D300s User Thread

ho folks,

just wana check with you, if you have experience shooting during very cold (under 5 degrees) or winter snowing season?

any advice on how to handle the D300s to prevent it from environmental damage?

i saw the tech usage specs..it says something like, "not to operate it below 0 degrees" ? like dat mah means cannot shoot during snow lor? i blur...

next...here in sgp, our weather is hot and humid, so understandable that we need a DRY cabinet at controlled temp/humidity to keep our equip in good state...
what about in colder countries, where humidity is already low and summer sometimes is 20 degrees? need such a dry cabinet meh?

thanks in advance for your sharing :)

See here for some threads on DSLR in cold weather. Similar issues should arise will all dslr's regardless of the model in harsh weather. :)

OK, here's a 100% crop of a shot I took of my daughter.

ISO 400. Is it just me or is it too noisy? :think:

75mm f4.2 60s

100crop.jpg

Not too bad...

newbaby.jpg

the "softness" could be lighting condition, imo.... i'm guessing probably shot under florescent light condition or it could be due to slight camera shake??

ho folks,

just wana check with you, if you have experience shooting during very cold (under 5 degrees) or winter snowing season?

any advice on how to handle the D300s to prevent it from environmental damage?

i saw the tech usage specs..it says something like, "not to operate it below 0 degrees" ? like dat mah means cannot shoot during snow lor? i blur...

next...here in sgp, our weather is hot and humid, so understandable that we need a DRY cabinet at controlled temp/humidity to keep our equip in good state...
what about in colder countries, where humidity is already low and summer sometimes is 20 degrees? need such a dry cabinet meh?

thanks in advance for your sharing :)

-5 deg C is not considered very cold.

I have used my old non-weather sealed D90 in -25 deg C weather with no problems.

You don't really need a dry cab in a dry region, like north california. Unless you are going to store the camera in a damp basement.

Hi folks,

just a quick check (hopefully not too OT), if (sic : is) the current promo (give away 50/1.8) is still on?

free Nikon 50mm f1.8 worth $200 and Nikon bag.Promotion ends 15NOV 2010

promo on?
may i know where did u get the info?
start of Nov i call Nikon they said promo ended...

daredevil123 : thank you

abt the 50/1.8 promo... best take nikon's word for it... they are the ones giving out the lens and bag... retail shops can say all they want abt when promo ends...

so if nikon says ends 15Nov, then it must be so...

but last i checked on 29Oct, nikon personnel told me promo ends 31Oct (last day redemption of gifts on 5Nov)..but maybe promo extended, then, i duno liao...

has anyone change their D300s eyecap to this?

Where to purchase DK-22 eyepiece adapter, DK-3 eyecup and FM eyepiece?

how was the experience after changing?

Finally got mine. :)

Eyecup01.jpg

Eyecup02.jpg

Congrats.;) How much did you pay for it?

Waiting for cc bill to come first. maybe ard SGD60. :bsmilie:
actual figure to be updated. :lovegrin:

bill update: SGD57.27 - inclusive shipping

Waiting for cc bill to come first. maybe ard SGD60. :bsmilie:
actual figure to be updated. :lovegrin:

Nice..
May I know where di you get it? I want to buy it too :)

Are these the complete sets?
DK-22 Eyepiece Adapter F3HP
DK-3 Rubber Eyecup
Nikon Finder Eyepiece for FM, FE & FA Series Cameras

parts.jpg

oh yes...the original eye piece is a little uncomfortable for me...

did you order from www.bocaphoto.com (as indicated on the package)?

Try Mass Sales. :)

ah...thanks... located the chap selling at Mass Sales thread...rang him and he has the 3 pieces...his location is at geylang lor 11...alternatively, he is also able to mail the goods to buyer...or arrange separately to collect at cityhall...

according to the seller's post...it's S$65/- for the set.

Nice..
May I know where di you get it? I want to buy it too :)

Are these the complete sets?
DK-22 Eyepiece Adapter F3HP
DK-3 Rubber Eyecup
Nikon Finder Eyepiece for FM, FE & FA Series Cameras

parts.jpg

oh yes...the original eye piece is a little uncomfortable for me...

did you order from www.bocaphoto.com (as indicated on the package)?

yup bocaphoto.com
you can search about it, quite reliable so far.

Thx Bro,

Can I have the local contact pls.

I saw this page... I don't want a magnifier.
Look like it is a Magnifier version?

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=501928
tianbamagnifier.jpg

Is this the one you order?

P/S: bocaphoto.com (will order if local not available)

Not this one, i posted the link is where I ordered.

Refer to the photos original Nikon parts were used. It has no magnification.

Not this one, i posted the link is where I ordered.

Refer to the photos original Nikon parts were used. It has no magnification.

Noted.. Thx bro,

I just place an order.
How long do you take to receive the items after place an order?

SKU Description Option Price Quantity Total
NI-DK3KIT Nikon DK-3 eyecup kit 1 set: $37.49
Subtotal: $37.49
Shipping: $6.78
Total: USD $44.27