D300 or wait for D700

lsisaxon,
since you have the D3 , could you shade some light on the accuracy of the metering system in D3 and shooting in tricky light situation like e.g concert or clubs and pub. your opinion is highly valued here. =)

Pretty much like the D300. ;p I don't know if that helps. The matrix metering is good for many situations but there are situations where you still need to manually tweak. It really depends on how you intend the image to be. Nothing's perfect and everyone's different.

I agree somewhat, there are no hard and fast rules for metering but if you ask me matrix metering in a tricky lighting situation is going to be problematic.
The D3 and D300 metering are similiar and decent as far as computers go. The matrix just takes in all the light and gives a reading based
on what might be a good average in shadow and highlight areas. They can still be fooled.

Where its tricky decided what you want to expose for and manual-centre or manual-spot metering will do it.
Cameras are advanced yes but don't let the machine do the thinking for you.
Learn to work with different lighting situations and any camera will suffice. :)

But H3DII is not full frame.. :( Full frame is 60 x 60 and H3D II is only 36 x 48. :(

Did i mention that H3DII is a FF camera? It's ok, u didt catch my lines

precisely... :) ... you'll be amazed at how people are impressed at the number of pixels a medium format system can capture (50 and counting for those keeping track)... and then forget about it when actual production begins, when results matter more than numbers...

Ya lor, how about use large format to shoot then go drum scan hahahahahaa

Did i mention that H3DII is a FF camera? It's ok, u didt catch my lines

Yah.. but someone said good photographer only use FF cameras.. ;p

Ya lor, how about use large format to shoot then go drum scan hahahahahaa
troublesome lah... shoot polariod/shoot film directly, develop, scan... and hope nothing goes wrong in between...

Yah.. but someone said good photographer only use FF cameras.. ;p
good for you that Phase One has just announced the P65+ with 645 "full frame" (give or take a smidgin)... 60Mpix and variable resolution shooting (a la Nikon DX/FX modes or via pixel binning? no confirmation on this yet)... :lovegrin:

sorry for OTs... basically, the message is still the same... is the D300 suitable for what you would be shooting? does having FX provide any advantage (wider capture, better noise control, etc) over DX (crop factor for telephoto lenses, higher pixel density, etc)? also take into account your budget... could you better spend your money in other areas? don't bother about what "pros" are shooting... most "pros" aren't concerned about that either... and since when have any large group of people agreed on anything... what is important is suiting yourself:)

good for you that Phase One has just announced the P65+ with 645 "full frame" (give or take a smidgin)... 60Mpix and variable resolution shooting (a la Nikon DX/FX modes or via pixel binning? no confirmation on this yet)... :lovegrin:

Don't think I can even afford a 36x48. ;p

Who knows, maybe you kena 1st Prize TOTO this Thursday...:)

Going mad waiting for the 'D3X'... :confused:

btw has anyone try the EN-EL4A battery?

Using EN-EL4.

lol ... would you recommend since it's rather steep price bracket to move the D300 from 6 to 8fps?

Btw ...I just checked the price for D300 and the hand grip ( MB-D10 ) ...( lol again ) here goes ..
Lords : S$2650 ( With local Nikon Warranty )
TCW: S$2650 ( Think grey set )
TK : S$2650 ( Not sure whether grey or not )
MS- AMK : Higher price so din bother to remember LOL
Cathey - PL: Update when my dedicated salesman is back from leave ...kekeke

Prices include GST. =)

lol ... would you recommend since it's rather steep price bracket to move the D300 from 6 to 8fps?

Btw ...I just checked the price for D300 and the hand grip ( MB-D10 ) ...( lol again ) here goes ..
Lords : S$2650 ( With local Nikon Warranty )
TCW: S$2650 ( Think grey set )
TK : S$2650 ( Not sure whether grey or not )
MS- AMK : Higher price so din bother to remember LOL
Cathey - PL: Update when my dedicated salesman is back from leave ...kekeke

Prices include GST. =)

thanks for the prices

anw i also just did a round of calling and got some prices for D300 body only

MS-Color (AMK) = $2400 (as a regular customer)
TK = $2350 (Call as anonymous customer)
AP = $2140 (Call as anonymous customer)
CP = $2570 (Call as anonymous customer)
Lords = $2250 (Call as anonymous customer)

All prices are in Cash and with Local Nikon Warranty

Lords keep saying they dont sell grey sets anymore LOL...

sry forgot to mention that i made all these calls today around at this time.

Please let us know if you have better deals. i'm also looking for a D300! :)

thanks for the prices

anw i also just did a round of calling and got some prices for D300 body only

MS-Color (AMK) = $2400 (as a regular customer)
TK = $2350 (Call as anonymous customer)
AP = $2140 (Call as anonymous customer)
CP = $2570 (Call as anonymous customer)
Lords = $2250 (Call as anonymous customer)

All prices are in Cash and with Local Nikon Warranty

Lords keep saying they dont sell grey sets anymore LOL...

AP = 2140 does this price include GST? Which location do you call? I am going down tomorrow to buy the body and grip. :)

the vertical grip is about 350 w GST so that means your prices from AP and Lords are better than mine !!! LOL

AP = 2140 does this price include GST? Which location do you call? I am going down tomorrow to buy the body and grip. :)

the vertical grip is about 350 w GST so that means your prices from AP and Lords are better than mine !!! LOL

okok good lemme know if u have bought it or not.. i also deciding whether i shld buy. if i would to buy it would be now also. :D

I am planning to buy it today ...just called Alan Photo Sim Lim and I managed to get

D300 + veretical grip ( with Nikon Local warranty ) = 2500 w GST :D

I am planning to buy it today ...just called Alan Photo Sim Lim and I managed to get

D300 + veretical grip ( with Nikon Local warranty ) = 2500 w GST :D

D700 will be out in local market next weekend, it might affect the D300 price by then.

not really.. maybe even not much. the 2 cameras are aimed at different segments of users.

remember, even in the best case scenario, the D700 will still be roughly twice the price of the D300. if you can afford it, go for the best. just be prepared to spend more on updating ur lenses to make full use of the potential of the FX sensor. as with the D3, overseas forums are populated with posts on how the AFS 17-35/f2.8 is actually not sharp on the FX. so, i can imagine the same for the D700. question then for everyone is are you willing to get the D700 and, maybe, update your lenses?

i'm still sticking with my d300 for the time being cos it is doing wat i want it to do, and waiting for the used prices of D2x to drop to a more reasonable level. meantime, i rather invest in the jaw-dropping SB900 (wonder how many people actually noticed the new flash... :bsmilie: ).

ya, sb900 should be a good investment.
Btw the d3 price in US had drop - a lot.

:eek:
I found shashinki.com online store selling D300 (MB-D10) Battery Grip at SGD 297.45.
http://shashinki.com/shop/nikon-mbd10-multipower-battery-pack-nikon-d300-digital-camera-p-998.html?manufacturers_id=11

Is it true that MB-D10 come with 1 year international warranty?
If yes, will NSC in Singapore honour the warranty?