D2x for Weddings and Events

End of the day, if u just send your prints to normal color labs, whether its a tiff or double that from a d2x or the long hours spent from the conversions to jpegs. All the files will be end up converted into fairly small jpegs for spooling. The compression depends on the operator. Some labs print at no bigger than 5mb. The mega pixel hype is fundamentally restricted when u go to conventional labs. There is no way they would load a tiff to print even if they have the resources. The time is not justified for the business operation point of view.

Unless u send for industrial prints thats another different ball game altogether. If i were u, I rather invest on the optics, better lenses spell wonders on all file formats, sizes and irregardless on a pro or non pro version of cameras. Even technicians in Nikon find it amusing to the pro idealogy of metal vs plastic bodies, if both were to fall from the shelf, both will die. Higher buffer great for fast actions. Other than that unless one cannot decide the moment to press the trigger for the scene it would be an absolute nitemare to be working on files that u don't need. Who is more pro? The sniper or the one rattling the m16? If both misses, both too will fail.

Essentially the prices of digital bodies will come down with the inevitable lineups ahead. Work around your budget and remember good lenses will still have their values.

agape01 said:
It is really important for you to take note of espn's last statement because it does hold a whole lot of truth. You will most likely will have to upgrade your existing PC Specs in order to run NC4 properly.

However, if you can survive on Capture One, that is really good enough. I have tried out the RC version of it and it works really very quickly.

Eh... I am using Intel P4, 3.0 with 1GB RAM. Do you think I will face a problem with these specs? or still require upgrade? :dunno:

Whats the RC version? I am currently using NC4, works well at the moment... ;)

rayshade said:
End of the day, if u just send your prints to normal color labs, whether its a tiff or double that from a d2x or the long hours spent from the conversions to jpegs. All the files will be end up converted into fairly small jpegs for spooling. The compression depends on the operator. Some labs print at no bigger than 5mb. The mega pixel hype is fundamentally restricted when u go to conventional labs. There is no way they would load a tiff to print even if they have the resources. The time is not justified for the business operation point of view.

Unless u send for industrial prints thats another different ball game altogether. If i were u, I rather invest on the optics, better lenses spell wonders on all file formats, sizes and irregardless on a pro or non pro version of cameras. Even technicians in Nikon find it amusing to the pro idealogy of metal vs plastic bodies, if both were to fall from the shelf, both will die. Higher buffer great for fast actions. Other than that unless one cannot decide the moment to press the trigger for the scene it would be an absolute nitemare to be working on files that u don't need. Who is more pro? The sniper or the one rattling the m16? If both misses, both too will fail.

I do agree with you on this point. That is why I usually shoot at MEDIUM (4MP) settings for ordinary events... where I normally deliver prints in 4R size... and my filesizes dun normally go higher than 2mb each...

I am just wondering if I want to be on the more kiasu side.... cos I do occasionally need to shoot group photos up to more than 50 people... then the 4MP on the D2Hs won't be that handy liao.... not to mention comparing the list price of D2Hs and D2x is only $1200.... :think:

How I wish one day they would create the possibility of having a setting to dial how much MP you want for RAW files.

If I have the choice, I would go for D2X, but processing will be a big headache due to the larger RAW files produced.

vince123123 said:
How I wish one day they would create the possibility of having a setting to dial how much MP you want for RAW files.

i thought d2x can choose that? can or not ah ? :dunno:

can choose, but become crop mode.

i'm talking abt the whole frame and variable MP.

rhythm_traveller said:
i thought d2x can choose that? can or not ah ? :dunno:

vince123123 said:
can choose, but become crop mode.

i'm talking abt the whole frame and variable MP.

oh i see so thats what this means

Full Image: Approx. 1.5x focal length in 35mm [135] format equivalent
High Speed Cropped Image: Approx. 2x focal length in 35mm [135] format equivalent

2x for 6mp ?

Guess you need to ans yourself lar. You freelancing, frequently or occasionally? Are you going to impress and get a whole lot more customers because you have a D2X? Specifically, there are clients who asked which cam are you using and after hearing it they replied "Let me consider man"? Are you already being limited by your D100 (be it AF or fps). Do you think you can maintain approx the same number of shoots in a month or certain time period with the D2X but charge 50% more now?....due to the body cost + computer processing effort and cost (need better hardware, and even then you will probably need more time unless you batch a lot)....in the end worth it or not? You sending your prints to the usual Frontiers and not the industrial printers right? (unless you have special arrangement with your minilab)

If you shoot products and sports too, and/or if your hobby includes stuff like nature/birding, then i guess it's more justifiable. But i think in the context of SG and not over 1K market for AD/Events, perhaps not so useful lor. But i shall refrain from giving examples lor, since i think everyone's biz model is different. Up to you bro.... :)

Hi ShawnQuah,

We tried out the RAW output of the D2X sometime last week and yes while your machine is able to handle the file size during post processing, there is still a significant waiting time. Gosh, when we blow up the image to 500% using Genuine Fractals, it was really really slow coz it needs about 450mb of RAM per image....

:) but yes, it is a awesome camera ... we were even so tempted to get 1 more unit so that we don't have to share the camera among the photographers....

ShawnQuah said:
Eh... I am using Intel P4, 3.0 with 1GB RAM. Do you think I will face a problem with these specs? or still require upgrade? :dunno:

Whats the RC version? I am currently using NC4, works well at the moment... ;)

Digital Exchange said:
Hi ShawnQuah,

We tried out the RAW output of the D2X sometime last week and yes while your machine is able to handle the file size during post processing, there is still a significant waiting time. Gosh, when we blow up the image to 500% using Genuine Fractals, it was really really slow coz it needs about 450mb of RAM per image....

:) but yes, it is a awesome camera ... we were even so tempted to get 1 more unit so that we don't have to share the camera among the photographers....

Thanks for the reply! :)

Hmmm.... I do agree with 2100 about his comments for such a high end camera for weddings and events, not to mention that the rates people are giving are getting lower and lower.....

Hi Digital Exchange

May I ask what do you normally shoot with the D2x?? Product? Events? Weddings?

if you're running a business, calculate your return on investment and see when you'll break even. if it's for a hobby, anything goes ;p

Hi ShawnQuah,

We only managed to use the D2X once because we were trying it out for a friend. It was used in the indoor stadium where my church conference was held. We shoot w/o flash and despite the dim like and also the frequent change of light during performances, the D2X perform excellently well even at ISO800. In fact, after that event, I am pretty sure it is able to handle practically almost all events ... be it portraits, weddings, concerts...etc.

ShawnQuah said:
Thanks for the reply! :)

Hmmm.... I do agree with 2100 about his comments for such a high end camera for weddings and events, not to mention that the rates people are giving are getting lower and lower.....

Hi Digital Exchange

May I ask what do you normally shoot with the D2x?? Product? Events? Weddings?

I'm trying not to comment on this topic but I can't help as there are so many people just focusing on the mega pixel issue. What about DR? Ask youself this question, when you are using other DSLR model (apart from skill like lighting control), out of 10 captured image, how many of your wedding shots (especially the bride grown or anything that is white in color) get overexposed? Getting a camera body is not just mega pixel, post processing, etc.. only, you need to look at many factors.

My 2 cents of comment.