR to settle for the tamron.. just a perceptible difference in responsiveness (*which I could be confusing AF speed and VC time to stabilize)

but other reviewers have mentioned something of similar effect

" I got the impression that the VC needs a short time to "lock-on". If you give it the time to stabilize you get good results, if you press the shutter too fast that might result in less effective image stabilization."

http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Tamron_SP_24-70mm_f2-8_Di_VC_USD/

not 2 seconds kind of eternity, but then not as ready for action as a nikon 24-70 in terms of responsiveness

Hi guys, wondering how are your personal opinions of d600?

i bought mine 6 months ago and have been plagued with dust spots on sensor problem, i'm pretty sure my speed at changing lens is fast enough to prevent THAT much dust :(

3 weeks ago, when i put my memory card and my battery in, the LED indicator keeps flashing. I brought it to NSC and they themselves cannot solve the problem and told me they needed more time (i went down when they say its done but after repeated checking, i found e same problem).

i asked my friends for opinions and they all said d600 is problematic...they all recommend me to get d800/800e.

but the price diff is too big for me, but i wanna gather your views. if d600 is really a problematic kid i'll change it away liao..

thanks guy..

Have you verified if your SD card is OK?

If card Ok, NSC will need to solve your cam problem ...

For d600 besides the known dust problem, im not aware of any other problems. I like my d600 and its performance.

All electronics are subject to problems if ir unlucky, but tats what the warranty is for. Im happy with it

thanks bros for your inputs..
appreciate it..i will look into it when i get it back

well.. so far I have not problem with my D600. As for the dust problem I have not check it yet.

Well if the dust problem is really disturbing u to the extend that it disrupts ur thoughts/mood during the shoot, then in tat case u may be better off with other brands/camera.

The important thing is to enjoy what u are doing and capture the moments dear to u, doesnt matter what tool u are using :)

Anyone has any recommendation on sensor cleaner kit that is good.

Well if the dust problem is really disturbing u to the extend that it disrupts ur thoughts/mood during the shoot, then in tat case u may be better off with other brands/camera.

The important thing is to enjoy what u are doing and capture the moments dear to u, doesnt matter what tool u are using :)

yeah i'm quite an OCD to it haha, like if i look through viewfinder and i see one spot there i really bueh tahan de...
just tot it is very prone to dust...previously D90 i didnt encounter that much dust coming in (almost nil)...

oh wells..just have to pray it will get better after they replace my shutter unit..

Actually dust on sensor cant be seen on viewfinder. If i can see dust in vf it may mean theres dust on mirror or something...

haven't got my shutter unit changed yet (due to no stock at NSC), but did a normal sensor cleaning a month ago. Took less than a hundred shots after that, and the dusts are back again, though not as bad as before. Wonder if the shutter unit change will resolve this issue once and for all - the staff I spoke to at NSC seemed confident it will be the case.

Is the shutter unit that they going to change is a new design? Or is the same shutter unit with lesser oil on it?

This question only NSC can answer you... IMO

haven't got my shutter unit changed yet (due to no stock at NSC), but did a normal sensor cleaning a month ago. Took less than a hundred shots after that, and the dusts are back again, though not as bad as before. Wonder if the shutter unit change will resolve this issue once and for all - the staff I spoke to at NSC seemed confident it will be the case.

I don't find any dust yet after change of shutter.. Do remember to change it before your warranty period...

I've changed my shutter at NSC in July, and so far no problems after shooting around 500 shots.

Shutter change only seem to delay spots.
My SC is abt 19k(was it reset to 0 after change?), was spotless after change, now many spots again..
Very obvious at f20, still barely visible at f10.

i also encounter the same issue.. after 2 shutter change the spot still came back but at a slower rate..